Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Great staff and free lounge drinks
Cons: Really needs air conditioned rooms
Hotel was close to old town, Mirabell Gardens as well as Panorama Tour Buses. Room was comfortable but very noisy all night and in desperate need of air conditioning (considering hotel reception and lounge was air conditioned I don't think this is unreasonable). Staff were very friendly and helpful and coffee and juice was free in lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: It's location and the exceptionally helpful, pleasant staff
Cons: Plugs for I phones, I pads etc
Location: A 10-minute walk to the the Salzburg Festival venues and the Salzburg city centre.
The hotel is excellent value for visitors to the annual Salzburg Festival
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener Ontario

Great location, good room, very friendly staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Location: So much history and activities are based on your preferences.
It was in walking distance to my selected activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, but needs to up its game

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The location and the office staff were superb.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated and cleaned.
Location: Any of the major sites around Salzburg are within easy access to this hotel-right across from the Mirabelle Gardens and a quick walk to the aldstadt.
Room was decorated in what is atypical, traditional style for an older hotel, however the cabinet under the TV was very scuffed up, the shelf like headboard had cigarette burns and was very dusty, along with the remote for the TV, which desperately needed cleaning. Hair was hanging on one of the towels in the bathroom, which l left on the floor the next morning and was folded and hung on the rack when I returned. The desk staff was extremely helpful and brought another set and was also extremely nice when I checked out. The room was muggy and hot. Windows opened out on the street which was loud for nearly the entire night, Air conditioning is not the norm for this part of Europe. They should consider supplying fans or wall units so that their customers can get a good night's rest, though. The room was expensive compared to the quality of the accommodation and for that price, should have included breakfast as like establishments do. It's three stars at best; not four.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Lovely hotel close to city centre.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
There was a lot of outside noise all night. Air con would also have made room more comfortable during the night. Otherwise highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Favorite hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Perfect except no air conditioning. Salzburg is our favorite city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire , UK

City centre attic

Posted Jul 13, 2017
4th floor small room cut into the roof space with views from a small window onto the rest of the rooof. Very hot room. Breakfast was not worth the extra €15! Well located across the park from the footbridge to the old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lack of a/c only issue

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Clean spacious hotel, only issue was lack of a/c. Good breakfast selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very good location close to cafés and restaurants.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Location is central and close walking distance to the old city, and also to Mirabell gardens and pick up point for the day tours. nice café very close by for affordable breakfast sets and delicious pastries. Room was very clean and comfortable. Only thing was that there is no air con in the room, fortunately they gave me a room that faces the inside (away from the street) so it was not too noisy through the open window. There is no water or boiling kettle provided in the room, however they do provide free flow of water, juices, and coffee/tea in the lounge next to reception. Would have been nice to have some water in the room though. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful whenever I asked for help on anything from suggestions on where to eat to bus directions. I really enjoyed my stay and I feel this hotel is good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi, USA

Close to the Sound of Music tour we took.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was respectful and helpful.
Cons: Needs air conditioning.
Location: The location was great for the Sound of Music tour.
Wish we would have had the time to stay another night so that we could have seen more of Salzburg. The hotel was very tidy and we enjoyed our breakfast. Would have liked to have it included in the price. Parking is always an issue in Europe and having to park so far from the hotel was kind of inconvenient.