Ratings based on 1,361 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Rooms cramped but location okay

Posted Jul 25, 2017
The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the central train station but you can take a bus to Hofwirt bus stop which is close to the hotel. Convenient for the main sights in the old town. Comvenient for the Number 2 bus to the airport. Quiet location. Rooms very hot in summer but a fan is supplied that I found sufficient. My only complaint is the small cramped room I had on two different occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

A nice convenient hotel,great breakfast, welcoming

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Welcoming, comfortable, great location, Spa facilities and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Clean behind bathroom doors.
Location: Central and convenient for sightseeing, good nearby restaurants, bus links
Lovely hotel in a nice old part of town, convenient for restaurants and all the sights. Breakfast and the lady who run it are both excellent. Staff friendly and helpful, very nice to have a Spa available. Comfortable room, would certainly stay again despite cleaner forgetting to do behind the bathroom door........ a bit hairy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Simone Ariane - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - thank you so much for your kind remarks and above all for your understanding about the "faux pas" from our Housekeeping. We would be honoured to have you visit us again in the near future. In the meantime, all the best and kind regards from Salzburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Nice hotel with easy access to city

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Lounge area in room, with lovely large windows with a view.
Cons: The bathroom needs to be modernised.
Location: Great location with nice restaurants nearby and an easy walk to anywhere in the city
Very well positioned hotel not too far from the railway station and straight out of the door into the pedestrian area of the city. Characterful hotel with a large room including a lounge area and a nice breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Simone Ariane - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your remarks about the bathroom which we have passed on to our maintenance Department. Would be great to see you again sometime in the near future. Kindest regards from Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Loctaion service and parking almost next door
Location: Super central but also quiet
Great location walking distance to all major atractions and convenient parking 150 mts away
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Simone Ariane, Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Gues - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Keep well and maybe we shall see each other again in the near future. All the best and kindest greetings from Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Perfect location, everything with in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Simone Ariane, Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - thank you for your kind remarks and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future. In the meantime, all the best and kind regards from Salzburg.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Unfortunate choice!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This was one of our worst hotel experiences ever...including stays at places cheaper than Motel 6! Our room was not as pictured on the website or Expedia. It was musty, the carpet looked and felt dirty and worn, it was dark and so terribly hot, temps over 90! There was not an air conditioner unit or central air. We opened both windows fully, used the two fans provided and kept the door partially open but could not get a cross breeze to cool the room due to the strange location. To use the fan the refrigerator had to be unplugged. There were no screens on the windows which opened as wide as a door and were flush with a rooftop allowing anything or anyone to enter the room. The furnishings seemed ancient and were broken down. The beds were fair at best, but to keep the windows open the curtains had to be open allowing a lovely view of us in bed to the people in the neighboring buildings. We tried very hard not to use any of the lights for that purpose, but also because they seemed to be halogen or similar as they generated even more heat! I spoke with the front desk staff after viewing our room and they were smug, unapologetic, unable/unwilling to make any changes to our room and indicated I should take it up with Expedia. That was impossible at the time for several reasons so we decided to make due. It has taken me a week to settle enough to write a review and be minimally scathing. The location was fine, the breakfast reasonable, the room and restaurant staff kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville, FL

Excellent

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We had a very spacious room that was extremely quiet. The staff was very professional. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. I hardly ever review hotels I stay in, but this one deserves top marks. I give it a very strong recommendation, especially for the quiet. And the staff. Really excellent place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Trenton

Classy hotel in the heart of Vienna

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Staff was very helpful and the doorman helped us with our bags. No complaints. Was right next to Schonbrunn Park/Gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent Location.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Location is great for Alststadt. Excellent breakfast. Room was great. except .Balcony with table, 2 chairs and sun umbrella was terrific.
Cons: Rooms are not air-conditioned. Fan is provided.
Location: Great area for restaurants, cafes, shops and sightseeing of Altstadt.
Excellent location. Do not need car once you arrive. Pleasant boutique hotel. Parking is offsite at a city run parking garage 5 minute walk from hotel. Sounds inconvenient but actually it worked out fine. Staff very helpful in check in process and also in making suggestions for dinner etc. Made dinner reservations for us twice. Both suggestions were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Room was a bit crowded but clean. No air conditioning. It was comfortable but I'd be leary in the summer.