Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CLT, NC

Hotel Under Construction

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Location is good, but that is it.
Cons: Full disclosure before booking that the hotel is under construction, friendlier and more flexible hotel staff, cleanliness of hotel.
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping and visitor sites.
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!! The hotel is under construction. The restaurant, bar, gym are all closed. The photos on the web site are of what it will be when the construction is complete in April 2018. The whole hotel is a mess and they are charging prices for a much nicer hotel. The staff would not do anything. VERY POOR EXPERIENCE. Feel completely ripped off. They would not refund anything. Said you paid in advance, the reservation cannot be changed. BAD, BAD, BAD!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Theresa, Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that you did not have a good experience due to our renovations. I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back on completion of all our facilities & rooms so I can ensure you have a great stay. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Donegal

Refurb going on that we were not told about.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: I cant say anything because of all the work that was going on.
Cons: Again i cant say because of refurb, television channels need sorted for definite.
Location: Location very good. I would like to say that my wife and i agreed that we paid to much for what was there,basically nothing because of the refurb.
We expected better, probably would have been a lot better if refurb hadn't been going on, Refurb that we were not told about, felt like we were conned. Very dissapointed with the television coverage, No bbc channels and the rest were rubbish. Nobody notified us to tell about the refurb, it was a very ordinary bog standard experience. I must say the breakfast was very good and so were the staff, but we were expecting a lot more for the money we paid very dissapointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Patrick, Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that you did not have a good experience due to our renovations. We do have notice on our website.However my apologies that you were not made aware on check in. I hope I can get the opportunity to make your next visit great. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Nice hotel/Great location!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Location is outstanding and staff were very friendly and responsive.
Cons: Provide more small towels and washcloths. Some type of lotion should be provided. I've never been in a hotel of this caliber that did not.
Location: Best shopping area - Grafton Street - is close by. Trinity College is also within walking distance. Stephens Green is worth your time - closes at dusk
This hotel's location, right near Stephens Green and on the South side, made our visit even better! Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, and Stephens Green all were within a few minutes walk from the hotel, in addition to many great restaurants and pubs. It was also easy to get a taxi when we needed one just outside the hotel. The hotel is renovating their front entrance and restaurant. We did not eat in the current restaurant, and the main lobby, while clean and presentable, really will benefit from some updating. The rooms are on the larger size and the bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping was a bit stingy with towels and toiletries. No hand/body lotion is provided. Overall, great location and nice rooms!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Patti, Thank you for your positive feedback. I was very happy to read that you had a good stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

location near grafton street, doing renovations

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Disappointed that I was not informed that restaurant was closed and hotel doing renovations, workers start at 8am! Room was nice size and updated bathroom Front desk was not well staffed , and not always knowledgeable about area Hopefully that is temporary
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that you did not have a good experience due to our renovations. I hope I can get the opportunity to welcome you back on completion. I have taken your comments on board regarding reception and I am pleased to tell you that this will be improved in the coming weeks. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

I can’t believe the ratings that this hotel has.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Location: Good lication
I booked in initially for 4 days & couldn’t wait to leave. The facilities were non existent as ‘they were starting a refurbishment’ Restaurant was not open, no bar etc etc. I was appalled by the shabbiness of the furnishings, the cleanliness of the room. The mattress, pillows & duvet where stained & old, i took photos of these as I could not believe the hotel were charging £196 per night for Fri & Saturday night! To be honest, I would not stay there if it was free. There were so many defects in the room it would take too long to go into here. I booked into another hotel 2 minutes away on Stephens Green about the same price & it was a dream! The management initially refused to refund me & Expedia who I booked with spent over 45 minutes trying to help me. O’Callaghans finally agreed to refund only 2 nights!! Expedia were so disappointed by their attitude that they agreed to pay the outstanding amount. Well done to them & shame on O’Callahans!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that you did not have a good experience due to our on going renovations. I Hope I can get the opportunity to welcome you back on completion as I am sure you will be delighted with our new look and feel. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ramsey NJ

Good location. Hotel adequate

Posted Oct 28, 2017
There was construction going on & only breakfast. Need to put those details on website. No ice - c'mon! Location was good, but nothing memorable about hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear mb, Thank you for your feedback. I will pass on your comments to our management team to improve in this area. Kind Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Great location, staff was very helpful. Room was excellent. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass on your lovely comments to our team members as I am sure they will be delighted to hear. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Customer service

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Wasn't notified of construction at hotel. Service was barely adequate at front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Jean, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you did not have a good experience with our reception team. I have taken your comments on board so as we can learn from our short comings and improve in this area. I hope I will have the opportunity to make your next visit great. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Close to shopping, entertainment etc.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Hotel was undergoing renovations I’m sure it will be much better when bar and restaurant is completed. Very quiet for the location. Enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope I can get the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Damien Daly Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

great location

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: furniture update and paint job
This hotel was in a great location in the city. The staff were very helpful and obliging. The onsite bistro and bar were also of a good standard. But the thing that spoiled our stay was that the hotel itself was old and tired. The furniture needed updating and the place needed a good clean up and paint job. There was also a lack of ceiling lights in our rooms making us rely on lamps. With a few small improvements our stay would have been Awesome rather than Alright.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Damien D, Hotel Management
Dear Lesley, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back when we have finished our refurbishment. Sincerely, Damien Daly Front Office Manager