Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Rooms need some work

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Improve the rooms to make them more guest friendly.
Location: Old Salzburg is well worth the time.
Great location with easy walking distance to the old town, good restaurants and shops. The breakfast had a very good variety of offerings. Very clean and well maintained facility. Our main concern was our room. While we expected a small room for a 3 star hotel in Salzburg we'd hoped it would be better appointed. The bath had no place to place items. No shelves or wall hooks. A place to put your soap in the shower would have been appreciated. No mirror in the bedroom? A college dorm room is better appointed. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Close to the sights. Reasonable rates, clean comfortable room, good breakfast included.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in a nice location

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were small & basic but very clean. Staff were helpful and the continental breakfast was good. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance and a taxi rank outside. We requested a quiet room and got that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Clean Hotel with great staff with great location!

Posted May 5, 2017
Our experience was amazing from our Check-in to check-out. First The friendly and helpful staff, A+! Secondly the clean room with large window to have fresh air and finally The breakfast buffet which had everything you need, eggs, yogurt, cereal and croissants. I wish we had stayed longer!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwestern USA

Convenient value-friendly hotel.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Solid in every way. Accommodated our early (4:00 AM) arrival. Responsive. Family friendly.
Cons: Remove any references on websites that one can easily walk from the train station. This is simply not true.
Location: Marionette Theater. Concerts. Wonderful restaurants.
Pleasant stay in general with wonderful restaurant meals. Don't walk from the train station. It is too far away, however, there are some very rude cab drivers who created some unfortunate experiences, especially the one who played loud rap with offensive lyrics and the other one who decided he could not fit our luggage, but held my 85 year old mother captive in the back seat until we paid him 5 Euros to unload our luggage and unlock her door so we could find another cab with more room. Memorable because so terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice modern hotel within easy distance of centre

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Minimalist style and location
Cons: Facilities in room(tea coffee and a reasonable lounge chair)
Location: Ideal location, easy to get to from airport and ideally suited for a walk into the centre. Good food to suit all tastes is within easy walking.
This is a nice modern hotel in a plain minimalist style. The room was large with a good modern bathroom. The down side to the room is the very uncomfortable desk chairs and the lack of a lounge chair. Also the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room, they are available down next to the bar but would be better in the room. Breakfast is buffet style and perfectly adequate. It can get very busy at peak time if the hotel is full. The staff are helpful if a little dour which could take the edge off the experience if you let it. Overall it deserves its rating and is within 15 minuets walking to the main centre and the Domoplatz which is ideal. There are excellent resturaunts within easy walking. All in all well situated for town and airport, and all all main sites.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Hofwirt is located in the new town of Salzburg but it is near to Linzergasser which is a street with shopping and eateries. You can walk to the old historic town where most of the tourist attractions are located, through Linzergasser which will take about 15 minutes. Hotel is located about 4 bus stations from the main train station. You can take bus 2 in the direction of Mirabell. Check with the Tourist Information counter at the train station and they will tell you where to stop. There is no heater in the room or bathroom. Breakfast was good with good selection of food and drinks. There is also no electric kettle in the room buy you can get hot water from the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy for everything

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Went to Salzburg for Christmas markets and had a fab two days. The city is quite beautiful And would like to go back in summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Modern rooms, great buffet breakfast! It was close to a pedestrian walk and had secure underground parking for 15€
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WIFI Did not work in my room

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely beds awful WIFI.