Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Fabulous hotel, centrally located with a great sta

Posted Dec 16, 2016
We were welcomed and made to feel at home is this wonderful old castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Where to start? When we first arrived, we received a welcome class of champagne as we filled out our registration forms with a beautiful view overlooking the city. We found out we had been upgraded from the superior double room to room 31 on the 6th floor (highest level). The room was huge and the views were absolutely stunning. We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings of our two night stay and the food did not disappoint. It was an amazing buffet style spread of breads, cheeses, pastries, yogurt, etc. In addition, they had a menu you could order hot entrees off that were also very good. Our favorite part of the hotel was the hot tub (we went in late October) that overlooks the city and has the Alps in the background. We were able to order drinks that were delivered as we hung out in the hot tub. The staff was really friendly and always present without feeling intrusive. They were very helpful as we needed to have tickets printed for a FC Bayern game we were attending, which they printed off and delivered to our room within minutes of asking. I can't say enough about how great this hotel was or how amazing the staff is.
Cons: Nothing really negative to say about this hotel. It is pricier, but I think it's actually great value when you consider how fantastic the hotel is
Location: The hotel is located on the Monchsberg. You can easily access the Oldtown through a lift in the modern art museum, which is a 5min walk from the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA, USA

Excellent hotel in salzburg

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: location, view, facility and breakfast
Schloss Mönchstein Hotel is a beautiful place. It locates up on the hill and has great view over the city from every corner. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. If you take the lift from the next door museum to which the hotel provides the free pass, it is very easy to get to the ground level and walk to most of the attractions in the city. We had a wonderful stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Superb hotel!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Absolutely amazing hotel!Extremely friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

A magical stay in Salzburg

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Virtually everything
Location: It is necessary to use the lift located about a ten minute walk away to get into the heart of the city. The hotel gave us a pass for this.
This is by far the best European hotel we've stayed in. Service was personal, genuine, pleasant and certainly excellent in this beautifully maintained Schloss overlooking the city. We were upgraded to a suite on the top floor since this was a fairly slow couple of weeks in Salzburg. Staying on the terrace to read or have a bowl of soup or just a glass of water was pleasant and comfortable in the sunshine. Breakfast was a joy with plenty of choice and a view over the city. We had the tasting menu one night. It was inventive and delicious served with care. We felt the food to be of a Michelin star standard. Yes, this is expensive, but it truly is value for money if you are lucky for something special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Austrian High

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff was very attentive, friendly, and gracious. The 9 course progressive dinner was absolutely delightful and the experimental wine pairings were a bonus. A pleasant stroll to the MOMA and a lift ride through the mountain down to the old town. Perfect all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Wonderful stay. The front desk people were exceptionally nice and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fairhope, AL

Absolutely perfect.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Service, our room, the breakfast.
Cons: Can't really think of anything.
Location: Close to Salzburg old town; look in any guide book for info about this beautiful tourist destination.
We booked this hotel for a January stay, anticipating the snow. The hotel is, as you can guess from the pictures, up on the mountain overlooking Salzburg. The views are fantastic. I was concerned at first because we like to walk so much, and I thought we would either need to negotiate lots of stairs late at night, walk along the winding road, or get a cab, but there's a convenient elevator in the nearby modern art museum that gets one up and down to street level easily. We hiked one morning to the fortress, not too far away on the mountain. Service was excellent - the staff took our bags to the room while we enjoyed a complimentary beverage in the cozy bar. We ate at the restaurant the first night, and both the food and service were excellent. The breakfast includes a buffet and a la carte items, all served in the restaurant with a beautiful view. Our room overlooked the city, and had one of the newly refurbished bathrooms, which was very nice - heated floors, heated towel bar, overhead rain shower, nice bathrobes/slippers as well. We had a nice fruit bowl in the room that was kept stocked with the grapes we kept eating. This is a lovely hotel, and certainly worth a splurge for the special experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Excellent service, excellent food

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Staff extremely efficient - but also personal and very friendly
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Great location for views.
I can't fault this hotel, the service was exemplary, the rooms were beautiful and the food was stunning. We stayed on a B&B basis but also ate in their restaurant one evening and the quality of the food certainly challenged the 5* hotels we've stayed at in London and elsewhere. At first sight the hotel looks lovely but, on arrival, you do worry about its location given that it is so high above the city of Salzburg. However, the Museum of Modern Art is a 5 minute walk away and it has an elevator that takes you straight down into the Old Town centre. You can walk up and down the mountain to the city centre but it takes about 45 minutes and I wouldn't recommend it in heels!! The hotel provide you with a free ticket to use the elevator as and when you wish - so no extra cost. The views across Salzburg from the Museum are amazing, the hotel is also close to the town's beer hall - we didn't visit this but the locals recommended it as a great place to sample beer and food in a family friendly atmosphere. For everything else, head to the valley floor and the town centre, lots to see and do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Almaty

Fairytale in Salzburg

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Location and views, great service. Loved the outside fireplace to sip Gluhwein next to.
Location: High on a hill perched over Salzburg. Easy access to the town via a lift in the Modern Art museum. Salzburg is all about Mozart.
We were upgraded from a Junior Suite to the Moenchstein Suite on arrival, and we found the castle a wonderful place for a long weekend. The views across the valley onto Salzburg were wonderful, and the air was so clean that we had deep, deep sleeps. The restaurant is well worth visiting too.