Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta Canada

Nice Hotel in Central Singapore

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel is centrally located with great staff and amenities. The rooms are recently renovated, clean and well appointed.
Cons: The hotel is under construction but I did not experience any inconveniences or noise.
Location: Great location that is near the National Gallery, St Andrews Cathedral, Raffles City shopping centre and Asian Civilisation Museum.
Stayed at the Grand Park City Hall Hotel for 6 nights and enjoyed my stay. The location is in the heart of Singapore and in walking distance of many great sites to see. I arrive early morning around 1AM and they received me and checked me in quickly and seamlessly. The hotel is under construction however i did not notice any noise and enjoyed my stay. My room rate included breakfast which was excellent. They have a buffet style breakfast along with a menu of other items which made it really great! The room was recently updated and had all of the amenities you needed. For the techno savvy folks ... the controls in the room for lights, AC and TV could be operated through an app downloaded on your smart device ... real cool. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. I forgot my power adaptor and an umbrella, and they provided me with both very promptly. I felt very comfortable and safe at the hotel. Awesome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

Singapore 5 star hotel near city hall

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Room is very comfortable, new design
Cons: Complete renovation et construction - should be ok afterwards
Location: Great location - central, ideal
Hotel was under renovation / construction. No pool, very noisy and messy in certain areas. Room was new, very comfortable. Ideal location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by GPCH_GM, Hotel Management
Dear JeanJean Thank you for your review on Expedia after your stay. Phase 1 of our hotel transformation is now completed. Our entire transformation will be completed towards the first quarter of 2018 with all guest rooms completed and a new swimming pool and gym facility on level 4. The hotel will also boast a new executive club lounge for our Crystal Club guests, and a rooftop garden. We hope to welcome you back to Singapore with a brand new experience at Grand Park City Hall. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Nice room, refurbished, but iPad controls a real pain. Shower very temperamental. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by GPCH_General_Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you for your review of Grand Park City Hall. We are pleased to have you staying with us as we are near the completion of our first phase of the hotel transformation. Phase 1 will be completed by early August 2017 and at this point, our East Wing will offer 186 brand new guest rooms, designed by globally renowned designers Hirsch Bedner Associates. Our guest’s arrival experience will be enhanced by a relocated entrance on Coleman Street, as well as a new first floor arrival lobby, new high speed lifts, a new reception and lobby lounge on level 3 as well as Tablescape, a new restaurant and bar. Our entire transformation will be completed towards the first quarter of 2018 with all guest rooms completed and a new swimming pool and gym facility on level 4. We understand that navigating through the wall-mounted in-room control panel is not terribly intuitive or easy. This panel was installed only to serve as a back-up option should the primary controls within the hotel’s control application (for your phone or in one of the hotel’s provided hand phones) malfunctions. We are working with our technology vendors to explore how we might be able to simplify its menu functionality. On this point, we do wish to encourage you, and guests alike, to download the hotel mobile app (GPCH) via Playstore or Apple Store prior to your arrival. Upon completing the pre-arrival registration profile, we hope you will find that the app facilitate a more seamless guest experience during your stay with us. We sincerely hope that you will return to stay and experience the new Grand Park City Hall as we inch closer towards the completion of our transformation. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Part from renovation work going on during our stay otherwise all good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by GPCH_General_Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this 5* review. We are glad to know that our “transformation” didn’t affect your experience staying with us and I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to Singapore. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we continue our journey to "transform" the hotel. Allow me to share with you on the transformation of the hotel. Phase 1 of our transformation will be completed by early August 2017. At this point, our East Wing will offer 186 brand new guest rooms, designed by globally renowned designers Hirsch Bedner Associates. Our guest’s arrival experience will be enhanced by a relocated entrance on Coleman Street, as well as a new 1st floor arrival lobby, new high speed lifts, a new reception and lobby lounge on level 3 as well as Tablescape, a new restaurant and bar. Our entire transformation will be completed towards the end of the year with all guest rooms completed and a new swimming pool and gym facility on level 4. The hotel will also boast a new Executive Club, Crystal Club, and an entertainment terrace on the rooftop. We hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you when you in Singapore. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manila

Nice to stay

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Nice to stay.. Nice staff.. Nice room.. But the view in window little not nice..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by GPCH_General_Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you've enjoyed a memorable experience with us and that our “transformation” hasn’t adversely affect your experience staying with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you when you in Singapore on your next visit. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
2 out of 5
by Sunil

