Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Nice hotel, everything you need nearby.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Location: Definitely make a reservation and dine in the Town Hall restaurant connected to the hotel. and the County Clare museum is worth an afternoon
Historic building with lots of character. Great pub and restaurants onsite, as well as lots of shopping, site seeing, and other food locales in very close proximity. The staff were great, everything was taken care of and had no issues what so ever. Really liked the old world atmosphere, with modern amenities combined.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Beautiful, quaint hotel with very comfortable bed.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Overall, a very positive experience. The bed was SUPER comfortable and a decent size. However, when we arrived at our room to open the door, the door was open slightly and it looked like someone had laid on our bed. So this is simply a problem with the particular door shutting all the way that would need to be fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Always love this hotel. It's old world magic and comfort and magic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: This hotel has a lovely homely,warm and relaxed atmosphere.
Location: This is a wonderful location in the center of Ennis,close to all the shops/pubs and restaurants..
We stayed here overnight for a friends party that was also held here. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite by a really pleasant helpful receptionist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night at Old Ground Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We were there for a quick visit but it was very nice. The hotel is beautiful and we were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Irish Honeymoon

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Pubs, history, shopping, food
We checked into the Old Grounds Hotel for one night during our Honeymoon on our way through Ennis. It was far better than I could have ever asked for!! The hotel staff was absolutely lovely. Maria who checked us in that evening was wonderful and full of insight as to where we should go and what we should see while we were in Ennis. The hotel is full of old world charm with an inviting atmosphere and amazing food and pub. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE. Also, the sound of the cathedral bells from across the street was an added bonus!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

NICE HOTEL IN CHARMING NEIGHBORHOOD

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was fantastic. Comfortable rooms with a view of the Cathedral. Wonderful breakfast and great pubs all around the neighborhood as well as some really upscale cuisine. Glad we went directly from Shannon to here as they allowed us to check in super early and we then made our way to Doolin and the Aran Islands.
Cons: Parking - I think the car was dented here - though it could have been in Doolin or the Cliffs of Moher parking lot. Hey, I bought the extra insurance so I didn't fret it.
Location: Our stay was short but we found a few pubs with great session music and a super restaurant that boasted cuisine - not just the usual pub fare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The rooms were clean, shower was hot, tea pot available and TV. Loved every day there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Service was excellent. Staff very friendly. Good food in the pub.
Cons: Not much to dislike. Rooms were a little warm but once figured out how to change the temperature, was great. Also did not know how to turn on the lights. Have to put room key into slot by door to get lights to go on. Luckily the housekeeper was around to ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dulles, United States of America

Delightful traditional hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I loved the atmosphere of the hotel, very charming and old fashioned, sitting rooms, fire places, tea! They have trad music almost every evening in the pub. The rooms are very spacious and nice. Big bathtub and shower.
Cons: It would be nice to have a hair dryer in the bathroom. There were lots of toiletries, though! And the towels are nice and thick and fluffy!
Location: Ennis is small, so the hotel is close to everything! Hope to return :)