Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not far from the beach, and shops

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Not a bad hotel, walking distance from beach and shops Pool was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate all feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Nice, quiet hotel on the strip

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I enjoyed the quiet hotel. Only stayed 2 nights for a weekend get away. It was conveniently located to beach, restaurants and shopping. Only negative was our bed springs would poke us at night. However it was a clean facility. Strict on drinking. Room had a small kitchen, so if we stayed longer we could have cooked in the room. I would probably stay there again on future trips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Good location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located really close to the beach. The price compare to the others in the area is also good. There is plenty of space in the rooms. I just wish that the pool area was a little bigger. Other than that it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for allowing us to serve you and your family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Pictures are misleading

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pictures on the website make it seem a little more upscale than it is. Pool is kind of small and no hot tub. Suites are a good size but are definitely a combination of old and newer. It seemed our kitchen and bath were updated but couch bed was old and quite uncomfortable. If you are looking for upscale suites, this is probably not it, but if you are looking for more economical rooms, they are fine. Of note, entrances to hotel grounds are not secured. The area felt safe enough though. The beach is on an inlet and access is across the steet and there are chairs and umbrellas are available to purchase.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Nice room overlooking pool. Would have been nice if pool stayed open longer. The outlets in the bathroom were loose making it very difficult to get ready in the bathroom. Cookies were great said our daughter!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We were pleased to serve you and we will look into the outlets in the bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to beach , quiet and safe

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Upon arrival and throughout my stay staff was very helpful and friendly . Location is convinient to beach, restaurants and entertainment .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Lou, Thank you for choosing us during your visit to Clearwater. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to having the opportunity again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

These folks at this hotel are crooks

Posted May 31, 2017
We booked this hotel in error and they refuse to cancel, then they wanted $330 for cancellation without us staying at the hotel. I went there to speak with them and the lady at the front desk was worse than the people on the phone. I had to call my credit card and have them cancel the reservation . They then try to double bill the card. My CC company had to cancel my card because they kept adding on charges. I even offered to stay one night even thought is was way out of my way. Their is tons of choices beside them , stay way..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Denny, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. You made a same day reservation which at the time you made it was inside of the cancellation policy. One nights room and tax was the penalty for cancelling. I'm sorry if Expedia did not communicate this to you at the time of your booking. There were no double billings on your credit card.
1 out of 5
by Tripper

Horrible Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
The front desk gal was super rude and not professional. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was horrible. I would not recommend this hotel to a prison inmate.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Tripper Gawan, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. It is unusual for anyone to mention the cleanliness of the hotel which is typically beyond reproach. Under normal circumstances a guest typically would bring that to our attention while here at the hotel but in this case I noticed you did not mention anything regarding the conditions of your room. We like to fix all problems while we have the opportunity to do so. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Awesome for families.

Posted May 20, 2017
Maybe a change of carpet would be good. Also the couch was all stains. The pool was beautiful and my kids enjoyed spending time there. I liked the location. I will go back there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Mike S, Hotel Management
Thank You! We are just in the process of replacing all flooring and the sleeper sofas. Hopefully by the end of this summer, all will be completed. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Couldn't get connected to wifi but everything else was fine. I thought it was actual beach front and it wasn't, but it was still in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at the hotel. I'm so sorry that you had an issue with the WiFi. We will do some further investigating to see what could have been the issue. Thank you for allowing us to serve you during your visit.