Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Delightfully located luxury hotel + helpful staff

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Comfort, amenities and helpful staff
Cons: Its on the expensive side
Location: Very central and a lovely local park nearby
I have stayed before and its my first choice for a city centre Dublin stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Beautiful

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Like a second honeymoon. We had just finished a walking tour of Ireland and decided to splurge on this hotel. I’m so glad we did, it was magnificent. What a treat from the moment we stepped out of the cab
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This hotel is in a great location to local bars/restaurants and sites - and if you are doing a hop-on/off bus tour, there's a stop right outside the hotel! The character and charm of the Georgian townhouses has been preserved very well in the lower levels and the rooms were very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly, and we were pleased with the amenities such as the fitness center/pool and restaurants. The Cellar restaurant was especially cool to check out and the food was delicious! The live Irish music on Thursday nights was a great treat as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Cons: bathroom is a little awkward, needs more shelving, easier shower. Room is a little on the small side, but very nice.
Location: Wonderful
Very good! We loved the artwork, the staff was very gracious, and the public rooms are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very Centrally located

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Really felt like a five star experience from checkin to check out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Beautiful Hotel. Quiet and tranquil. Attentive staff and pristine condition. Sleep quality excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Perfect location to visit Dublin. Very welcoming and attentive staff without feeling the need to tip. Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. Will definitely return on next visit to Dublin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Elegant and delightful!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The Merrion is a lovely, welcoming retreat after an overseas flight. It is elegant and well located. Dinner was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Food, bath staff better than Ashford Castle!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The ambiance, amenities and excellent staff.
Location: Loved the location walked to many historical places and enjoyed exploring the streets nearby.
Stayed at The Merrion first - was impressed by the bath sixe and amenities. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was excellent as was the food in the pub. Later stayed at Ashford Castle. The breakfast was not up to standards of The Merrion. wait staff was much more attentive at breakfast and dinner than at Ashford - even in the George V dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire, UK

Understated Luxury

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Its calmness and serenity and how you are made to feel special by the very friendly staff.
Cons: With a five star hotel and five star service you expect five star prices and I want the staff to be paid well.
Location: Location was perfect. Just a little bit outside the main buzz but close enough to walk to it in 5-10 minutes.
Just a lovely hotel, with very friendly and attentive staff in a fantastic location. We stayed for two nights as part of a weekend trip to see U2 at Croke Park and the whole experience was serene and you wouldn't have known that we had U2's entourage staying in the same place.