Construction going on. Avoid for the next 3 months

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
There was active construction going on in the hotel. Noise all night. Unable to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Dear Sunil Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Being under renovation is not an excuse for us to under deliver on the overall experience you encountered during your stay with us. Phase 1 of our transformation will be completed by early August 2017. At this point, our East Wing will offer 186 brand new guest rooms, designed by globally renowned designers Hirsch Bedner Associates. Our guest’s arrival experience will be enhanced by a relocated entrance on Coleman Street, as well as a new 1st floor arrival lobby, new high speed lifts, a new reception and lobby lounge on level 3 as well as the new restaurant and bar. Our entire transformation will be completed towards the end of the year with all guest rooms completed and a new swimming pool and gym facility on level 4. The hotel will also boast a new executive club, Crystal Club and a rooftop viewing and entertainment terrace on level 10. We hope to invite you back to Grand Park City Hall upon the completion of our hotel transformation by end of 2017, when a truly 5-star hotel product will be completed. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
5 out of 5
by Max

Bed and breakfast

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very good. Especially the breakfast it is wonderful even better than the five star hotel that I went after grand park City Hall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
Dear Max Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you'd a great stay with us. With the first phase of our renovations completing in July, we are pleased to share that we'll be having a full block of new rooms, a new hotel entrance on Coleman Street, as well as a new lobby, restaurant and bar on level 3. Our “transformation" will be complete towards the end of the year with all guest rooms renovated and a new swimming pool/gym facility. We hope you to welcome you back to Grand Park City Hall very soon in the future. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand Park City Hall Sub Standard

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
My family were disappointed by Grand Park City Hall. Firstly the check-in process took over 30 minutes while they tried to get the App working on HTC Android phone. There was no simple, more traditional option for someone that just needs swipe access to the room. There were constant renovations and the noise during the day was not very nice. This ruined the stay and they should not be taking bookings and having guests subjected to the renovations. There was a ladder outside the window with workers going above and below the room. The technology to control the room was overly complicated and that it was disappointing that the app did not work on an HTC Android phone. This meant that we had to use the control in the room that was not very intuitive. They made the rooms overly complex and the average guest is just going to find it annoying. The coffee and tea making area was not functional (space was too small) The staff were not consistently friendly. There were a few good people but tainted with rude staff. The local area was a wasteland, there was not much close by for restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel’s mobile phone control app has been created to allow guests to complete preliminary check-in procedures well before arrival at the hotel or even in Singapore. This will ultimately expedite check in at the hotel with a simple synchronization of the app with the hotel’s reservation system upon arrival. As with all new technology, there are teething pains and our team is working with our technical partner to eliminate the current necessity to create registration profiles to use the app as a room key and guest room electronics controller. We understand that our current application requirements have caused some frustration and we are developing more guest friendly solutions. One of our two guest room wings will be fully “transformed” by August 2017, along with a new arrival foyer, entrance along Coleman Street, hotel lobby, restaurant and bar. We expect the hotel to be fully completed with her second wing and new pool facilities by the end of 2017. We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back to stay with us for a thoroughly new experience the next time you will be in Singapore. Best Regards, Scott Swank General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Close to MRT

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The location
Cons: Once the renovations are finished it will be a lovely hotel.
Location: It is central to the MRT which is perfect and you are with ten minutes to most places.
The hotel is undergoing renovations and is very noisy. Facilities are not available pool, gym. Everything in the room is controlled by your smartphone and this does break down. There were times when we couldn't turn off our lights. The check in time takes far to long as you need to download the hotel App to access auotomated booking system as well as using it to open your door, the room lighting system, to etc. The staff are very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by GPCH_General_Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Janet Thank you for your review on Wotif and for your support. We do apologise for any inconvenience that may had been caused by the current renovations. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Park City Hall in the near future and we promise a brand new experience for you and all our guests upon completion soon. Best Regards Cheong Hai Poh General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Work is underway

Posted May 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location to Public Transport, China Town
Cons: There work being done so it will be amazing when its finished
Location: Very central
Great Location, amazing staff. Major works underway, so some construction noise and no pool. Kept well informed of the pending activities, and alternative pool arrangements
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by GPCH_General_Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for reviewing us on Wotif! We are glad that you had a good stay and appreciate your understanding on the renovations. We hope to look forward to a brand new experience for all our guests, like yourself, upon the completion of our transformation. Best regards Cheong Hai Poh General Manager