Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ItalianFoodie from Philadelphia

Nice B&B

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Cons: The chintz everywhere (wallpaper, window shades, bed linens was a little claustrophobic. It may be the right period for the building, but it looks wor
Location: There are very good tourist guides in the room.
We stayed here once before when visiting relatives, and thought we'd try the Ransom House again. We had a very nice room on the second floor (no elevator), The bath had very nice amenities and large, thick towels. The breakfast was unusually good - I had the cheese and bacon souffle. The pastries were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by MJ from Out of state

Family friendly

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Location perfect for our needs on this trip.
Cons: Uncomfortable bed.
Location: Perfect location for our visit purpose.
A Bed & Breakfast should provide a comfortable bed-- this did not! I fought rolling into my (heavier) husband much of the night on the old, worn mattress. Yes, I did mention it to staff who made no comment. Breakfast was quite good but not great. There was nothing out of the ordinary on the menu. The overall facility is very pleasant and welcoming with a lovely lounge for reading or gathering with family or friends. We gathered for a wonderful (delicious, well served) dinner for 10 family members in a private dining area. It was a pleasure to find that opportunity was available to us.
4 out of 5
by Dean

Nice Place

Posted Oct 15, 2012 on Hotels
A wonderful visit with accommodating persons and a beautiful dog Gracie.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels
Staff is a little brisk and task focused
5 out of 5
by Linda

Great

Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels
6 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Chad & Maylin

So good we will go back

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels
We had a really great time here. Very interesting heritage and authentically historic house. We didn't want a modern B&B or we would have just stayed home. Staff was great. Room clean and very homey. Our only comment was the bed was a bit springy. But it was such a good get-away for us before our baby comes. Now the food there needs an article all on its own. We love watching the food network and this was like being at one of those restaurants where the chef is blessing you with hand made creations! Sooo good!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not use to the scolding!!!!!!

Posted Jun 27, 2012 on Hotels
The place was fine, but we were scolded 2 times from the innkeeper. Once because we did not call and confirm our visit, yet they had our money and on checkout we did not sign off for breakfast, yet we left the requested tip. Nice place, owners a little unfriendly.
5 out of 5
by Jan

love the old house in its peaceful grounds

Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels
This is the second time we have been and love the location - close enough to Buffalo and shopping, but in a country setting. Particularly love the old house, the rooms are lovely and beautifully maintained. As a B&B it is the best - service excellent, lots of extra touches and the breakfast is excellent. My only negative comment would be the quality of the evening meals - they really need a better chef! Wouldn't stop me going again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orchard Park, NY

Wonderful Stay

Posted Dec 10, 2011 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay here. The suite was very charming. The fireplace was a very nice touch. Breakfast the next day was wonderful too. I would highly recommend this place and will be going back soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south Georgia

excellent place for Christmas

Posted Dec 29, 2010 on Hotels
Warm, friendly, good food, nice dogs.