Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly, comfortable, and well located

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Perfectly located just 10 minutes walk from the old town and harbour of Ciutadella, and an easy 5–10 minute walk from local bus services. There is direct access to the sea via a short flight of steps from the hotel terrace, and it's the perfect spot from which to enjoy sunset with views over the cove of Platja Gran and out to sea. With friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and good showers as well, I'd definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel with a beatiful breakfast view.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Great Hotel and great team. We will definitely be stayin at the Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and dated

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel bona is a very basic hotel and a bit dated but it is kept clean and reasonably maintained throughout. The staff are friendly and try to be helpful. Incidentally, reception for checking in and out is at the nearby Mar Blava, the Cala Bona's sister hotel. The Blava is also where you will be expected to take breakfast. Our room came with a small balcony, en-suite bathroom, fridge, television and safe. On the down side there was no air conditioning, the shower was pretty useless and the beds were the hardest I've slept on. The location of the hotel is good for the town of Ciutadella being around a fifteen minutes walk. There is a supermarket close by and a small beach to catch some early morning sun.
5 out of 5
by Jugoslav from Serbia

Budget hotel on a great location

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Budget hotel on a great location near the old city center, beautiful view at an inlet with rocks and a small sand beach nearby. Great for swimming or jogging. Fine breakfast with moderate but fresh choice. Parking space in front. Try to pick a room with a terrace if available (even if with no sea view). Wi-fi really bad at most locations, unfortunately.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

calabona hotel

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
great little friendly hotel in a pretty location
5 out of 5
by Kalle from Helsinki

Very recommendable

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed one night on a business trip. Cala Bona is a very pretty hotel with a VERY nice views to the sea. We also got a room with a balcony to the sea which was nice. Breakfast is good and you can have it inside or on the terrace, and again, with spectacular views. Hotel has a small pool and there's also a possibility to swim in the sea almost straight from the breakfast terrace. Staff is helpful and friendly. Hotel is 10 min walk from the exact centrum. I would go back to Cala Bona anytime.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Shrewsbury

Delightful position and lovely staff.

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is beautifully situated on a small inlet very close to the town of Cuitadella (about 10 mins on foot). The hotel is in 2 small buildings, we stayed in room 10 in the Cala Bona which had a a balcony and sea view. The two single beds were 4 foot in width and so we were very comfortable, the shower in the bathroom is small, but adequate. The breakfast area was delightful, with a lovely view. The staff were more than helpful. It is an older hotel, but the position and the kindness of the staff make it an excellent choice. We would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by david from lymington

good cheap break

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
we really enjoyed our stay, lovely views and staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Ali from Mallorca

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is just perfect, I took the ferry from Alcudia in Mallorca where I live, and it was only about 10 mins walk around the coast to the hotel, very easy to find, and from there less than 10 mins walk into the centre of Ciutadella. The brothers (hosts) were very friendly and offered me a choice of room as not full that day. I chose the smaller older room because the location was just perfect, on the water's edge, in fact I didn't even look at the bigger room. The view was amazing from my room and the next morning I woke early with the full moon right in front of me, fantastic! I also love the way the local council has made the most of access to the sea with steps cut into the rocks, or put some small wooden or metal steps, and also there are disabled parking bays with flat access to sea front, making the beauty of the location easily available to all. Breakfast was good and plenty to eat, excellent choice. I spoke with some other guests and we all agreed we had made a very wise choice booking the hotel Mar Blava! I can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Beach Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
This hotel is right on an inlet of the sea. Although it is rock formation it is easy to just jumnp in right in front of the hotel. This is an old style beach hotel. Not fancy but cosy with a great breakfast. Easy to walk to the middle of town and easy to park your car by the hotel.