Ratings based on 1,052 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa, Florida

Customer service experience

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The bartender at the bar and the valet
Cons: The front desk customer service needs improvement and attitude check. Be trained to properly greet a guest and make them feel valued.
Location: The bar and the pool and beach view is amazing if my room was facing it /
The reason I am not recommending or even giving good review to the staff is because. I called the night before to confirm the room and payment. The lady that answer the phone was not listening to my concerns, I was asking her what was the price in total she tells me the price and I was confused because on the paperwork it stated a different amount. She kept saying taxes I said no it can be then after four times she then mentions the Valet parking. This was not mentioned on the website I said ok. I came in valet was awesome. courteous and very helpful. I go back to front desk to check in. The lady on the front desk did not smile or nothing. Like that rude took my information and said nothing else but your rooms is on the fourth floor. The valet person advised me of the bar and attraction in the area that the front desk should have provided. if there customer service was done correctly. The bar tender Lyssa something like that was amazing. Very kind and joyful. she made my night. I would recommend but just for the bartender and valet. the staff was unbearable. I felt like I should have paid less just because of them. Like I wouldn't book or invest my money on that place no more. The elevator is very loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Close to beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The IHOP was at the hotel.
Cons: There should be a sign, when you pull into hotel, that says "Parking by valet only.
Location: The location was good. Within walking distance of everything. If you get tired of walking, there's a trolley that can take you back to the hotel.
This is an older hotel. My room had a partial view of the ocean which was nice.7
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crystal River, FL

Loud music destroyed my stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Not much, narrow hallways, small elevators, and air conditioners that do not put out enough cool air
Cons: Explain to prospective renters what condition of noise to expect on weekends from nearby hotels
Location: Good location, good nearby food restaurants
My wife and I stayed in room 407 which had a partial view of the Gulf. On Friday at about 6:30 pm, the Shephard Resort hotel had a live band playing, it was so loud that there was no way we were comfortable. The band was scheduled to play until midnight. We requested another room to get away from this terrible booming of the bass but management declined saying they were fully booked. I told the manager I cannot stand this condition and would have to check out and would like a refund. He told me he could not do that so I called Expedia, whom I originally booked the room with. They put me on hold, called the hotel, then told me I would get a full refund for my last day there, and we checked out of the Quality Inn Resort hotel on Clearwater Beach, Florida. All in all, it was a very bad experience. If you plan on staying at the Quality Inn on Clearwater Beach, FL, ask them first about live music being played at nearby hotels. Don't stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Tiki Bar staff was terrible

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Female bar staff stood around talking didn't wait on customers even standing at the bar waiting. They didn't know how to make change. Male bar staff did pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Perfect hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Everything! Especially the staff. (desk staff, valets, bartenders,)
Cons: Continue to maintain the quality of excellence already established.
Location: Food, shopping, convenience stores,car wash, beach views were nearby. Location was near everything.
This was a wonderful hotel experience The hotel was perfect! Clean, comfy room, right on the beach, fridge, microwave, decent views, valet parking, and wonderful staff. Close to the stores and IHop attached to the hotel. One of the best vacation stays we've had in a long time. The room was a little small, but the hotel exceeded our expectations, so we were very pleased with our experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy 8yrs and never again

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I arrived getting a room different than required was moved with an upgrade costing me more money I entered the room the bedding was dirty called and they changed the bedding heading out to the beach I fell in the elevator on water hurting my leg my knee was badly bruised and going to the desk and they could care less I was hurt I'm disgusted with this hotel and after 8 yrs I will never go back there, i limped the entire time I was there I was in pain never did they ask if I was ok I spent 5 days with no hot water every day I asked for the hot water and they never fixed it I called two days before the arrival and was told everything was fine they lied they had no hot water the entire time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Cheap, but not as clean as I'd prefer

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The cost was reasonable until the surprise vehicle parking costs that were 1/4 of the entire room rental.
Cons: Cleanliness
Overall it was fine, but there was one or two glaring issues. For starters, there was mold growing all over the lampshade cover between the beds. It was gross. It looked like someone sprayed it with some live cultures and then let it grow. It looked like moldy bread. I don't know how that missed the eyes of the cleaning people or staff. Also, when we arrived, we were surprised with an extra (significant) charges to have our cars parked. This should've been on Expedia.
5 out of 5
by richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ruben

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Run down

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Orbitz
I was really disappointed in the condition of the hotel. It's not being kept up properly. The cosmetic repairs that have been done look like a child did them. Caulking everywhere poorly installed baseboards, ceiling tiles stained and old. The pool bathroom smelled so bad of urine you have to hold your breath when you walk past it to get to the pool. The pool towels are old and thin. The old a/c in the room rattles and makes so much noise. The tiki bar closes at 11:00 even on a Saturday night holiday weekend. The staff literally left us sitting at the bar, shut down and turned out all the lights on us, while a drunk homeless man slept on the bar stools. The homeless guy was drunk and there all weekend. Really disappointed in the whole thing. We ended up spending more time next door at the new Hampton Inn pool and rooftop bar after our second day. I wouldn't go back, there's definitely no quality in this Quality inn.