Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

There is no lift

Posted Oct 20, 2017
There are a number of flights of stairs to negotiate. Not great with luggage. One of the bottles of water provided in my room was already opened & a small amount had been drunk. Floor very creaky so when I moved around in my room I was concerned about disturbing other guests. I was double charged for the room initially however this was sorted out very promptly. Seems like there is new inexperienced management & they will probably improve with time
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We would also like to thank you for leaving a review of your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments. Regarding the lift, please note that as our hotel is located in a Georgian building we are limited in terms of material alterations that can be made, and resultantly don’t have a lift in the front of the hotel at this point in time; however, we do have a lift located to the rear of the hotel, accessed through Sams Bar. The lift is available to be used 24 hours by guests, with the only proviso being that porter assistance is required to access same outside of Sams Bar trading hours. This policy is in place for security reasons. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Also, we have Porters 24/7 available to assist with luggage. We sincerely apologize for water bottle, we will make sure that it does not happen again. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and take time to review your stay. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cosy hotel in the centre of Dublin

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Fantastic room and friendly staff
Cons: Addition of an elevator (if possible)
Location: Situated very close to St Stephens Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and the Temple Bar district.
We had a late check-in (few minutes before midnight) that was catered for. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We would also like to thank you for leaving a review of your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback. We will certainly work even harder to make guest experience more enjoyable. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Excellent location, quaint hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Excellent location, quaint hotel, staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Noise from. nearby nightclub Fri thru Sun will be an issue if you are a light sleeper (I use ear plugs so no problem for me). Hotel Lift not working while we were there. It still recommend this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We would also like to thank you for leaving a review of your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments. Please note that the hotel is located in a vibrant city centre, in the entertainment area, surrounded with bars and restaurants, and as a result a selection of rooms is impacted by noise at the weekends. These rooms are being sold as Vibrant Weekend Rooms at the discounted rate on our booking platforms. Also, please note that we do have a lift, located at the rear end of the building with only proviso that Porter assistance is required outside Sam's Bar trading hours. Thank you again for staying with us. we certainly hope that you will book again with us in the near future. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel, great staff and location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Staff, simple decor, comfortable bed, clean.
Cons: A lift would be nice!
Location: There are many pubs and restaurants.
The only complaint we have about this hotel is that there is no lift. The noisy bar downstairs could be a problem if you stay on the lower floors but we were on the top floor so it was no issue. The staff were lovely. The park is across the street if you are lucky enough to have a front window (we didn't, we had a view of the wall of the building next to us) and the hotel is in a quiet part of town. We would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, We would like to thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review your stay. We very much appreciate your comments. We are happy to see that our staff were at your service. Please note that due to our city centre location only a selection of Junior Suites are facing the front of the hotel and have the view onto Dawson Street and lovely Mansion House across the street. As our hotel is located in a Georgian building we are limited in terms of material alterations that can be made, and resultantly don’t have a lift in the front of the hotel at this point in time; however, we do have a lift located to the rear of the hotel, accessed through Sams Bar. The lift is available to be used 24 hours by guests, with the only proviso being that porter assistance is required to access same outside of Sams Bar trading hours. This policy is in place for security reasons. Thank you again for staying with us and for leaving a feedback regarding your stay. Sincerely, Duty Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GTA Ontario canada

Hotel is in a great location

Posted Aug 27, 2017
You couldn't ask for a better location as this hotel is one street from Temple Bar. It has a well known bar 'Sam's' which is great but the music echoes through the hotel which can make it difficult for sleeping. Also the seagulls squalk very early in the morning which awakes you. The bathroom could use some repairs but clean. No elevator to your room so be prepared to do stairs. This would be a challenge for some people. Breakfast was self serve continental cereals, scones, pastries and toast, but instant coffee.Lots of great restaurants in the area
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Verna, Thank your for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed the convenience of our location that allows you to explore the city centre and all the sightseeing attractions, bars and restaurants within a short walking distance. Regarding the lift, please note that the same is available to be used 24 hours by guests and that it brings you to all floors, with the only proviso being that porter assistance is required to access same outside of Sam’s Bar trading hours. Outside of Sam’s Bar trading hours lift has limited access, therefore staff assistance is required. This policy is in place for security reasons. We apologize if this had caused any inconvenience during your stay. Please note that the hotel is located in a vibrant city centre, in the entertainment area, surrounded with bars and restaurants, and as a result a selection of rooms is impacted by noise at the weekends. We do however apologies if this had caused any inconvenience during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us. It is our hope that we will have an opportunity to accommodate you again. Sincerely, Duty Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from doncaster, england

Nearly perfect

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Only negative was the fact the lift only went 1 floor, we were on the top floor Other than that exceptional
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the lift, please note that the same is available to be used 24 hours by guests and that it brings you to all floors, with the only proviso being that porter assistance is required to access same outside of Sam’s Bar trading hours. Outside of Sam’s Bar trading hours lift has limited access, therefore staff assistance is required. This policy is in place for security reasons. We apologize if this had caused any inconvenience during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us. It is our hope that we will have an opportunity to accommodate you again. Sincerely, Duty Manager
5 out of 5
by Dale

Small but perfectly placed and well-managed.

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location! Near to Stephen's Green, Trinity University and Grafton Street but off the busier streets. Easy walking to just about every tourist spot in Dublin (we did Jameson Distillery, St. Patrick's Cathedral and Temple Bar without having to drive or get a taxi). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is converted from an older building but gives it character. Our room was huge and comfortable. Our only complaint was the bathroom. It was also large but only had a claw-foot tub with a hand-held shower nozzle. And the lighting was poor. Hard to properly shave or apply make-up. But we still enjoyed our room overall. A nice perk to have a light breakfast for free each morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017
Dear Dale, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa and for leaving a review of your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well as the convenience of our location that allows you to explore the city centre and all the sightseeing attractions, bars and restaurants within a short walking distance. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom. We are taking your recommendations into account and will add more lightning to Junior Suites. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and we certainly hope we will have an opportunity to accommodate you again. Sincerely, Duty Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and drab hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Ebookers
The room that I had was terrible and nothing like the photos. The furniture was tired and depressing. The only window faced a brick wall and another rooms bathroom window <30cm away. The skylight had to be closed manually and part of the blind was busted and let light in. The toilet flush was broken also so made a constant dripping noise. Never staying there again despite the part refund and discount offer by the manager.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank your for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We apologize for all the inconvenience caused by the issue with the toilet flush. Unfortunately, we were only able to repair the flush after your stay; however we were happy to offer you a move to another room. I understand concerns that you have shared during our conversation and I was happy to offer a discount on your stay as well. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your concerns. Sincerely, Duty Manager
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great area with friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We would also like to thank you for leaving a review of your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments. We are also very happy that our staff members were helpful throughout your stay. I will certainly forward your feedback to them. We hope you will book with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Duty Manager
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Exquisite

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent!! From the moment we hauled our bags up the stairs to reception the staff was most accommodating and helpful. GREAT room, (lucky enough to get a free upgrade) comfy bed. Clean bath with tub, shower, two sinks. A towel rack would be nice, but so what..... Short walk to sights, shopping, bus lines and pubs all over the place. Wonderful start to our Ireland adventure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Dear Joseph, Thank you very much for staying with The Dawson Hotel on the start of your tour around Ireland, we certainly hope the rest of your journey will be as pleasant! We would like to thank you also for taking time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed it and that our staff was at your service at all times. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope that we will have an opportunity to accommodate you again at our hotel. Sincerely, Duty Manager