Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
The property is currently going through a major renovation. Our suite had just been semi-completed and when everything is done it should be very good. The room still needed chairs, lamps, etc. There is a dock out into Clear Lake that has a sitting area and walking out provides great photo ops. of the lake and mountain. There is a small pool along the side of the lake that is a real plus in the area. The new owner/manager is working hard to update the facility. The office was completely torn apart when we were there, so there was no breakfast service, etc. We registered standing outside the office. The update may be completed by now.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Thank very much for your feedback. We value responses from our guests as it allows us to continue to improve our property to meets guest expections. Yes we are nearing the end of our renovations. We apologize for the inconvience that you experienced during check-in and stay at our property. We hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible, bad smell, yellow tab water, dirty room,

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Terrible, dirty room and restroom, bad smell, yellow tab water, no breakfadt, under construction, bad location, a lot of homeless around there, i called few times before checking but they didnt tell me hotel is under construction and they are not able to serve breakfast, lier, after they see i was unhappy they told me i have just 15 min to decide do i want to keep the reservation or cansel it, it was under rush and how can i find a hotel right away and internet was so slow and for sure i cant find a good deal because i reserved one week earlier and it was no vacancy around there and they didnt give me any discount. Terrinle staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Yogi, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for providing feedback after your recent stay at the Americas Best Value Inn. We greatly appreciate your feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our newly renovated rooms. We have received numerous compliments from very happy guests. As our room renovation has completed, we have begun renovation of our lobby. While it is true that there is some nonintrusive construction occurring, we will have our work done in a very short time. In the meantime, we are happy to offer our guests complimentary breakfast at the front desk. Please simply let us know what you would like from our selection and we will gladly provide for you! You had several interactions with us during your visit. I'm glad that we were able to serve you breakfast in the morning prior to your departure. Unfortunately, we were unable to give you a deeper discount due to the channel in which you booked and the already reduced rates we offer. It is our hope that you will give us another try in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for future information. Best regards, Yogi Waland Owner, Americas Best Value Inn Clearlake
5 out of 5
by Betsy

Amazing value!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Don't let the area fool you. This is a great hotel. One of the few places in Clearlake that we felt safe and secure. The bed in our room was amazing!! So comfortable! My husband fished out on the private pier even in the dark. We will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017
Dear Betsy, Thank you for the feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and felt safe as well. Hope to see you again in the future. YOGI
5 out of 5
by Lisa C from Chico

Just what we needed!

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous view and friendly staff. Hotel is just a little run down, but well kept, clean, and comfortable. I will stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clear Lake CA

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
There was a issue with the reservation because I changed it. For some reason that change didn't show up in the system. Minor problem but a little inconvenient. Also the manager made an unnecessary comment about the condition of a room a guest was in. It certainly didn't make me feel good about staying at this property.
3 out of 5
by Tom

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
This place needs an upgrade. Manager was very helpful. Very basic breakfast which should include tray so it can be more easily taken back to the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Rough around the edges. Gnats everywhere. Smelly room. Outdated. Ugly city, ok hotel. Not great. Will not return.
1 out of 5
by Darrel

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the motel on our way to the coast. We booked it through the internet after looking at the pictures and reviews on their website. We were very disappointed . The beds were very uncomfortable. The pool area had no tables or lounge chairs. The neighborhood was very depressed with very scary people. We will never stay in the clear Lake area again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburg Ca

The worse place in clearlake to stay

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Very bad! Don't take you or your family to this dumpster rental unless you want tweeker's coming up to you asking to buy drug's... dock is old and scarey!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Yogi, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at the Americas Best Value Inn Clearlake/Wine Country. We take seriously all feedback we receive from our guests as we work to improve our levels of service and comfort. One thing we greatly appreciate from our guests is the communication of issues during your stay rather than after. Unfortunately we were not aware of anyone attempting to sell drugs on our property, nor have we had this issue in the past. The Clearlake Police Department is down the road a short ways from us. The officers are very active in our area, which cuts down on illegal activity. If this were to ever happen to you in the future, please be considerate of others and report it to the management team or police directly. We understand the issue of having mattresses on the walkway. As you have seen, our property is very small with little room to maneuver or store items. As our renovation is nearing an end, we very temporarily must place items in guest view until we can return them to their home. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us during your future visits to the Clearlake area. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of assistance. Best regards,
1 out of 5
by Charles

Too many insects

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room was full of flies and spiders. The room was recently remodeled, but the insects made it disgusting. We cancelled the room...staff were understanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Charles, Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to the Americas Best Value Inn Clearlake/Wine Country. We understand you had a less than pleasant visit due to the insects coming from the lake. Being a lakeside property, we do all we can to curb the issue. Our guests are generally very satisfied with our accommodations and service. Now that our renovations are nearly complete, the rooms look better than ever. We are sorry that you chose to leave our hotel rather than stay in an alternative room. We hope that you give us another try during your next visit to Lake County!