Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Unique Experience

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The gorgeous park-like atmosphere was amazing.....beautiful, very old, giant trees were growing throughout the area. Fantastic view of the lake.
Cons: A mention in the description that the spa tubs are not deep, rather a more shallow tub that you lie back in. Remove mention of a boat to the casino.
Location: We went to Robinsons Casino a couple miles away.....it was a lot of fun and had good food. There is also boating and hiking.
I researched the accommodations carefully before booking, but was amazed when it exceeded my expectations. The pictures are accurate, but you have to experience the grounds in person to appreciate fully. The cabooses are authentic and a trip to stay in. There are hundreds of movies to borrow if you wish. The breakfasts are home cooked with really great recipes prepared by the owner. The croissant french toast with cream cheese, butter, honey and pecans were amazing. The breakfast room is bright and cheery. All tables are for two, but easy to chat with nearby guests. The dog, Jake, has the most expressive face and greets all the guests. The outdoor pool is clean and friendly with views of the surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hoston, tx

Tropicaboose

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Absolutely brilliant place to stay. Personal touch on everything. Excellent food and service. You won't find anything else quite like it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio Nido, CA

Unique Bed and Breakfast. Beautiful setting.

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: The idea of beautifully decorated genuine cabooses as a room is a great idea. I honestly loved every aspect of my stay there.
Cons: The only improvement is I would make sure to have housekeeping check the windows for cobwebs.
Location: It is located right on the shore of Clearlake. There are activities offered by the staff at the FBRR as well as wineries and casinos nearby.
My husband, Ron and I were at FBRR for the first time to celebrate his 57th birthday. The location was right by the lake with a private dock. The setting was park-like, each of the cabooses comfortably spaced with plenty of parking and all of it shaded by lots of trees and separated by a grass lawn. The staff were very good, pleasant and accommodating, seeing to any needs we might have. There was also a lovely pool surrounded by a rose garden. Additionally there were many activities to entertain us had we chosen to, including ping pong, tandem bike-riding, lawn games, and more. The room was fabulous! We were in the Easy Rider themed room and it was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bed was super comfortable and the whirlpool tub was huge and in good working order. We had absolutely everything we needed or wanted. I loved the little sitting area in the little popped up section, also. It was very private and a unique experience. I look forward to returning to the Featherbed Railroad Co. B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Brilliant B&B

Posted Apr 10, 2016
What an amazing place and great helpful staff and woderful views of the lake,also a lovely inn down the road with big meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tiburon CA

Quaint and cute

Posted Jan 18, 2016
A fun place, very unusual but comfortable and interesting. The hosts are extremely friendly and the breakfast excellent. Would return when weather better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rossland BC

La loose caboose

Posted Jan 12, 2016
It is a cool experience staying in a caboose especially when there is a jacuzzi tub right by your bed😜
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The cabooses are cozy, quaint, and romantic. Easy access to the lake but no beach. Located on the quieter, gentler eastern side of the lake, very nice and easy going atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana

Little Red Caboose

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: It was a unique and unforgettable experience staying in an actual train caboose.
Cons: Nothing, it was a great experience.
Location: We walked along the lake and saw lots of wildlife. We drove around the lake and toured several local wineries.
We had a wonderful, refreshing time at the Featherbed Railroad B&B. The facility is adorable and the grounds are peaceful with lots of large trees throughout. We stayed in the Orient Express Caboose and had a beautiful view of Clear Lake from inside the caboose, from the cupola (upper windowed seating area of the caboose) and from the private patio. It rained while we were there, so we spent a very relaxing afternoon looking out on the lake and listening to the raindrops falling on the roof of the caboose. The cupola was also a perfect place to curl up with a book and cup of coffee or glass of wine. The caboose included a jacuzzi tub for two. Very romantic. ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Right on the lake

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The themed caboose rooms, interesting provided breakfasts, views of the lake, and the peacefulness of the location.
Location: Lake County wine country.
The staff was excellent and the laid back nature of lake county was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma ca

Awsome trip!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Had a wonderful time at the feather bed, friendly staff great concept, amazing breakfast in the morning, beautiful view of the lake. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway. Tips: The boat house bar and grill a block away has tri-tip sliders to die for. Show them your featherbed key for 10% off bill. Cell phones get WiFi in caboose but not labtops, bring a hdmi cord and mini sd to hdmi adapter= you can stream Netflix or hulu in your caboose. Enjoy