Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Charming hotel in great location!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
What a pleasure! The hotel is charming and located off the best and path but very convenient. The room was in the villas and somewhat small but has everything you need to feel pampered including towel warmers, heated floors, air conditioning and even your own Nespresso machine. The free breakfast buffet is plentiful and feels more like a bed and breakfast as it is presented beautifully including made to order eggs. Love this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great position near the main old town

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful garden to relax in. Stayed in a villa room very spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with unfriendly staff at the reception

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Clean comfortable hotel near the city center, friendly helpful staff at the breakfast buffet.
Cons: We could sense some unfriendliness and even hostility from reception staff toward people speaking other then German. Disappointing checkin experience
We could sense some unfriendliness and even hostility from reception staff toward people speaking other then German languages. Disappointing checkin experience. Not the best way to treat the customers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The layout of the room, hotel location, breakfast and friendliness of the staff
Cons: The air conditioning
Location: Across the river from the old town but everything is easily reachable. Good restaurants nearby.
Great staff but the lack of air conditioning in the garden rooms was a real problem. The weather was very hot both day and night which meant that the room did not cool down at any time. None of our party had a full nights sleep during the four night stay. Told the staff and they are aware it and the need to install air conditioning. Room was very comfortable otherwise and well thought out. Lovely breakfast in a nice quiet location. Staff could not have been more helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

It was so ridiculous!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
On Mar 29, I booked this hotel for 2 nights from May 25-27 and got the confirmation immediately. On May 23, the Front Office Manager of Hotel & Villa Auersperg emailed me telling that the hotel was overbooked and they had arranged us to another hotel-Acotel Castellani without mentioning any compensation. I then checked through Expedia and found that Acotel Castellani is farther away from city center, and the price of Acotel Castellani for May 25-27 was USD 30 /day cheaper than the price at which I booked for Hotel & Villa Auersperg almost 2 months ago! So I said no. On May 25, after we arrived at Hotel & Villa Auersperg, the receptionist complained about the booking system of Expedia and finally we couldn't check in and had to move to Acotel Castellani. I don't understand why they said it was overbooked just 2 days before our arrival while my booking was confirmed 2 months ago! I don't understand who they chose to remain at the hotel and who they chose to arrange to another hotel! It was so ridiculous! And it reminded me of the overbooking case happened on the flight of the United Airlines a few months ago. For the comments on Hotel facilities, room cleanness, room comfort, I don't have any idea but the Rating system won't allow me to submit, so I gave them "OK".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blue ridge mountains

excellent value- highly recommended

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Staff: friendly and helpful Spa: quiet and relaxing Room: spacious and quiet Breakfast buffet: many healthy and delicious options Location: easy walk to most sights This is a great hotel, highly recommended. Staff helped us to make dinner reservations. Would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Jay

Best option in Salzburg

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, updated hotel. Really exceptional value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nice size theme rooms. Free parking. Short walk into old town. Historic hotel.
Cons: They were having trouble with the internet that day but it was fixed in the morning.
Location: Great Italian restaurant in town. Walked to the river.
They let us drop off our bags early since we were heading to the castle and put them in our rooms. Breakfast included and they accommodated our daughter-in-law who is gluten free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton England

Very good hotel with great breakfast

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast and great room.
Cons: It would have been good to have a Nespresso (or similar) machine in the room. More English speaking channels on the TV.
Location: The distance from the Old Town was not a problem for us because we enjoy walking. There is a very good beer hall just around the corner
We stayed 3 nights in Hotel Auersperg and we were allocated a corner room on the 2nd floor in the hotel. It was a large and bright room because it had double aspect. The bed was very comfortable and the room had good facilities. The breakfast was very good and had 'healthy' options. The hotel is in quiet area of the New Town & walking into the Old Town was easy because the area is flat. There was a very good Beer Hall a few minutes walk away. Transport from the Airport and to the station was easy.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Super clean and great service

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
From the minute we walked in, the staff treated us like we were the only guests there (we weren't). They were very helpful and friendly, and provided excellent information. The breakfast was excellent, and so was the small restaurant, where we had dinner one night and lunch the next day. The room looked brand new. Great location, too.