Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Glenn

frequent visitor

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
I travel to STL 4-8 times each year on business. Most of the time I have a choice where to stay and pay myself. I find this place to be a good value and quaint. But, due to its age, it cannot be made ADA compliant - so as I age, I may have to look elsewhere. But for now it is a 5/5 for me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, Oregon

Wedding Party Place of Choice

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: This hotel is convenient for walking to places to eat and it has a personality that makes you want to just 'stay put'.
Cons: It would be nice to have a nite light in the first level bathrooms, as everything must stay shuttered (windows).
Location: We had a good parking place, and lots of 'walk to' places to eat. It was only a short distance from the major thoroughfare (freeway) entry.
We were in St. Louis for our Grandson's wedding. The entire family attending from 'other places' chose The Seven Gables. We were so happy we did. We had nothing but smiles greet us from the moment of arrival until our early morning exit. ALL staff were courteous and generous with time and information (well...maybe one waitress in the bar was a bit 'tight with us') and the breakfast was a FIVE STAR gift each morning (sausage the best we've eaten) and the HUGE cookies at the Front Desk were such a welcome and wonderful treat each day. Thank you, St. Louis, for The Seven Gables experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quaint hotel. Great location!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful part of St. Louis. Close to great restaurants that are within walking distance. Staff was very welcoming upon arrival. Will be back to visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but the place is tired

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This place has been around for a long time. It needs a refresh. Looks tired, rugs are worn. I was comfortable but felt a bit dirty.
4 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by colette

A home away from home!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Staying at The Seven Gables Inn is like staying with family. I have stayed there each time I have visited my family in St. Louis. The staff remembers me and we are able to chat about anything!
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth Maurutto

Time for a remodel.

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Have stayed at The Seven Gables several times but it seems as though the facility is really starting to show it's age. None of the windows in our room would open and everything looks very worn. Window air conditioners were so noisy it made it hard to sleep.Staff is friendly and helpful, but maid service missed it's mark in getting our room squared away.For the price we could stay almost anywhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel in Clayton

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Fresher rooms and more attention to details
Location: In the heart of Clayton. Great area
The hotel has a friendly staff and a great location in the heart of Clayton. You can walk to some of the best restaurants in St Louis. There is a small parking lot across the street. This time however the hotel fumbled on a few details. We didn't get maid service one day and another day there was no clean silverware in the breakfast room. Also our room smelled musty and stale.
5 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christine

Boutique Hotel with lots of charm

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and convenient location.