Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good Stay before cruise

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Right next to train station & Hertz is right next door. Staff front desk speak English. Small elevator. Old hotel but well kept. Nice breakfast with espresso or cappuccino if you ask. They will arrange a taxi to the cruise port (don't look at a map and think you can walk it). Good pizza place filled with locals a short walk (5 minutes away) I think called Pizza Ghetto. Other choices are nearby. The waterfront promenade is right close by. Excellent choice for a cruise. Downside is the beds are hard & the water didn't get that hot. I'd stay there again for another cruise.
4 out of 5
by Wayne

Okay

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Was expensive but nice
4 out of 5
by Darlene

Civitavecchia Stay

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The issue that I had with this hotel was that my daughter and I walked in off the street as we passed by. We were looking for a place to stay after a 19.5 hour ferry ride that was four hours delayed, preventing us from getting to our original hotel. When we got to the desk the man working told us they were sold out. We walked down the street to a second hotel owned by the same Roses chain. They were full and told us to go to LaVille. Since we had already been told there were no rooms I looked in Hotels.com for a place to stay. Imagine my surprise to find that there were, indeed vacant rooms and the man at the front desk, for whatever reason, had lied to us. Long story short-the hotel was very nice. Our room was lovely. The service, however, left much to be desired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent pre-cruise location. Right next to Hertz Car Rental. Parking available. Old hotel. Some bugs. Hard mattress. Very small elevator. Decent breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location! Great taste in Italian decor.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Everthing from the moment you enter. Excellent buffet - free with room.
Cons: English channel on TV.
Location: Great location - central to everything including the train station.
Very nice stay with great breakfast ane friendly, helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Very tired and old once grand Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Cons: New carpets are needed.
Unfortunately this once Grand Hotel is in need of major updates. The carpet in our room and the staircase was very very dirty and stained. The room itself was a nice size with a big for Italy standards bathroom. It was clean and the bed comfortable. Not one channel on the tv was in English, if you wanted English you had to go to the lounge on the main floor. The A/C had been turned off for the season and the weather was quite warm and humid. The window did open so at least we got some air however the train station is very close to the hotel and the trains run often which made sleeping a problem with the window open. My guess is when the A/c is on the noise wouldn't of been an issue but this I am not sure of. The location was perfect to walk to the port to our cruise. Overall if you can get past the carpet issue the hotel was pretty good, an English TV channel would of been nice and A/C would of been greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The location is great and Rosie and Jonny were very helpful to us. The other staff were not as warm as these two.
Cons: There is mold on the right of the elevator door, there are no irons in the rooms or a guest cannot get ice.
Location: It is a great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was old but in excellent condition. Included breakfast was excellent. Location was excellent for coming in by train and leaving by ship all within easy walking distance.