Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Australia. We stayed in Salzburg.

All good.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
We were treated well! The staff did what we asked and reacted quickly. We enjoyed our stay at The Villa Carlton. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Villa carlton, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel! Best regards from the Villa Carlton Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Very good location. Hotel staff is friendly and informative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Family Sigl & Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate it a lot and are happy that you had a good time in Salzburg! Best wishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Typical Austrian Hotel.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, close to the Old and New Town. Since old fashioned style Hotel, rooms large and very comfortable. Ideal for Families and Couples.
Cons: Larger Bath Towels.
Location: Location for getting around near enough central a good fifteen minute walk to the Old Town.
Hotel looked old fashioned which we prefer to all the glass and chrome hotels. But modern inside. Rooms nice and large and comfortable. Not to far from centre of town, few Restaurants within walking distance ,but in the Town lots of choice Try out the little Balkan Sausage shop, in one of the side streets, but everyone knows it. Salzburg itself is delightful, with very friendly people and most of the local shop keepers and restaurants speak English. If you need anything all you need to do is ask. Good first time trip will go back. Anwar
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Villa Carlton, Hotel Management
Dear guest, first of all, we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city and that you liked our Boutiquehotel. We thank you for leaving your positive impressions and it would be a great pleasure for us, to welcoming your again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon. Best regards from the Villa Carlton Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, well priced option

Posted Dec 11, 2017
A comfortable, refurbished room which was well heated in freezing temperatures outside. Hotel is well located to the centre of town and an easy walk across the river to the old town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only disappointment was that the bar was closed and there was nowhere to eat other than breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Villa Carlton, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to say thank you for staying at our hotel Villa Carlton and for leaving a positive feedback. We are really happy to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and service. We would like to point out that our bar is open 24 hours, we just do not serve any food. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards from the Villa Carlton Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near to all attractions

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Fantastic city’ staff very friendly and helpful Spoke good English thankfully. Great help in getting bus times tables even printing them off for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Villa carlton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your nice feedback! We are glad you had a great time in Salzburg and that we could contribute to it. We would be very happy to welcome you again soon! Kind regards from the Villa Carlton Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Very quiet hotel with extremely nice rooms with good facilities. It only does breakfast so you have to go out to eat in the evening but there are plenty of places in the old town
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Kristin Neubauer / Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for that kind feedback. We hope you had a good time in salzburg. Hotel Villa Carlton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel in the city

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The hotel room was lovely, as was the decor of the hotel. You’re greeted with a quirky lobby with fun interior! The only small complaint we would have is one member of staff was not very welcoming and made us feel a burden. The price of the breakfast too was offputting so we opted for local food from the market which was lovely. Overall, we would stay again if we ever came back to Salzburg!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Kristin Neubauer, Hotel Management
Good evening Olivia, thank you for this amazing rating. We are very happy that your enjoyed it in our hotel and we hope you had a exciting time in salzburg. We hope also that the next stay it will be better. Kind regards Rezeption / Villa Carlton
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Located on the intersection of two busy streets.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and friendly staff.
Cons: Air conditioning should be installed.
Location: A short walk to Mirabell Gardens which is also where the Sound of Music tour departs from.
Located close to Mirabell Gardens, but a 15 minute walk from old town. The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection and even though the windows are double glazed, traffic noise is still a problem. There is heating but no cooling available in the rooms, so whilst opening the window to get fresh air is possible, the traffic noise makes it difficult to sleep. Breakfast is the only meal available in the hotel restaurant and it was quite adequate and reasonably priced. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the main train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Villa Carlton, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your trip to our beautiful city Salzburg. Our guest’s feedback is always important for a hotel’s further development and we thank you for leaving your impressions. We are very sorry to read, that we could not meet up to your expectations. Unfortunately it was not possible to build in an air-condition whilst the overall refurbishment because the hotel is a building from the early 19th century. Therefore we provide fans in all our rooms and upon availability we can also provide rooms facing the quiet side of our hotel. Once again we thank you for your feedback of your stay in our Boutiquehotel and it would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance. Best regards, Hotel Villa Carlton Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Good base

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The location and room size
Cons: There were some small maintenance issues- a leak under the sink, a bed lamp not working properly, and the room was not serviced as I would have hoped.
Location: The town centre is within walking distance as are the mirabell gardens.
This is a solid choice if looking for a base whilst in Salzburg. The facilities are more than adequate and the room was a good size. There could be greater attention paid to detail and the staff could have been a more welcoming and friendly. There was not much interraction or friendliness. However, it was a central location and there were no major issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Villa Carlton, Hotel Management
Dear guest, first of all we would like to say thank you for your stay at our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are sorry that you did not enjoy everything during your stay - we would have gladly taken care of any problem that occured on site. We also would like to apologize that you did not feel welcome at first. In the end, we would like to say thank fou for taking your time to give us feedback and that it would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance to convince you about our advantages. Best regards, Hotel Villa Carlton Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too warm and loud

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on CheapTickets
We were placed on the first floor. The room did not have an air conditioner and it was warm outside (70 degrees F was the high that day). We were too warm so we had to open the window at night. Our room was right outside the stoplight, so we had a terrible. Igor sleep due to all the traffic, car radios, horns, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Villa Carlton, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your trip to our beautiful city Salzburg. Unfortunately it was not possible to build in an air-condition whilst the overall refurbishment because the hotel is a building from the early 19th century. Therefore we provide fans in all our rooms and upon availability we can also provide rooms facing the quiet side of our hotel. In the end, we would like to say thank you for your feedback and that it would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance to convince you about our advantages. Best regards, Hotel Villa Carlton Team