Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really good

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Hotels
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Secure parking, nice pool, good WiFi reception and very conveniently placed for the cricket ground at Newlands. We cannot really fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Superbly comfortable Guest House in great location

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Everything! See above
Cons: We simply can't think of anything.
Location: Close to Newlands (for Rugby and Cricket fans), good restaurants a short drive away, easy access to Kirstenbosch and Table Mtn, and Hout Bay's beach.
The welcome from the Staff was excellent and that experience continued - they simply couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. Fruit, biscuits and even a small carafe of Port in the room; a breakfast that we'll struggle to beat anywhere; and additional meals (when requested) superbly cooked and served. Even a picnic (in a cool bag) was suggested by the Staff for our day in Kirstenbosch gardens, which made a wonderful day even better. If we had questions about anything - directions, the best time to visit places, etc - the Staff took time to research and provide very helpful answers. The location of Wild Olive was brilliant from our perspective, a short drive to Cape Town's V & A and easy access to the False Bay coast, and the Airport, with Kirstenbosch just minutes away. The garden was a place to relax with good seats/sunloungers, a shady Gazebo with comfortable sofas/cushions, and a good swimming pool - sadly, access was limited to early or later in the day due to the water shortage, but even the water shortage was well managed with very little inconvience. We simply can't rate the Wild Olive highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely guesthouse with great access to Cape

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The Wild Olive Guest House is well appointed, with delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, lounge, and garden area. Everything about this classic, old house is welcoming. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We stayed over the holidays and the rooms had fresh stocks of homemade holiday cookies and chocolates everyday - a very nice touch. Will definitely stay here next time in the Cape.
5 out of 5
by Ingrid

Very nice place

Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
IT was a great place, helpful staff. The rooms were a good size and well equiped. We were just overnight very pleased. A bit tricky to figure out how to get into the drive way as the area had changed and the gps muddled things up.
5 out of 5
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gerald

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great hospitable pace with excellent breakfast. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent staff, brilliant breakfast, quiet garden

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff, peaceful garden with pool, two guest lounges with honesty bar and the best breakfast we've experienced in a guest house.
Cons: The only room available to us for our length of stay was the queen room, which was adequate, but rooms in the main house were of a better standard.
Location: Close to all Newlands sporting activities in a quiet cul-de-sac, with adequate and secure parking.
Most warm welcome and the staff were absolutely second to none with nothing being too much trouble. Breakfast choice and service was excellent in a room which pleasantly opened right out to the peaceful garden with pool. The garden and pool area were immaculately maintained and a variety of comfortable seating was available. Free wi-fi was available throughout the property, inclusive of the garden. This was a perfect guest house for the thirteen night stay we required for our voluntary work, but we would have preferred to upgrade to a room within the main house had this been available. There is a cottage alongside the pool in the garden, which seemed to really appeal to small families with young children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Stayed here on a business trip or one night. Great location for access to Claremont business centre. Had a very pleasant and productive stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Wonderful Experience

Posted Mar 9, 2017
We were given an upgrade to the pool room which was lovely. We ordered dinner there for two nights and was a great value. Food was delicious and fresh. Staff was helpful in booking excursions and breakfast was prepared early on day of departure. They went above and beyond to make our staff a pleasure. Next time we are in Cape Town, we will stay there.
5 out of 5
by abner

Convenient, room size adequate

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay, courteous staff and delicious breakfast