Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kk

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Lovely hotel, great friendly staff, great value bar food. Plenty parking. Only downside would be the self service breakfast start to finish, although there was plenty of choice, I would recommend placing the porridge alongside the other cereals as we didn't see it until we queued for the full Irish.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nowhere near Shannon Airport

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
In a search on Expedia for hotels in Shannon Ireland, this one came up with a description saying 'This family friendly Ennis hotel is located near the airport..' If you don't know, like me, Ennis is as far away from Shannon as Limerick and it will cost you at least 35 euros to get a taxi to the airport as there are no shuttles. Buses are possible, but the Sunday schedule in particular makes getting around extremely difficult. The hotel clerk couldn't even tell me how much it would cost to get to the airport. Not helpful at all. The difference in price will more than compensate for being close to the airport. There aren't a lot of options, but the ones to choose are the hotel right in the airport, Shannon Springs Hotel or the Oak Wood Hotel in my opinion. Hope you have better luck in Shannon than I did.
3 out of 5
by Darren from Dublin

Reasonable hotel if you avoid the bar and food

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
While the hotel itself is welcoming and up to par with my expectations, the hotel bar leaves a lot to be desired. The food was mediocre at best, and that's from my partner and myself. Overcooked and undercooked food on the same plate, tasteless for the most part. The menu is in dire need of an update also. My partner being a vegetarian, had a choice of 2 options from the entire menu. The staff, from kitchen to bar, appear to be in need of serious training, or replacement. They are currently running a cocktail promotion, so we decided to indulge while away. The first bar tender had no idea what the "house special" cocktail was, or the fact that it was printed on all of the menus at the tables. After that, I decided to ask for a well known cocktail, also on their promotion list, a Mojito. The drink that arrived was in a martini glass, sugar around the rim and not a leaf of mint, or crushed ice to be seen. From what I can tell, the bar tender put lime juice from a bottle in with rum. I enquired, to ensure that he didn't mishear me, and sure enough, he replied that these were indeed mojitos. Retraining or replacement sorely needed.
5 out of 5
by mairead

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
We were in Ennis for Fleadh na hEireann had a great stay in Treacys West County. Fabulous hotel staff friendly great atmosphere there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Single rooms are bad, don't book breakfast.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
I had a single room in the hotel with bed and breakfast. The room was tiny and my room door was half blocked by the corridor doors. The shower was tiny, like really small. The shower curtain would keep blowing onto me because of the extractor fan which made it a very uncomfortable and irritating shower. My room was by a square section where stairs meet, the noise levels of people meeting in the corridors woke me up several times and my room was on the ground floor beside swings, being woken up by kids early was also annoying. Breakfast service was terrible, make your own tea/coffee with the basics and all the spoons were dirty. Food was ok. Bar food was nice but the lasagne portion was tiny served with a huge plate of chips. Should have been the other way around with the price you pay!
3 out of 5
by ANNETTE

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Room 129 had a damp musty smell...needs revamping! Had to leave fan on and window opwn all night. We were given keys to a room that was occupied by someone else when we first checked in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

R.O.I Rip Off Ireland

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
I had earned one free night with Hotels. Com Decided to use it in Ennis. Boy was I in for a shock. I had to put more than 70 more Euro in to get a room in this mediocre Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Group hotel in walking distance of town

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The hotel has a nice gym and pool as well as a popular bar. It is a fifteen minute walk into Ennis from the hotel
3 out of 5
by Niamh from Dublin

Good for families.

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Breakfast was very good, fresh and plenty of even late in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it for families but not for couples. This is an oldschool country hotel with no frills.
2 out of 5
by mary from cavan

disappointing

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
good atmosphere i.e. music very poor in breakfast dining room it was very much self service i.e. set the table, search for cutlery.. .wait for glasses.... make your own tea and carry it to the furthest away area for overflow business. very disappointing bar seems to be run by many hardworking very young girls . there didnt appear to be any sense of management or superiority. the front desk presented a similar picture. overall wont be in a hurry back