Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Otis Orchards WA

Moving our son to Portland.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We usually stay closer in Portland or downtown but Clackamas was a very good fit this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Check in was great. I love this hotel. The furniture in the room could use a cleaning. Multiple stains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cannon Beach, OR

Not Pet Friendly

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: This was the 3rd event we've held in a banquet room; the open bar rates are quite high and reduced the amount of beverages affordable by our friends.
Cons: Set a refundable pet cleaning fee, collect it and give future pet fee credit. A motor home dump station would have been beneficial too.
It would be more convenient if your advertisements shared the face that pets are not allowed in the hotel. Our tiny little dog stayed in the car quite capably, but there are many who would not do so well. Maybe I missed that detail in the ads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Bank NJ

Classy

Posted Sep 19, 2017
An older hotel with a great staff. Tremendous team with knowledge and character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice outdoor pool. No continental breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We stayed here during the Solar Eclipse. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and pretty. No continental breakfast which was very disappointing. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it's pricey. There are other chain restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location to shopping centre.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
This is the second time to stay in this hotel, like the restaurant and the friendly staffs. Will go back again. Just the price are a bit high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by Angela

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Tammy, Hotel Management
Dear Angela, Thank you for taking the time to rate us!
4 out of 5
by Ardith

Monarch Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The staff at the front desk were great! The room was very nice but somehow ended up with a queen suite instead of the king that I paid for. The food for the banquet was fantastic as usual and that staff was great, also. Definitely in the top 3 hotels that I stay at while here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Tammy, Hotel Management
Dear Ardith, Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food at your banquet. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by Helene

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Tammy, Hotel Management
Dear Helene - We appreciate you taking the time to rate us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the cost.

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The location was convenient.
Cons: Everything could be improved! The jacuzzi tub/shower, the bed, the pillows, the food at the restaurant, and they definitely need to upgrade their TVs.
The jacuzzi tub itself was nice but it would be better if the shower was NOT part of the tub. Water gets everywhere, even if you use the shower curtain that is supposed to surround the tub. Also getting in and out of the jacuzzi tub is not easy. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were horrible. The TV picture quality was really sad as well. Sam's restaurant is mediocre at best. My husband and I will never stay here again.