Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel in middle of Ennis

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The location in town and wonderful dining options. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Location: Cliffs of Moher, the Burren and don't miss driving the Wild Atlantic along the coast. The scenery is tremendous!
This is elegant old Hotel and walkable into town. The Cliffs of Moher and the Burren within 45 mins drive. It was a good base to travel from. The Hotel pub and bistro both had excellent food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by OG, Hotel Management
Thank you for this feedback, we are delighted you liked our central location and enjoyed your stay Kind regards Old Ground Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey/New York

Lovely hotel right in the town.

Posted May 9, 2017
Location: Ennis is the hub of the Shannon Region. A huge number of activities are available.
Always an excellent place to begin or end our stays in Ireland. Everything is always in good order and Poet's Corner Pub and Town Hall Restaurant are both excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel near old town

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Large rooms, clean, comfortable beds. Charming location. Outdoor patio.
Cons: Elevators were hard to get into. Hallways have lots of doors to go through and were noisie at night opening and closing.
Location: Close to shopping and pubs!
We only stayed one night at this hotel. The fact that you can walk through the bar and onto the main street was a plus. Lots of shopping and pubs in short walking distance. Old but charming hotel hence the name, Old Ground Hotel!
5 out of 5
by Brad

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Staff were friendly and treated us very well. If you are staying in Ennis, this is definitely the place to be. Rooms are spacious and clean, and the breakfast was excellent. If I were staying in Ennis again, this would be my hotel of choice.
5 out of 5
by Frank

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
All good from Checkin to departure. Friendly staff. Food good. Hotel was very busy all over the weekend. Can be impossible to get a parking space outside. Otherwise no complaints other than the parking.
5 out of 5
by colin

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
I travel in business in the area several times a year. Would not stay anywhere else staff are very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable hotel, wonderful staff.

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The ambiance and the friendly staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: Located in Ennis; close to shopping areas.
The Old Ground is a comfortable hotel with an amazing, friendly and helpful staff. My room was spacious, clean and quiet. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Parking v limited was only small negative
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Amy

Holiday in Ireland

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was wonderful! Staff were amazing, accommodating and so friendly.