Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Joe from Houston, TX

Historical Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent relaxing stay at this hotel. Great welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast and dinner preparation.
5 out of 5
by Harry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ct

Wonderful location, great food and service.

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Plenty to see and do, especially antiquing
Wish we found this B & B sooner! Great ambience. Service was prompt, courteous and friendly. Really could not ask for moe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Its charm and friendliness.
Cons: Replace the wall paper in the bathroom
This is not a chain hotel. It is a charming old bed and breakfast. It is in excellent repair except for some bubbles in the wall paper.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlton, New York

Asa Ransom House, Clarence, New York

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Everything !!! Food, rooms, grounds, staff, ambience, it was all perfect.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing !!!
Location: Close to Buffalo and Niagara Falls, there are museums and concert halls within 10-15 minutes away, and easily within a half hour.
This place is a true gem among Bread & Breakfasts, not only for its magnificent structure and beautiful grounds, but especially because the complimentary breakfasts are superb and exceptionally well served by a very efficient, helpful, and charming staff, and high tea and dinner are well worth the trip as well. Bob and his staff go out of their way to accomodate guest's needs and desires at every part of your stay, and are incredibly friendly and helpful and friendly. There is even a wonderful non-resident dog, Gracie, who is available for ear scratches and belly rubs for those of us who miss our own dogs while out of town. Rooms are luxuriously and beautifully appointed, TV is available in rooms if you want it to intrude on the magnificent serenity, but its your escape from everyday life, so leave it turned ff and just bask in the relaxing calm, and walk the beautiful grounds instead, have high tea in the afternoon, then enjoy a wonderful, gourmet meal, beautifully prepared and elegantly served. What could be better ? And more relaxing than that ? We are already planning our next sanity break to this oasis in Western New York. After this trip, Bob and his wonderful staff are old friends, and we look forward to seeing them and this wonderful old facility again, and often.
4 out of 5
by Kathy from Upstate NY

one night stay

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The history of the inn was interesting and would have liked more time to explore the town and local area.
Cons: We would prefer a harder mattress as when the second person got into bed, we rolled together.
We went to UB graduation and wanted a nice B & B with atmosphere for one night. We loved the decor and ambience of the Inn as well as the beautiful grounds. The rooms were very nicely decorated with period pieces with water and fruit with cheese and crackers for snacks. Our only complaint was the bed was too soft to be comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and baked goods, including a gluten free option for one of us.
5 out of 5
by Kathy & Brian from Arkansas

Impeccable customer service

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
Traveled week before Christmas for a family funeral in the buffalo area. What a perfect place to stay! Thoughtful and caring staff at Asa Ransom House really made our stay an uplifting event. They are dedicated to delighting their customers. Meals were fabulous, magical surroundings for the holidays, Innkeepers most attentive. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Laura

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
Room was lovely as well as the grounds. Wished there was a more friendly atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Susan&Patrick from Ohio

Gardeners Delight

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: The rooms were high quality Inn style with interesting nic-nacs. Being greeted with fresh fruit, cheese, crackers and cool water in the room was good
We were just passing through to our destination and planned a layover here. It was worth it. The Inn's gardens are relaxing and attractive. The neighboring park allowed for a good after dinner walk in a well maintained former AAA Club get-away. Nearby trails were also available.