Ratings based on 1,345 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Fun party atmosphere. Wish they would allow guests to pick room location. Staff was awesome, valet service fast and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Sherri. Please note you are welcome to contact the hotel at any time to communicate your desired room type. Our staff takes pride in providing the perfect accommodation for all guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We had a a great time at Shephards and Clearwater Beach. Close to everything!!!! We walked everywhere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful rooms. However it has limited beach access. Jet skies take up what small space there is in the water. Also I never saw in reviews the resort has loud live music every night that goes until late into the night. Sundays are a wild party. This is definitely not a place to stay with children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank You
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Everything! We loved our room, as well as the outside pool/beach area. Close to public beach, on the main road with lots of restaurants & shops.
Cons: We would have liked more towel racks in the bathroom & by the sink. Free beach chairs & umbrella's to hotel guests would be nice.
Location: Great location, near the public beach, close proximity to lots of restaurants and shops. A trolley stop is just outside the door.
Beautiful hotel, inside and out. Rooms are VERY spacious, showers newly remodeled and huge. Pool area was beautiful, very large, and had plenty of chairs. Private beach was great. Enjoyed the entertainment - live bands just outside the hotel area. Friendly staff. Free oranges in the lobby was a nice treat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank You
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort with a great mix of things to do

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Upon my arrival I checked in first to a standard room which was great because I was staying all week and landed into Tampa late. The staff were nice at the front desk checked in quickly then went to a really comfortable room. 2nd day we moved to the studio with a side view of the ocean and even though it was a side view I loved it, so did my kids. We also loved the pool and beach so close together. The only thing I didn't like was the jet skis parked in each of the beach areas that really ruined the experience of just hanging out in the beach water there should be an assigned area away from the people wanting to swim in beach. The view fr beach was beautiful. At night the entertainment was awesome it was great to get a drink in our hotel and just relax at night too. I did not like that I had a limited amount of guest since it would make more sense for the hotel to have as many people as possible check out the property but either way my family and friends all came to visit and we had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting Shephards on Clearwater Beach. We hope your experience was more than satisfying. We’re sorry you were unhappy in the slightest bit- we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We hope to see you again as our staff strives to exceed each and every guest’s level of expectation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel was nice. The pool and entertainment was the best part.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by fd, Hotel Management
Thank You
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverview

Live entertainment "Enough Said"

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Shephard's Live entertainment and their beach front concert style stage sets it apart from anything available in the Tampa Bay Area. I would have given an overall 4 star review, however there is one BIG flaw in their service delivery and it may not be important for some, but for me it is, and it's their lack of working Wifi. All three visits and NO Wifi that works!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by fd, Hotel Management
Thank You
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and clean hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We had a great experience with the staff, pool, and beach. Great experience with the rental Wave runners. The only thing you must be aware of is the late night band and party if you wish to have a room over the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting Shephards on Clw Bch! We hope to see you again soon! Please note although we have live music and entertainment 365 days a year the entertainment will be a bit more docile in the months of Sept-Feb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great amenities

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My family and I had an enjoyable week here our only complaint was the loud music that goes to about 2-3 am
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by fd, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We value your opinion and appreciate your feedback. We constantly strive for improvements to our facility and services.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

NO SLEEP IN GULF TOWER 9 pm 3 AM

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: LOVED views, majority of staff, taxi works for tips, wonderful drinks, CLEAN, beds, breakfast, great pool, water pressure, beaches, valet, security
Cons: GULF TOWER NEEDS SOUND PROOFING, ALL rooms are above a 2 story night club that's open 9 pm to 3 AM BEWARE!!!!! Resort fee should include beach chairs.
Location: Grocery stores, bars, restaurants, shopping, gas stations, bike rentals, moped rentals, putt put, pretty much everything you need is on the island.
I booked this hotel due to the location, it's close to everything you need and has a free cab service that works off tips, so TIP! We, 3 girls, loved our stay except for the VERY LOUD music BLASTING til 3 AM EVERY. NIGHT. it was so loud it was vibrating things off tables. We asked to switch rooms and were met with less acceptable answers from the manager, Cody. She told us it is an entertainment resort and we should have read the website better. REALLY?! Refused to move us due to the hotel being booked. However, the Expedia website listed availability up to the day we checked out. My friends and I were told to purchase ear plugs if we wanted to sleep before 3 am. She gave us a coupon for free breakfast for the next morning and refunded the $100 resort fee. She the suggest we call Expedia, cancel and book another hotel, without assistance from her. We decided to stay, with our purchased ear plugs. The next day, without sleep of course, we spoke to a different manager who was much more friendly in her explanations. She actually looked to see if she could find us another room in the other Tower, we even offered to pay for a room upgrade in the other Tower, but nothing could be done to move us. Since we are very easy going people we decided to tuff it out with our ear plugs & take naps during the day. The room itself was very nice and clean. The rest of the staff was great with the exception of the first manager. Just don't stay in the Gulf Tower, NOT SOUND PROOFED!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by fd, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We value your opinion and appreciate your feedback. We constantly strive for improvements to our facility and services.