Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Lovely hotel,friendly staff

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Only 10 minutes from center and close some lovely restaurant.
Cons: Room air conditioning could have instruction for easy use. Have to say though that had we asked the staff it would not have been a problem.
Location: Only 10 to 15 min stroll to river through lovely predestined shopping street, (having work done at time of stay this did not distract from walk)
Stayed here first and last day of the holiday, spotless rooms well equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely continental breakfast with offer of hot eggs. Also lovely bar for coffee and cake or night cap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Very good. Elegant small hotel with lovely rooms and a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Charming hotel in great location!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
What a pleasure! The hotel is charming and located off the best and path but very convenient. The room was in the villas and somewhat small but has everything you need to feel pampered including towel warmers, heated floors, air conditioning and even your own Nespresso machine. The free breakfast buffet is plentiful and feels more like a bed and breakfast as it is presented beautifully including made to order eggs. Love this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great position near the main old town

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful garden to relax in. Stayed in a villa room very spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with unfriendly staff at the reception

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Clean comfortable hotel near the city center, friendly helpful staff at the breakfast buffet.
Cons: We could sense some unfriendliness and even hostility from reception staff toward people speaking other then German. Disappointing checkin experience
We could sense some unfriendliness and even hostility from reception staff toward people speaking other then German languages. Disappointing checkin experience. Not the best way to treat the customers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The layout of the room, hotel location, breakfast and friendliness of the staff
Cons: The air conditioning
Location: Across the river from the old town but everything is easily reachable. Good restaurants nearby.
Great staff but the lack of air conditioning in the garden rooms was a real problem. The weather was very hot both day and night which meant that the room did not cool down at any time. None of our party had a full nights sleep during the four night stay. Told the staff and they are aware it and the need to install air conditioning. Room was very comfortable otherwise and well thought out. Lovely breakfast in a nice quiet location. Staff could not have been more helpful.
5 out of 5
by Ronald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by SARA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

It was so ridiculous!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
On Mar 29, I booked this hotel for 2 nights from May 25-27 and got the confirmation immediately. On May 23, the Front Office Manager of Hotel & Villa Auersperg emailed me telling that the hotel was overbooked and they had arranged us to another hotel-Acotel Castellani without mentioning any compensation. I then checked through Expedia and found that Acotel Castellani is farther away from city center, and the price of Acotel Castellani for May 25-27 was USD 30 /day cheaper than the price at which I booked for Hotel & Villa Auersperg almost 2 months ago! So I said no. On May 25, after we arrived at Hotel & Villa Auersperg, the receptionist complained about the booking system of Expedia and finally we couldn't check in and had to move to Acotel Castellani. I don't understand why they said it was overbooked just 2 days before our arrival while my booking was confirmed 2 months ago! I don't understand who they chose to remain at the hotel and who they chose to arrange to another hotel! It was so ridiculous! And it reminded me of the overbooking case happened on the flight of the United Airlines a few months ago. For the comments on Hotel facilities, room cleanness, room comfort, I don't have any idea but the Rating system won't allow me to submit, so I gave them "OK".