Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Showers don't work

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Pros: The staff were friendly and accomodating, the location is excellent.
The elevator was broken, the whole hotel was shabby and in desperate need of refurbishment. The shower in the room only trickled out and there was no hot water. We were moved into another room on the second day so we could shower, but THAT shower didn't work either! It sprayed all over the ceiling and was completely unusable. The room was tatty and we couldn't open the window so had a very uncomfortable night's sleep as it was stuffy and hot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Butler, NJ

Small dilapidated hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Pros: Beds were not too bad.
Cons: Room desperately needs renovation. Basic repairs are needed, and everything needs a very thorough cleaning.
Location: The hotel is close to Trinity College (Book of Kells), several national museums, Dublin Castle, St. Stephen's Green, and St. Patrick's Cathedral.
Hotel was supposedly under renovation, but there was no evidence of any work being done. Elevator was out of service. 1st room was small, dingy, dirty, and in poor condition, so we asked for another. Toilet would not flush properly, seat not fastened on one side, paint pealing on woodwork, no TV remote, threadbare towels, and one electrical plug in an inconvenient place. Room was on the first floor with no locks or screens on windows. 2nd room was in better condition but also small - double and twin bed for 3 people but little room to open luggage. There was a desk but no chair. TV remote did not work. Bathroom was superficially cleaned, dirt caked in corners and around edge of floor, sink very small and drain very slow needing cleaning, no counter space, and shower was very small with doors difficult to open. Towels were better but old and of poor quality. Toilet seat was very loose and difficult to keep in place. Rooms were very severe with no decoration. Location was very noisy well into the night - people on the street and a bar next door with music pounding until around three in the morning. We spent as little time as possible in the hotel. For this quality, the hotel was very expensive. It put a real damper on our short stay in Dublin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Hell of atime getting up the 3rd floor with 2 luggages, elevator down. Location in the middle of everything, walking distance from transportation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but thats it.

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Tiny room, massively overpriced, not overly clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location

Posted Mar 14, 2018
Great location for the City and night life. Hotel room was satisfactory for the price paid when compared to surrounding accommodation options. Clean but a little unfinished. The hotel had some work going on and the room might be in line for a make over. We had a room at the back which was quiet. However, to get hot water the tap needed to be on for at least ten minutes and we weren't told this when checking in. No hairdryer in the room whereas some others did have one. Reception were helpful when addressing the aforementioned issues. Overall a fine place to stay for a couple of nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N. Ireland

Good location. Seriously needs a referb!!!

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Pros: The round bar of soap... absolutely top quality!
Cons: If you start on the front door step and completely work from front to back and floor to roof... then that would be a start.... SPEND SOME MONEY ON IT!
Location: Close to Temple Bar = Lots of people passing by (Noise) Powerwashing at 0630 (NO SLEEP) Road sweeper 0700 (Still NO SLEEP) Oh, and Vertually NO HEAT.
If you want cheap(ish) and cheerful then 'OK' at a push! But seriously, a lick of paint and a piece of furniture that wasn't rejected in the 1970's then this could be nice! Obviously the owners just get them in, take their money and 'never wish to see them again'! Due to an expired credit card, our booking hadn't been confirmed - but luckily they didn't re-sell it... But then trying to rip us off for 50 Euros EXTRA... Not on!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading

All thr basics you need, excellent location

Posted Feb 18, 2018
The hotel was nice and clean but very basic, it has everything you need, clean, good hot shower and the location was excellent its right in the middle of temple bar so no need to get taxis. My only down points would be the tv didnt work properly and we couldnt have a cup of tea in the morning because the kettle had an awful smell coming from it. It can be noisy at night but thats expected due to location so not a down point just more of a warning. Staff were lovely and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by Angela from Blackburn, Lancashire

Posted Jan 17, 2018 on Hotels
very friendly staff, basic rooms, clean, with daily house keeping, You get what you pay for, ideal location for everything, we will definitely be going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words, we look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Historic hotel in Temple Bar

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Close to many bars and restaurants Good shopping nearby
Cons: The elevator
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very old and elevator has been broken for ages. Rooms small but comfortable with heating and good hot water It is showing its age however Great location close to everything in this area and buses,trams etc Price a bit high for the level of comfort but you're paying for location
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant but noisy outside all night.

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Noisy in the evenings and early hours of he morning until 5am due to the area and single glazed windows, Creaking floors, but the staff were fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, we will pass your kind words to the staff.