Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Very problematic

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: I did like they had a restaurant so we didn't have to go out and they were located very close to the airport.
Cons: Getting the plumbing problems addressed and updating the rooms with new flooring.
We were very disappointed by this hotel. We had good luck at all the other places we stayed in Ireland and this was our last night before going home. I first got there and they requested payment which I had already paid 6 months in advance, got that worked out. We got to our room and it was in ok condition. Seemed very old and not as clean as I would have preferred but that just may have been the stains on the carpet. The bedding seemed clean but the beds were not very comfortable. We had all of our problems in the actual bathroom. First shower couldn't get the water on and once we remedied this we could not get the hot water to turn off. We called for assistance and after waiting about 15 minutes called for assistance again. A nice gentleman came down and turned it off for us and explained to one of my traveling companions that we were in the old part of the hotel and they haven't started to renovations on this part yet so that is why it isn't fixed. We could pay for a better room and be moved if we'd like. I didn't know when we booked online that we should have asked to be in the new part of the hotel as I didn't know there was one. Then the second shower, couldn't get any hot water on had to call again to have them assist us. I took my shower the next morning and again there was no hot water so I just took a cold shower as I was ready to go home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: the old world charm,
Cons: the dinning room needs to extend their hours.
Location: shopping and airport very near by
we were in Europe for 2 weeks staying in various hotels, this hotel rakes up with one of the best we had
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very cute and nice hotel - wish there was a pool

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great food, very clean and comfortable rooms.
Cons: Add a pool and/or some amenities
We loved this hotel. It was cheaper to stay in Shannon so we chose this hotel. Great comfortable rooms. Beds were nice, and the decor was super cute. We ate at the bar/restaurant and the food was excellent! We also had the morning breakfast which we enjoyed. Would recommend this hotel to anyone! Our only complaint is there was no pool, which we would expect/appreciate from a hotel of this size/price/range.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Someone got the # of occupants wrong either expedia or the hotel and so they had to change the room and the new room smelled as if someone had thrown up there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The hotel is in the process of replacing all their mattresses , once they do I would rate the hotel higher.. Our mattress had a U shape and desperately needs the new mattress.. Breakfast was outstanding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good hotel. Close to airport.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Good experience. Very helpful Reception staff. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 8, 2016
It is a great place to stay close to the Bunratty castle and airport. Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with convenient location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
This was the last hotel on our 10- day trip to Ireland and it was great! Fabulous decor and very nice restaurant. Does not have a pool, but there is a fitness room. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

beautiful old hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Very spacious room. The hairdryer didn't work though. The thing I appreciated the most was the cold buffet served from 5:30 am on. I had to be at Shannon Airport by 7:30 am and was not expecting to be able to have any breakfast at all, but I actually ate a very substantial meal in a beautiful dining room. (The hot breakfast was served from 7:00 am on.)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great place to stay in Ireland!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Clean Location Staff
Cons: Shower tiles were quite slippery when wet and the mattresses were exceptional firm..
Location: Bunratty Castle and Folk Park is very close. Cliffs of Moher are less than an hour away. Cingle Peninsula is breathtaking- a little farther- worth it.
We spent 4 days in Ireland recently and The Oak Wood Arms was our home base for daily adventures. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great and we explored the Cliffs of Moher, Dingle Peninsula, Cork and Killarny- all were reasonable driving distances for a day trip from Shannon. the front desk personnel printed confirmations for me more than once- they were quick and efficient. Breakfast was hearty and the dining staff personable, helpful and had a good sense of humor.