Ratings based on 1,752 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

pool is small, beach is far to walk

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Rooms are clean, staff is wonderful
Cons: The hotel should furnish beach chairs for guests, after all that is one of the reasons that guests stay at that hotel, the beach.
Location: You will need a car
The beach is too far to walk and hotel does not furnish chairs and umbrellas it will cost you $26.75 per day. No internet without paying extra per day. The staff is nice and the Rooms are clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Right on the water great restaurants

Posted Aug 19, 2017
From start to finish I would give it an A + stay and hotel stay were great . Enjoyed every moment of it . Staff answered all my questions even helped me out when I couldn't for some reason open the balcony door . We especially liked how secluded it was compared to clear water beach. We come from Chicago so it's nice to get away from all of that once in a while. We also like how close we were to some shops and other restaurants right on the water. It would be cool if there was kind of a beach restaurant so we could stay on the water even longer during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Pretty and clean

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Hotel clean and beach beautiful most staff very pleasant, restaurant waitress rude, if going to spend $30 a meal waitress should be friendly not smug...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, IN

Nice, quiet hotel with private beach...

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness of the rooms and lobby
Cons: The beds comforters seemed too heavy for comfort and the the beds felt worn...
Location: Location was spot on, close enough to Clearwater Beach but just far enough to make it feel secluded for that romantic evening.
Upon arrive we were warmly greeted by the doormen and front desk but unfortunately, our check-in was delayed by 90 minutes due to a full house the evening before. It wouldn't have been so bad but after a 21hr drive with 3 kids, we wanted in. When we did get to our room you could tell it was an older resort but overall it was nice and comfy, bathroom a bit small cramped though... Clean sheets and nice pillows but the beds where not comfortable (may be a personal taste). The pool was very well maintained and clean and so was the beach. Now back to the delayed check-in, when the front desk found out they did offer us 4 breakfast vouchers for their buffet, which was very good. Their dinner buffet was just as good at Rusty's Bistro. Overall we were very pleased with the staff, the cleanliness and the location of the resort. I do believe we would come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The room was very clean and the hotel well maintained. The best part was the private beach as it was not crowded. The beach is a walk and they are said to have a gulf cart to take you down but it is rarely there when you need it. Also the first time we went to the towel hut is was 3 in the afternoon and they were out of towels. It was taking so long that we ended up just going down without them. The pool was way overcrowded so we could not really make use of it. During lunch we went up to the snack bar at the pool and they told us it would take over 20mins for a single order of onion rings bc they had a huge crowd. It's a crowded family resort and you would think they would be prepared. Also the pool bar closes at sundown. Beware there also isn't free wifi even if you are a preferred member. We had high hopes as it markets itself as a resort but we were let down. The highlight of the hotel is the restaurant Columbia that is in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel with private beach

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Enjoyed the hotel and free parking. Liked the private beach, but it was a nice walk to finally hit the ocean..nothing drastic though..Wish it were a bit closer to Clearwater Beach but again less than a 5 minute drive... Get breakfast across the road and dinner there are nice spots. Hotel food is good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short family vacation

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Hotel was in perfect location right in Clearwater but away from the bustling Main Street , Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, This is an Excellant hotel and I will certainly be back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Rooms are from 1970s. Very small bathrooms Very small pool with 100 person in it any given time Need immediate updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Fabulous

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Cleanliness.
Cons: Needs a larger outdoor pool
Location: Busch Gardens, Florida Aquarium, Greyhound Track are all within a 45 minute drive
Hotel staff are first class, Rusty's Bistro has great food, the beach front service provides towels, beach games and rides to the ocean via a cart. Outdoor pool is a little small and gets crowded. Other than that, a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Beachfront is amazing

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable and kind. Private beach can't be beat! It was never crowded. The sand was beautiful with a ton of seashells and clear water. People say the walk is so far but it took about 3 minutes to walk there or there is a golf cart to take you down. The beds were sooo comfortable. Rusty's restaurant was fantastic. The bananas foster was life changing. The tavern restaurant there was also very good. Room service was great. Free parking Close to restaurants Cons: The rooms and halls need renovated. They're not shabby, just outdated. Wifi was $9.95 per day. We did not choose to use this as we didn't want internet access on our vacation! There wasn't a keurig. Just regular machine is starbucks coffee filter pods with grounds. There is no microwave in the rooms. Our room was "harbor view", which meant roof view of the shorter side of the building with a lot of air conditioner noise. Overall the beach made up for any room issues and I would recommend staying here for what you get for the price.