Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: This hotel has a lovely homely,warm and relaxed atmosphere.
Location: This is a wonderful location in the center of Ennis,close to all the shops/pubs and restaurants..
We stayed here overnight for a friends party that was also held here. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite by a really pleasant helpful receptionist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Night at Old Ground Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We were there for a quick visit but it was very nice. The hotel is beautiful and we were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Irish Honeymoon

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Pubs, history, shopping, food
We checked into the Old Grounds Hotel for one night during our Honeymoon on our way through Ennis. It was far better than I could have ever asked for!! The hotel staff was absolutely lovely. Maria who checked us in that evening was wonderful and full of insight as to where we should go and what we should see while we were in Ennis. The hotel is full of old world charm with an inviting atmosphere and amazing food and pub. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE. Also, the sound of the cathedral bells from across the street was an added bonus!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

NICE HOTEL IN CHARMING NEIGHBORHOOD

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was fantastic. Comfortable rooms with a view of the Cathedral. Wonderful breakfast and great pubs all around the neighborhood as well as some really upscale cuisine. Glad we went directly from Shannon to here as they allowed us to check in super early and we then made our way to Doolin and the Aran Islands.
Cons: Parking - I think the car was dented here - though it could have been in Doolin or the Cliffs of Moher parking lot. Hey, I bought the extra insurance so I didn't fret it.
Location: Our stay was short but we found a few pubs with great session music and a super restaurant that boasted cuisine - not just the usual pub fare.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The rooms were clean, shower was hot, tea pot available and TV. Loved every day there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Service was excellent. Staff very friendly. Good food in the pub.
Cons: Not much to dislike. Rooms were a little warm but once figured out how to change the temperature, was great. Also did not know how to turn on the lights. Have to put room key into slot by door to get lights to go on. Luckily the housekeeper was around to ask.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aalsmeer

Gemoedelijk hotel in leuke plaats

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Ruime kamers. Vraag om een kamer in het nieuwere gedeelte; minder leuk uitzicht, maar ook geen krakende houten vloeren.
Cons: De vloer in onze kamer kraakte en er 'resoneerde' de hele nacht iets. Alsof er een vrachtwagen met draaiende motor onder het raam stond.
Location: Cliffs of Moher, schitterend!! Parkeer alleen niet bij het visitors centre, maar rijd iets verder door en parkeer voor slechts 2 Euro (per auto)!
Het is een gemoedelijk hotel met een ontzettend gezellige pub. Ruime kamers. Gratis parkeren bij het hotel. Ennis is een leuke plaats. Goede uitvalsbasis voor bezienswaardigheden.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dulles, United States of America

Delightful traditional hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I loved the atmosphere of the hotel, very charming and old fashioned, sitting rooms, fire places, tea! They have trad music almost every evening in the pub. The rooms are very spacious and nice. Big bathtub and shower.
Cons: It would be nice to have a hair dryer in the bathroom. There were lots of toiletries, though! And the towels are nice and thick and fluffy!
Location: Ennis is small, so the hotel is close to everything! Hope to return :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Perfect feel and location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: This had free parking (although a tight fit) and was right on the main street.
We had hoped to stay here as our base our first two days in Ireland, but it was booked. I was lucky enough to book a room for our last night before heading to Shannon the next morning for our departing flight. We loved the old world charm with modern amenities. It was elegant without being stuffy and we loved the location right in the heart of Ennis. We also enjoyed having the Poet's Corner right there in the hotel and enjoyed traditional music there one night. We plan to book way in advance the next trip and use it as our base for at least three nights...one was just not enough!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

2 nights in Ennis

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Excellent room. Nice and spacious. Good service. Great breakfast included. 2 restaurants and 1 bar. Good food. ate in the restaurant 2 times.
Location: Cliffs of Moher, hiking
excellent location for Cliffs of Moher and over night from Shannon airport. We arrived after a huge weekend of a music festival. Many of the musicians stayed an extra night. There was a party atmosphere. Very busy and fun.