Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to ship port

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Convenient location close to the port and train station. Was grateful they went out of their way to provide early. Checkin for my ill husband. Breakfast buffet was good. Comfortable bed and good amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Nice hotel near port and town center

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly service. Good location, with views. Good breakfast included. Set up tours for us. Arranged transfers from airport and to cruise ship.
Location: You can walk to town center, restaurants and shops. Walk the waterfront. They can arrange tours of nearby winery and towns.
Nice hotel near port and town center. You can walk to town center, restaurants and shops. Walk the waterfront. They can arrange tours of nearby winery and towns. Had a great time at Winery Etruscaia and visited Bagnaia / Viterbo / Tarquinia. Friendly service. Good location, with views. Good breakfast included. Arranged transfers from airport and to cruise ship. Read somewhere you can walk to/from cruise ships, don't believe it, unless you are young and in fantastic shape and are not bringing much with you. My cruise ship was far away. Pay the few dollars for the transfer. The town only has 25 or so taxis, and are not interested in the short drive to the cruise ships when they can get better fares.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient to Port of Civitavecchia.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Unremarkable. Good location. A little pushy on selling extras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Good hotel for pre or post cruise stay, breakfast was great, adjoining restaurant was fine for lunch and dinner. Not much to do in Civitavecchia. We took the hotel staff's recommendation to visit the Unesco site about 11 miles away by train- it would have been a very good recommendation but it was Sunday and nearly everything was closed the day of our visit (10/1).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset.uk

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Welcoming and helpful Comfortable No teamaker though
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beware of special events

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The shuttle to the cruise port.
Cons: Find a way to muffle the noise during weddings or other events, or at a minimum, advise guests in advance so they have the option to stay elsewhere.
Location: Great restaurants nearby and close to the cruise port.
The lobby of this older hotel is quite charming. Our room had a steep spiral staircase leading up to a bedroom loft, and because the bathroom was on the bottom floor, we requested a room change so we wouldn't have to navigate the stairs in the middle of the night. The hotel staff graciously accommodated that request. The hotel hosted a wedding the night of our stay and it continued loudly until 3:15 a.m. We contacted the staff twice about the noise, and although they were sympathetic, they either could not or would not take action. When the festivities ended, the cleanup began and we could hear chairs scraping and tables banging until 4:30 a.m. It was a rough night's sleep. I would just caution travelers to check in advance to ensure there are no special events scheduled during their stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton, Il

Nice hotel close to the port

Posted Aug 28, 2017
This was the most accommodating hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff is so nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet hotel stay before our cruise.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Included breakfast was awesome. View from the top floor balcony was great, friendly staff.
Cons: Room maintenance and up-keep. Had an old style feeling, but little things need repairs and maintenance has suffered over the years.
Location: Restaurants and the beach is nearby as well as Fort Michelangelo - not much else. Get a shuttle to Largo Della Pace or the cruise ship.
We had booked the hotel as a "night-before" our cruise and a part of our honeymoon. We also stayed at 3 other hotels in Rome, Venice, and Florence. The hotel was our very first stay in Italy, walked from the train station for about 8 minutes to get to the hotel. If you've done your research for Civitavecchia, you know that you need to transfer if you're landing at Fiumicino at Trastevere station to get there. The check-in was fast, and the room overall was ok. We stayed in a two level room with a staircase and the bed was located upstairs. The bed itself was fairly stiff - not for those hoping for memory foam. Only issue was that the rooms themselves seemed fairly clean but seem 15 years old or so. The front desk suggested dining at the restaurant in the Hotel since it had recently opened a few months ago, and after walking around the port for a few hours we decided to do just that. Dinner was great - simple antipasto dish with a chicken main. Really good spread of cheese and meats. Breakfast was our favourite out of all of the hotels. It was on the top floor with a wrap around balcony that had a great view of the water. Great food itself with an Italian spread and the pastries were awesome. Coffee was great. Easily the best part of the stay at the hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay - we would recommend it before a cruise. Not really a walking distance to the port's shuttle point (Largo Della Pace).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Authentic italian hotel close to cruise port.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Location and terrace restaurant
Location: Close to cruise port, plenty of markets on the boardwalk on the front of beach, and many small cafes and restaurants.
Great italian hotel with plenty of charisma close to cruise port for an overnight stay before or after your cruise. Very clean and helpful staff with an excellent restaurant on the terrace worth trying - beautiful for dinner on sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice location near the port beach and restaurants