Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Close to beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The IHOP was at the hotel.
Cons: There should be a sign, when you pull into hotel, that says "Parking by valet only.
Location: The location was good. Within walking distance of everything. If you get tired of walking, there's a trolley that can take you back to the hotel.
This is an older hotel. My room had a partial view of the ocean which was nice.7
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crystal River, FL

Loud music destroyed my stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Not much, narrow hallways, small elevators, and air conditioners that do not put out enough cool air
Cons: Explain to prospective renters what condition of noise to expect on weekends from nearby hotels
Location: Good location, good nearby food restaurants
My wife and I stayed in room 407 which had a partial view of the Gulf. On Friday at about 6:30 pm, the Shephard Resort hotel had a live band playing, it was so loud that there was no way we were comfortable. The band was scheduled to play until midnight. We requested another room to get away from this terrible booming of the bass but management declined saying they were fully booked. I told the manager I cannot stand this condition and would have to check out and would like a refund. He told me he could not do that so I called Expedia, whom I originally booked the room with. They put me on hold, called the hotel, then told me I would get a full refund for my last day there, and we checked out of the Quality Inn Resort hotel on Clearwater Beach, Florida. All in all, it was a very bad experience. If you plan on staying at the Quality Inn on Clearwater Beach, FL, ask them first about live music being played at nearby hotels. Don't stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Tiki Bar staff was terrible

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Female bar staff stood around talking didn't wait on customers even standing at the bar waiting. They didn't know how to make change. Male bar staff did pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Perfect hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Everything! Especially the staff. (desk staff, valets, bartenders,)
Cons: Continue to maintain the quality of excellence already established.
Location: Food, shopping, convenience stores,car wash, beach views were nearby. Location was near everything.
This was a wonderful hotel experience The hotel was perfect! Clean, comfy room, right on the beach, fridge, microwave, decent views, valet parking, and wonderful staff. Close to the stores and IHop attached to the hotel. One of the best vacation stays we've had in a long time. The room was a little small, but the hotel exceeded our expectations, so we were very pleased with our experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy 8yrs and never again

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I arrived getting a room different than required was moved with an upgrade costing me more money I entered the room the bedding was dirty called and they changed the bedding heading out to the beach I fell in the elevator on water hurting my leg my knee was badly bruised and going to the desk and they could care less I was hurt I'm disgusted with this hotel and after 8 yrs I will never go back there, i limped the entire time I was there I was in pain never did they ask if I was ok I spent 5 days with no hot water every day I asked for the hot water and they never fixed it I called two days before the arrival and was told everything was fine they lied they had no hot water the entire time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Cheap, but not as clean as I'd prefer

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The cost was reasonable until the surprise vehicle parking costs that were 1/4 of the entire room rental.
Cons: Cleanliness
Overall it was fine, but there was one or two glaring issues. For starters, there was mold growing all over the lampshade cover between the beds. It was gross. It looked like someone sprayed it with some live cultures and then let it grow. It looked like moldy bread. I don't know how that missed the eyes of the cleaning people or staff. Also, when we arrived, we were surprised with an extra (significant) charges to have our cars parked. This should've been on Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

would return to quality beach resort

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: it was convenient to everything. staff accommodating. large room.
Cons: I think that it would be a good idea to do something about the coffee they offer. INSTANT COFFEE. terrible. tried it once and that was it.
Location: location couldn't be better. great supermarket across the street from hotel called ISLAND MARKET. good shopping area, very convenient.
staff in hotel were very accommodating when I asked them some questions that I wanted to know about. the room was huge. very comfortable sleeping. the area couldn't have been more convenient . there was a supermarket called THE ISLAND MARKET which I would recommend to anyone visiting Clearwater beach. Right across the street from the hotel. the only thing that I didnt like was the coffee they offered. INSTANT, not good. rather use the keurig that was in the room. ihop was another story. this is not a place you want to have lunch etc. best suited for their breakfasts. I didn't use the private beach . went to public beach, walked to pier 60.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was clean, the beach was awesome and the staff were always nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooksville Fl

convenient to beach and restaurants

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: upgrade room furniture , décor etc
Location: restaurants , boat rides, Ruth Eckerd Hall
Enjoyed the beach and swimming pool. Quiet at night. Local restaurants good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Parking

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The parking says $18 for valet parking, withbthat I would assume that there was other parking besides valet, when we arrived we found that valet is the ONLY parking, that was $100 extra that we had to pay! Really wish it would tell the customer that you HAVE to valet! Otherwise it was a great place and would stay again but just have a lil extra for the parking