Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Nice centrally located hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
I think they are a lot to strict with room furnishings it is an extended stay and there were no pots, pans, dishes, silverware in the rooms or a y way to make coffee no coffee pot. Also they would not give you any clean towels until you brought the ones you used back to the desk
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are pleased you had an overall good stay and that you liked our convenient location. That being said, I am sorry for the inconvenience you had while here. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The cleanliness of the hotel is very bad. The kitchen cleaner is very bad. There are insects in the kitchen. Dirty kitchenware. The fridge has a foul smell. Bathroom is dirty. The room cleanliness is very very bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. Unfortunately, we missed something during this process and for that, we truly regret the inconvenience it caused. We are working with our housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily duties to make sure this isn't repeated. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Our front desk person was so nice and helpful. She was sooooo accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We make every effort to provide the level of service you expect and deserve, so it is nice to know when our efforts are recognized. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused to you while you were here. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Receptionist was great, respectful, helpful and polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you loved the service provided by our courteous associates and made your stay a memorable one. Thanks once more for allowing us to be of service, and we look forward to having the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

My Experience

Posted Nov 5, 2017
I checked in on Sunday, I got my coffee pot on Tuesday. I've had to replace my own towels, after they were inventoried. I've had to ask for coffee every couple of days. There are no utensils in the room so you have to ask for that when you want them. Rooms are cleaned once a week, but I had to get mine on the schedule. I was locked out of my room the day before I originally planned to check out. I had already extended my reservation, and was, again, locked out of my room. One staff member is like a military trainer. Her lack of concern, and abrubtness, would make you back out if you could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and for your candid feedback. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay, and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. On a future visit, we would be very appreciative if you would alert the front desk of any issues so they can be resolved immediately. Our entire team is dedicated to ensuring a positive experience for our guests while they are away from home. Thank you again for your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville FL

Staying near Pinellas Park st Petersburg

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Breakfast choices and the room and hallway smells. Very cigarette smoking smell.
It was close to Panera’s and other eatery’s. It was 15 minutes away from the dance site. The facility offered no room service. The continental breakfast was limited. The light at bedside did not work. The air conditioning was difficult to adjust. There were no dishes or glasses in th cabinets. I thought it was like a suite. It was a hotel room with a small kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Nancy, thank you for your candid review. Although you liked our convenient location, we are sorry our services and amenities were not to your expectations. To provide a more home-like experience for our guests, we provide housekeeping services on a weekly basis, however, these services are always available upon request for a nominal fee. The dishes for use in the guest suite are kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness. We apologize if we didn’t communicate this during check-in. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. Please consider giving us another opportunity to restore a favorable impression of our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Walton Beach

Good for low cost stay

Posted Oct 11, 2017
I will start with the staff. Lisa was phenomenal. She helped us check in, called once we were in the room to ensure everything was good and remembered us throughout the stay when we passed by the counter. Always with a smile! The quick breakfast was stocked both mornings with a variety of snacks and good coffee/condiments. The room was smaller than we're used to with this chain of hotels. No silverware or dish amenities in the room. There was food left in the fridge, some dirt under the comforter of one of the beds and the toilet looked like it was either stained or not cleaned recently. Hopefully this review will help the hotel make some changes! As far as location, it's between the interstate and airport so very accessible and surrounded by lots of fast food, gas and a few restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Kate, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. It’s nice to know our location was convenient for your needs and that our associate Lisa left you with a good impression. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service levels moving forward. It was good to have you here, and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Gross!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Hotel had rude unaccommodating staff, filthy bathroom (mold 2" thick around rim of toilet and shower had film), derelicts hanging out on outside park bench throughout the night smoking and observing car contents, kitchenette laughable and all of 2' of space right when you enter room making it almost impossible to bring luggage in, took 15 minutes to get an attendant at front desk with a midnight arrival, and the list goes on. (Left my charger and items..called hotel..housekeeping had not turned in.) run dont walk away from this dump! Would give this place a negative 5 rating if I could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
It is very disappointing to know we failed to deliver you a stay that could meet your expectations. Our first preference is to ensure a spotless accommodation for every guest, but we are extremely sorry we fell short in doing so while you were here. Your concerns have been shared with our Housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service moving forward. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider giving us one more chance so we can make a favorable impression of our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Worrh FL

Worked well for my needs.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I needed a place to stay flying in out of nearby Airport. This facility is well maintained. The rooms were in good working order. The staff was friendly and professional. I didn’t try the breakfast. I left before they put breakfast out both stays. It’s a good value for a good nights sleep, so it served me well in that respect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing you review about your stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to rrad you loved the convenience of our location and enjoyed the comfort of your well-appointed room. Thanks again for your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location,but, filthy

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Dirty toilet and rooms and entire hotel was a mess
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so that this does not happen, so we will investigate where we fell short. We only wish that we could have addressed these issues while you were here so that you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. We assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and ask that you give us another try whenever you return to the area. We look forward to having you visit again so that we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management