Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off street, very quiet.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Stay here everytime for work very nice place and walking distance to takeaways and stores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port broughton

Quiet and clean

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: quiet
Location: close to town facilities
restful , close to shopping , room was warm and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Dinner and wine at the hotel was great. rooms were clean and nice people were good fire place for winter and pool for summer at a good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel with a great dinning room.

Posted May 24, 2016
The Clare Motel was nice and we had a great stay. Unfortunately been away I missed some of your requests for motels we booked with you. Please send me the review for the Avalon Motel in Mount Gambier. It wasn't good at all!!! Thanks, John.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice motel close to all facilities

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Clean & comfortable
Location: The Maze Walk, Mini Gollf. The Mansion. The vararity of Shops. Wineries, Walking & Bycle rides. Cafe's with country cooking.
Staff were excellent. Food great. Great Location. Not far to travel to various activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
lovely place and staff. Room was very clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremantle

Nice hotel but to far from town

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Cons: Airconditioning units need to be replaced
Location: To Far from town
Good hotel but a little to far from town for me. Also the aircon in the room worked but so loud was hard to sleep. Hotel needs updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Nice motel set back from main road

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The motel is on the main road but is set back about 50m so very quiet and amongst large grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful and accommodated our early arrival by switching rooms for us. The only noticeable downside was our shower didn't really work properly. Motel is perfectly located to use as a staging post for the vineyards and other sights in the region.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly functional

Posted Dec 31, 2015
No frills and perfectly functional although in places could do with a touch of TLC i.e. The shower rooms and the umbrellas around the pool weren't all working etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naracoorte

Friendly, thoughtful approach to rooms, customers

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: The view over the Clare Valley. The size of the car park. The openness, cleanliness of the room. Friendliness of everyone I spoke to.
Cons: The hot water took time to come on - but there would have been demands upon the system. The kettle didn't turn off automatically. Larger teabag range.
Location: Attend Clare Writers' Week. Visit wineries especially Seven Hill. Countryside holds little appeal in summer.
Had the last room available but was greeted as a valuable customer by hospitable owners. Provided with milk and a free newspaper. Fine service and meal in the restaurant. Little touches here and there made the experience more enjoyable.