Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This hotel is in a great location to local bars/restaurants and sites - and if you are doing a hop-on/off bus tour, there's a stop right outside the hotel! The character and charm of the Georgian townhouses has been preserved very well in the lower levels and the rooms were very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly, and we were pleased with the amenities such as the fitness center/pool and restaurants. The Cellar restaurant was especially cool to check out and the food was delicious! The live Irish music on Thursday nights was a great treat as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Cons: bathroom is a little awkward, needs more shelving, easier shower. Room is a little on the small side, but very nice.
Location: Wonderful
Very good! We loved the artwork, the staff was very gracious, and the public rooms are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very Centrally located

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Really felt like a five star experience from checkin to check out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Beautiful Hotel. Quiet and tranquil. Attentive staff and pristine condition. Sleep quality excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Perfect location to visit Dublin. Very welcoming and attentive staff without feeling the need to tip. Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. Will definitely return on next visit to Dublin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Elegant and delightful!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The Merrion is a lovely, welcoming retreat after an overseas flight. It is elegant and well located. Dinner was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Food, bath staff better than Ashford Castle!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The ambiance, amenities and excellent staff.
Location: Loved the location walked to many historical places and enjoyed exploring the streets nearby.
Stayed at The Merrion first - was impressed by the bath sixe and amenities. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was excellent as was the food in the pub. Later stayed at Ashford Castle. The breakfast was not up to standards of The Merrion. wait staff was much more attentive at breakfast and dinner than at Ashford - even in the George V dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire, UK

Understated Luxury

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Its calmness and serenity and how you are made to feel special by the very friendly staff.
Cons: With a five star hotel and five star service you expect five star prices and I want the staff to be paid well.
Location: Location was perfect. Just a little bit outside the main buzz but close enough to walk to it in 5-10 minutes.
Just a lovely hotel, with very friendly and attentive staff in a fantastic location. We stayed for two nights as part of a weekend trip to see U2 at Croke Park and the whole experience was serene and you wouldn't have known that we had U2's entourage staying in the same place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Beautiful hotel, but check-in not so good.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Traditional style
Cons: Room description. If it has no view, don't say anything about garden view. Clean rooms on a timely manner or change check-in time to later than 3:00
Location: Within walking distance of major sites and shopping.
Our room was not available at the normal check-in time of 3:00pm. While the staff was nice and offered us coffee and tea while we waited for our room to be cleaned, it took about 45 minutes past the check-in time. The staff member then walked us down to our "garden view room." After all that waiting, we actually got to Dublin at 10:00am, like most overnight flights , only to open the door and have a strong smell (I would describe as cat urine) wafting thru the air. I was wondering how the maid who cleaned the room did not tell management about the odor. We were asked us if we wanted a different room, of course we said we would not be happy staying in this room. So we marched back down to the lobby and sat and waited while he spoke with his manager. By now, another 1/2 an hour went by and we were taken to a different room. It was about the same size and once again, no view of anything in particular, which was fine. I would hate to think that we sat there waiting for the smelly room, while this one sat ready and waiting for no one. Granted I did not splurge on an upgraded room and I thought the hotel was fully booked or I would have gladly paid for a better room instead of sit and wait, but I was not offered another type of room and I don't think visitors should be penalized for getting a standard room. The manager did however send a bottle of "champagne" to our room for the inconvenience. The rest of the stay was fine, but unfortunately first impressions linger.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be improved.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: Lobby needs painting, new carpet and the furniture cleaned or upholstered. Tell guests that what they are getting with handicap room.
Location: Central location was good.
It was supposed to be a superior room. But the room was across from noisy elevators. It was a handicap room with no bathtub and inadequate shower. Beds were comfortable.