Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

This was a fabulous hotel, both inside and out.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything! The building, the views, the meals, the staff - all marvelous
Cons: Nothing ( although we did miss having tea and coffee making facilities in our room which we are used to when we have stayed in hotels in England).
Location: Hotel is at the top of a mountain and the lift down into town is 300 metres away through lovely woodland. Bottom of lift is in the centre of Salzburg.
We had a wonderful 5 nights in this hotel. All of the staff were brilliant - really friendly and helpful. We were offered an upgrade when we arrived and ended up in a suite which was gorgeous with amazing views over Salzburg. We had gone to Salzburg for our 10th wedding anniversary and found a bottle of champagne waiting in our room when we got back from our days travels on the day of the anniversary. Can't praise this hotel highly enough - we loved it. It should be noted that it is at the top of a mountain - a beautiful walk down, but not up! There is a lift but this is 300 metres from the hotel so might be problematic for those with mobility problems - it's a lovely, fairly flat walk through woodland, and is very well lit at night. It should also be noted that the lift closes at 11pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on a hill overlooking city

Posted Jul 4, 2017
A short walk and elevator down to old town center. You avoid the hustle bustle of an in city hotel. In a beautifully restored old castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel handy for visiting the old town

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Quiet central location, extremely helpful staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Great for visiting the old town and sites.
Very relaxing short break. Made so by the staff, hotel and weather being perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The staff was great! gave us good recomendations on resturants & sights to see!
Cons: nothing
The staff was very helpful & the hotel was excellent! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If I go back to Salzburg in the future I will stay at this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Exceptional!

Posted May 7, 2017
Would recommend staying here! The views were incredible. Worth the stay a little way up the hill. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Sugandh

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very courteous staff, great views and close to old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Spectacular hotel in a spectacular location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything. Food, rooms, staff, going above and beyond.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beautiful walk through scenic environment to lift which went direct to centre of the city. Stunning view from the hotel. Historic location.
We arrived to the beautiful circular drive and were immediately recognised and met by the hotel manager who provided a welcome drink in the bar while our luggage was taken to our room. We were then escorted to our room to find a huge room with a bowl of fruit and an enormous bathroom. One of the few hotels which follow through on the Expedia upgrade for frequent travellers, Throughout the stay, we were surprised by little acts of thoughtfulness by the staff, fabulous food in the restaurant, a charming location with a lovely forest walk to a lift down to the city. I'm not easily impressed but this hotel was just absolutely fabulous. It was a bit more expensive than we normally would pay but every aspect was outstanding.
4 out of 5
by Dan

Salzburg above old town

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff and the food were absolutely fantastic. The location is fantastic and it is truly a beautiful place. The rooms and furnishings are out dated and need a serious refresh. The room size was massive and the bathrooms were definitely upgraded and spacious and clean. The heated bathroom floors were an absolute treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfort, IL

Exceeded the great reviews

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Easy walking distance to old town but a bit removed for quiet.
I chose this hotel because the previous reviews were effusive with their praise and it was centrally located. It is beautiful, private but easily accessible to central attractions. Wonderful spa, pool/hot tub, phenomenal staf.