Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Location

Posted Oct 15, 2017
This hotel was good for one reason - location - it is easy to walk to most things in Dublin or hop on the train. Oh and the hotel staff where very friendly and nice. But if you are looking for a "nice" hotel it's not for you. It's old and rooms show a lot of wear and tear. Our bathroom was missing the shower door for example and the toilet tissue holder - so a piece of metal is just sticking out of the wall. At times in the day the heat dropped so low we where freezing in the room and the heat cannot be adjusted in room. The parking at the train station is a pain as it is a 5-10 min walk to the hotel - In bad weather walking there with luggage sucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to transport

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Close to transport. Friendly staff.
Cons: Shampoo in the bathroom.
Location: The location is close to the train station and tram line and buses. The zoo is a 10 minute walk and through some nice gardens and parks.
Nice hotel better looking on the inside. Close to train and bus station. Nice walk along the river to the town center. Staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble we were able to leave our cases on arrival on on departure and collect later. Breakfast was good toast and cereal free and some lovely scones on offer as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel just out of city centre

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Nice hotel just outside of city centre. Local pubs and restaurants nearby and Irish museum in walking distance. Tram into town nearby. Hotel staff were very freindly and hotel was clean and modern inside. Complementary breakfast provided between 7 and 9 . Would recommend this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the tram station and transportation

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Hotel was ok. Rooms are very small woth next to none amenities. Beds were ok. Good for staying and sleeping but for spending any amount of time in I'd pick some where different
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, big room.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel was handy, close to some main locations. Room was nice a big and staff were friendly. Nothing to flash but a great place for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Do not book this hotel!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This hotel seemed to be based in the ghetto of Dublin. Given the wrong room and told we had only booked for 2 nights! Room smelt of vomit and toilet seat broken .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Downtown Area

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, close to be able to walk around to see the sights with ease.
Cons: We would have liked to have some sort of dedicated parking for the hotel.
Location: We were near downtown Dublin, lots to do and see!
We were able to check in a bit early and drop our bags off so we could go explore Dublin. The room was good size with a nice view of the street below. The next morning we stopped down to have a bite for breakfast. The food was good and the staff were very pleasant. We would definitely go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

VERY basic

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!
This hotel is as basic as they come without actually being a hostel. The room was clean, but that is all that can be said for it - it had a bare energy-saving light bulb which kept going out if I didn't move enough, a mattress which has definitely seen better days, no headboard so the pillows were up against a bare wall, all of three hangers in the wardrobe, a broken toilet roll holder in the tiny en-suite shower room... Also, my room was on a main road and was really noisy all night, with the icing on the cake being the rubbish trucks emptying bins outside my window at 6 am. No breakfast included, and a cooked breakfast was only available after 9 am anyway - what business traveller is still in their hotel at 9 am?? The tariff was not cheap - three figures - so this felt like a gigantic rip-off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from bedford

good hetel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: comfy rooms
Cons: I enjoyed it but was only used as somewhere to sleep
Location: good enough. its about a mile from the temple bar area and a short walk the the brewery
we booked this place as a place to sleep for a lads trip and was pleasantly surprised. nice comfortable rooms. very clean and close enough to town and the Guinness storehouse. we even got coffee and toast in the mornings got much more than expected and highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton, uk

Lovely staff pleasant stay!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The staff a massive plus! Also the hotel room was clean and spacious, nothing not to like as I only wanted to sleep and relax before exploring Dublin!
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: There is a lovely gallery called Barracks which is a few minutes walk and also Phoenix Park which is beautiful, and a few nice places to eat.
The staff were highly knowledgeable about the area, and were really friendly. The area itself was nice and close to train station, trams and busses to centre were close by too, but I decided to walk to centre which is about 15-20 mins walk, and then everything you need is in a small walking distance museum, restaurants, shopping! Phoenix park hotel is a lovely little hotel, with everything you need in the area and close to all the transport links into or out of Dublin centre.