Ratings based on 2,203 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon Tyne UK

Very close to City Centre and transport.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Lovely hotel and we were upgraded because our room wasn’t ready. Tea and coffee facilities included but it was hit and miss whether you got tea or coffee or milk at these time despite asking. It would have been nice to have a hot drink in the morning and again getting back in the evening as weather was really cold. And no chocolates for 2 nights - which go with the upgrade! Reception staff very pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albans, UK

Disappointing

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Stayed twice. First time valet parking was a nightmare, nowhere to pull in and a very busy road so a stressful start. First room was nicely appointed, but scaffolding meant room was quite dark and bathroom lighting too poor to do eg make-up. Breakfast was chaotic, staff forgot hot beverages, then had to keep asking for cutlery etc. One member of our group was a vegetarian who thought choices were quite poor. Could order eg poached eggs, needed to do toast separately. Next stay was in a different part of hotel a few days later. Room ok, TV didn’t work very well (sound echo) and lighting poor in bathroom again. Having booked breakfast at desk for 2 days on arrival, then found out breakfast started too late on Saturday for us to attend as we needed to get the ferry - but told we couldn’t cancel despite explaining our mistake that day. Saturday we were given the take-away €14 breakfasts which were extremely disappointing: lump of bread, butter, jam, banana, yoghurt, mini muffin and juice box. Wouldn’t recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Perfect place to stay , central to most attractions and god value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire England

Wow!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The theatrical touches, colours and luxury. The staff were wonderful and great ambassadors.
Cons: Nothing :)
Location: The hotel is on the side of Trinity College. Temple Bar and Grafton Street are minutes away. Easy access to most things - Get the Do Dublin/Airlinkbus
From the moment you step through the door, you know the hotel is special. There are touches of 'theatre' everywhere from the elaborate curtains and animal sculptures to the huge gilt framed mirrors and stunning furniture. ALL the staff were gracious and efficient and made us feel very welcome indeed. We were absolutely delighted to be upgraded when they learned we were celebrating our 50th birthdays and the 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroomed suite was wonderful! I can't thank them enough for their generosity and kindness. Breakfast was very good, the bar food and drinks was equally good, all at a reasonable price. Check in and out was efficient and quick, the lifts were also fast. The porter (at the inner foyer) was a great ambassador, chatting away and making everyone feel welcome. The hotel is situated next to Trinity College (the front entrance is about 3 minutes round the corner), 5 mins to Molly Malone and the start of Grafton Street, 6 mins to Temple Bar, etc. It's all in walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weehawken, NJ

Ok if you don't mind staying in a cave.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Besides the women at the front desk, the staff (doormen, bartenders) were very nice and polite.
Cons: Not treating guests as if they were luggage and could be stored in a windowless closet. Mattress was horrible and sheets didnt cover it. Decor bizarre
Location: Wanted to stay here because it seemed very centrally located- but everything is a 10-15 walk in Dublin- plenty of other hotels to stay in similar circ
Upon arrival at 8am at the hotel from an overnight flight, we were told that they would put our room on top of list for cleaning but it wasn't ready yet. Went for breakfast (at a place that the desk clerk rec'd that was the equivalent of a quiznos or something - O'Briens- do not rec )- walked around - came back and then waited another 4 hours for a room- despite asking repeatedly if there was another room available? No. Were they full the night before? No Were they full that night? No. I've travelled to Europe at least twice a year for the last 12 years and - yes I know what time check in is, but I've never had to wait more than an hour for a room. They generally understand that you haven't had a decent nights sleep and do something to give you a room asap. So- finally when we got the room the clerk made a huge deal about saying they upgraded us to a suite - whatever- we were exhausted and just wanted showers and a nap. We get to the room and it is basically 1 large room with 2 chairs (guess that makes it a suite) and 2 large windows with scaffolding outside and a man walking back and forth on the scaffolding. Nice. But - we weren't going to wait another couple of hours for another room- closed the blinds and went on with our day. When we returned to the room the man was gone but there was opaque sheeting over the scaffolding- so basically our room was turned into a cave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So hot!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Old part of the hotel. Heating on and so hot and dry. Open window, still hot, corridor hot, everywhere hot. No sleep, never again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, NY

Convenient location.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Staff curtious helpful and accommodating I lost an earring and didn't realize until I checked out. They let me along with housekeeping look for it without any success. When I returned home the next day I had an email that they had found it. Very grateful for their continued effort in looking for it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Posted Oct 12, 2017
great location, excellent rooms but need AC. overall hotel is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midland Ontario

great location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: proximity to main area- bus stop close by - breakfast buffet very good
Location: Guinness and Jameson tour, Gaol tour, shopping and great pubs close by
very close to shopping and pubs, all walking distance, bus pick up very close by as well. rooms spacious clean and staff were very friendly. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I absolutely loved this hotel. Great staff, excellent food, and close distance to everything (we were able to walk everywhere). They also helped us set up our Cliffs of Moher tour. Would stay again 100%