Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zagreb, Croatia

Loud and Dirty

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We had to pay up front and now I know why! We arrived and there was no elevator, no air conditioning, no reliable wifi and no way to change our mind. The bathroom floor had hair all over it and it was on a very loud, busy street. The shower was the only thing nice about the room. The final straw was waiting for our cab to the airport at 8 am called for us by the owners. After waiting 15 minutes we hailed one on our own.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel in good location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Locatiom
Cons: Staff friendliness, cleanliness, bed comfort
Great location, a bit noisy from street noise. I like the concept of the rooms over the pub but staff was not most customer-service oriented. Sheets were dirty but the rest of the room was nice, fairly spacious and good light. Also good shower. Ok for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Sleepless in Dublin

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The bed was great and the bathroom was modern and clean. The room was quite spacious. Staff were friendly if harried.
Cons: The hotel needs to advertise that there is no lift for the three floors. They need to install double or triple glazing to cut the noise.
Location: All the major attractions are nearby as well as Pearce Station. Roadworks to extend the trams is causing chaos nearb,y at present.
At no point were we informed that this acccommodation was over three floors with no lift. We were on the third floor overlooking one of the busiest corners of Dublin with traffic noise all night through the antique sash windows. Our room also overlooked the loading zone for the pub: more noise at all hours. The bar staff seemed to have to handle bookings as well and this caused some problems. We had to pay a deposit on the remote for the tv( which didn't work anyway). This was not a cheap hotel: it was one of the most expensive we had stayed in, though Dublin was very expensive anyway. The basin in the bathroom was cracked and did not hold water. There seemed to be a boiler in the ceiling which turned on and off all night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two Happy Visitors

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed are stay at The Lombard Pub, helpful and kind staff. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. And a great location for a short city break in Dublin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good Location, Decent Hotel, Poor Service

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel itself is in a good location in Dublin city center. It has a cool feel of being above a pub and the rooms were good sized. Another plus was we came in early and they were able to accommodate us checking in early which was very helpful. Parking was street parking but there were plenty of spots available. However, the staff was not very friendly on our arrival. They were busy which may have been why they seemed short and somewhat annoyed with us checking in. It was really due to this we didn't hang out in the pub that was below the townhouse. Also, you get bare minimum accommodations including no shampoo, conditioner, etc. Also, as noted in prior reviews you have to get the tv remote and hair dryer from the bar downstairs with a deposit. All this would've been manageable for the experience of being in the middle of Dublin except for the beds were terribly uncomfortable. I even pulled up the sheets to make sure it was a "mattress" because I felt as if we were sleeping on a boxspring. Overall, I was disappointed with the staff as that has been what everyone had said was wonderful in prior reviews. We would've enjoyed spending the evening drinking in the pub downstairs but did not feel welcome from the beginning. With all this being said, I would recommend this to young friends with the disclaimer that their guiness intake must be high enough to rule out any need for a comfortable sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the place was nice, the food was good, the service was good, people are friendly. However, the bed was terribly uncomfortable. I would stay again if It​ had a new mattress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Easy access to all city locations.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: Nothing, everything was perfect.
Location: Very convenient location to access shopping areas & nightlife without being noisy. The hotel provides a map & activity cards.
Prompt, welcoming reception. Staff attentiveness remained throughout-really friendly & helpful. Room was perfect, spacious with a large opening window for comfortable daylight & fresh air. Electric lighting was well thought-out & appropriate to each location of the accommodation. Really appreciated the separate generous section built for clothing storage / personal belongings / drinks-making counter. Brilliant power shower, no messing, left feeling refreshed & not aggravated. The food was so tasty, sampling evening meals & breakfasts-cooked to perfection. There is a hail-a- taxi layby close to this hotel so perfect for your trips round town or to the airport. A no-fuss place to stay because they've already got everything sorted - thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Everything you need!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This was me and my boyfriends first time in Ireland and stating at the Lombard was perfect. It has the exact necessities you need on a small vacation. We had a big bed, a great sized shower, and a little kettle to make tea. The room was cleaned everyday when we returned and the wifi worked perfectly. Everything we needed was in walking distance. The most convienent part was having food and drinks right below us. If we wanted to eat something quick before we left we just went right downstairs or there is a little store right down the street that sold snacks, sandwiches, and drinks. I highly recommend this to anyone coming for a small vacation. The room isn't huge but it fit all the needs for my boyfriend and I.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honestly, 2.5/5

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: Cleaner bathroom. Seal the windows to prevent drafts and decrease noise.
The location is ok. The price is ok. The room is disappointing/uncomfortable because: a) the bathroom was not clean, b) my window was level with a flat roof so that made me slightly uncomfortable, c) no phone, d) weak weak wifi, e) lots of noise from pubs next door. Honestly, I got kind of a skeevy feeling about the whole experience. I was traveling alone, this was my last place to stay but the first place I felt unsafe. However, if I had been traveling with another person, I would not have felt as uneasy.
4 out of 5
by JACOB

So so

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Luckily I had no luggage - no elevator! Room was OK, pretty basic. Could not find info inside the room about the wifi.