Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Fl

Short visit to Almagro

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: We just spent the night on our way to Madrid. Almagro does not look like a town that has any special appeal, but we did not explore it
This Parador has same feel as others, but has less spectacular surroundings areas, such as those in Siguenza and Jaén. Still, it has a peaceful atmosphere and the staff is courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Disappointing stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location and very calming
Cons: Pool opened all year long, instructions on how to work air con in rooms, double beds, better cleaning of rooms
I had stayed at a parador previously and had a fantastic experience and was excited to take my husband to one. I paid for a hotel with a pool as we like to swim but although this hotel had a pool we were told that as it was 1st October we couldn't use it as it was closed after September even though it was baking hot weather! Also we asked for a double bed as we have not long been married and were told that unless we booked a suite there were no double beds in the hotel and we were unable to push the beds together as there was a fixed bedside table between them. In addition, we could not get the air conditioning to work so the next morning we explained that there was a problem with it and the receptionist was very dismissive and told us it did work. We explained that there were no instructions in the room and he shrugged his shoulders dismissively. Also dirty glasses were not washed and no clean towels provided. I felt quite disappointed that I had told my husband how amazing this was going to be and it was a very poor experience. In our holiday this was the most expensive hotel and the worst experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful renovated hotel in old Almagro

Posted Aug 28, 2016
My wife, 14 year old daughter and myself stayed in one room at the Parador de Almagro in August 2016. We arrived a little late to enjoy the pool, but we did get a chance to relax by it for a bit and go for a nice swim. Beautiful pool and surroundings. I wish it was open a little later than 8:30 and a little earlier than 11:00. The property is fantastic - an old renovated convent. It has multiple, well-kept courtyards and all are beautiful. One court watts is attached to the very nicely appointed bar and one courtyard is set up flas the dining area. We did not eat here, but both the menu and the location looked perfect. The facilities and rooms were very nice and the management has obviously put a lot of thought into keeping the old charm alive. Hallways are extremely well decorated and unique. Each room has a uniquely painted room number. I believe there are only about 50 rooms, which is perfect. The rooms have great character. Ours was very spacious and everything was updated and modern. As per the character, windows were small, but unique and charming. Here was a fridge, tv, hair dryer and all other regular amenities. My only negative comment would be that the room had two twin beds - as per the original set up, I expect. There was a roll away brought in for my daughter. This was all fine, but I would have appreciated a double or queen bed for my wife and myself. The hotel is very beautiful. It is a short, nice walk to the main square in Almagro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Malaga

How Lovely

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, interior decor, sympathetic conversion from a convent. It has kept the peace and quiet.
Cons: At some stage bathrooms may need improving
Location: An ancient town with a lot of history.
A converted convent. It was a hot day. Close to the town centre. Beautiful from the outside with pond and fountain. Inside the thick stone wall and tiled floors make it cool and pleasant. The rooms were almost unchanged. very clean. Looked out over a shady garden full of tress and birds singing. Dined in the courtyard which they open up, they have small pools with running water which adds to the atmosphere. It was a very pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Air conditioner was not working properly.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Woke up in the middle of the night sweating because the air conditioning was not functioning properly. Not a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Fabulous stay

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The overall feel of the converted monastery and the décor was fabulous.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Very close to the square in Almagro and easy to get to other local towns.
At the start of our holiday to Spain my husband and I with another couple stayed for 2 days at the Parador. It was fabulous. The bedrooms were spacious with really comfortable beds and a spotlessly clean bathroom. We ate breakfast at the Parador which was a real feast so we ate there the 2nd morning too. We did not eat in the restaurant because we wanted to spend time in the lovely square in Almagro but we did have drinks in the courtyard. A little disappointed that the swimming pool was being renovated as it would have been good to have had a swim but as it was only for 2 days it wasn't that important.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Quality hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Cons: Wish it had a spa. Not much to do in town, would be nice to get a massage or a pedicure to kill some time.
Location: not much at all
The best part of our stay was the concierge staff. They were patient and friendly throughout our stay. They swapped between English and Spanish depending on whatever we felt like speaking. They answered all of our questions and made phone calls then and there to resolve any issues. The restaurant was good, but pricey. We felt that the restaurant across the street was better in price and quality. The beds were rock hard - a common European trend, unfortunately. And the original windows, though charming, are terribly small. Not much natural light in the room. The maids did an excellent job tidying the room during the day. The pool was staffed and had towels free of charge. Overall, an excellent place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

A beautiful quiet parador.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent. The architecture, furnishings, and decor made it a wonderful, unique stay. We also loved the pool.
Cons: The food was good, but highly priced. We found an even better dinner on our second night at the restaurant across the street for a lower price.
Location: Almagro is a quiet town with a couple of sights like the Fuggers' warehouse and the old theater. There is also a good selection of cafes and shops.
This parador was beautiful with excellent service. We enjoyed walking around the hallways and taking in the architecture, furnishings, and decor. We stayed for two nights and were very happy with our stay. Almagro is quiet town off the beaten path that still has several sights and a number of good cafes. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed swimming in the pentagon pool and relaxing in the courtyard that surrounds it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Barcelona

Lovely hotel right in the heart of Barcelona

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Everything
Location: Right on La Rambla and down the road is the famous markets Mercat de La Boqueria. Also just up the road you can catch the open top tourist buses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by b from NY

A pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 18, 2013
The moment we drove through the gate, a sense of peace and tranquility surrounded us. A truly serene environment, maintaining the character of the old convent without losing the modern day conveniences, and providing meticulously restored history for everyone to appreciate. A truly relax experience physically and spiritually even for someone who is not religious like myself. Wonderful restaurant in the hotel courtyard withe center pond, we had one of the best dinners in our trip. Breakfast has nothing spectacular, but it is convenient. At the same time, it is located in a small town with not much going on around it, so if you desire a very eventful night life, it is not the place for you.