Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The peace and tranquillity.
Cons: An improved menu for evening meals offering a varied selection of vegetables and salad.
Location: The location was easy to get to by train or car. Frinton-on-Sea is a very pleasant place to visit and less than 15 minutes to get to by car.
Very comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay for one night. Staff very pleasant, helpful and friendly. I loved the pool, steam and sauna rooms. My only complaint was that both myself and my daughter were very disappointed with the evening menu. Not at all as I expected. No vegetables were offered, just fries served with a small salad and your choice of main food. We both had sea bass, which was very nice, but I would have expected a selection of vegetables.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Relaxing and quiet.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This hotel and spa is like an oasis. The whole experience from start to finish was wonderful. Couldn't really fault it. Beautiful gardens!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

Lovely grounds to walk through and sit.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The pool and spa area is lovely.
Cons: Car parking
Location: The sea is near by!
We like this hotel the grounds are lovely to walk in. The hotel is tranquil and comfortable beds. Just a good place to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Spa Hotel and Grounds

Posted May 28, 2017
Very beautiful building and grounds. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable with a gorgeous view of the garden. Facilities great and treatments were too. There were special offers in my room which made it hard to refuse! The therapists were also very good . I had breakfast. Food delicious as a full English. Would have liked to see fresh smoothies and juices served. They did have a strawberries and champagne bar which was a lovely luxurious touch. The bar was nice but noisy. They have a lovely family of geese who have free reign. If you have a garden room you are warned not to leave your door open in case they wander in. There are no taxis at train station so do book spa car before you get there. I didn't and had to ask friendly lady in ticket office what to do. She had their number already on a card as I was not the first this happened to. Good place to go with friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

great relaxing break

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: great place
Cons: no
can't wait to go again no complaints great staff great location would like more spa thou meaning bigger with a few more themes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

So close to being a 5* Hotel!

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the facilities are great (when all are working!), therapists were fantastic and staff were polite and helpful.
Cons: Staff knowledge of treatments, cleanliness of grounds/rooms, better quality food for money, maybe some light entertainment for the evening?
Location: The location of the hotel is near to the coast (10-15 min drive) and there are some great seaside towns to visit and spend the day/evening at.
Firstly the negatives: very hard to book treatments so make sure you do it early! Out of the four treatments my partner and I wanted only one was available due to the hotel being busy. My partner was recommended an alternative second treatment which ended up being identical to the first one he had! I was told there was only room for a 45 minute back massage which in fact turned out to be only 30 minutes. (I hasten to add however that the therapists were amazing!). We ate in the restaurant on our first night but cancelled our reservation for the second night due to the experience! Unlike other guests we were not offered water when we sat at the table, it took 30 minutes for two cocktails to arrive and we ended up eating our starters before any drinks had been served! The main meals were okay but not worth their price at all, as was the same with the lunch. There was a variety of food for breakfast but the cooked food was a little disappointing too (sausages hard, eggs dry etc.). When we had our room cleaned, housekeeping took our old towels but didn't replace them! It then took an hour for towels to be brought to the room! Also the room was of great size and amenities however just a little dirty (cobwebs under the desk, red stains on the carpet). However despite all the negatives my partner and I had a lovely two night break here and will be returning and hoping that there will be some improvements made by our next visit.
3 out of 5
by Anika

Has seen better times

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Spa area is on the small side and not well maintained: tiles are coming off, facilities not working. Room wasn't very clean. Too expensive for what you get
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Restful & Relaxing

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel & grounds were amazing, it felt restful & relaxing the minute you arrived. Everywhere was fresh & clean, all the staff were nice, polite & helpful, from the reception upon arrival to the services & cleaning, saying hello as they pass you or offering help if you looked lost. The restaurants dinner menu was limited for me as I don't eat fish or spicy food, the sirloin steak was my only option which was pricy, I requested it medium to well done, it was cooked perfectly & the portions were more than enough, the level of service in the restaurant was excellent. My mum & I can't wait to go again.
5 out of 5
by michael

Beautiful Spot

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely, beautiful, relaxing. Great food. Only negative is that some stuff was charged our room, but when it was pointed out to staff, they removed the extras straight away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lovely grounds to walk around

Posted Jan 27, 2017
A lovely hotel very relaxing somewhere i can go with my husband to relax and enjoy , i was recommended it so booked for my husbands birthday last year as he has never been to a spa and he liked it so much i booked again . will definitely be going again .