Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gainesville, va

Gulf Way Inn Fourth of July vacation

Posted Jul 8, 2017
All the staff were super nice. The motel is a little rundown. Some switches did not work in the room. We had a ceiling fan that didn't work. Paint was peeling off the walls. The blankets were over used and had some holes on the underside. Bathroom door had some dirty old splatter on it. The top of our refrigerator was dusty and dirty. The place really needs to be stripped of paint and redone. The blankets need to be thrown out. The ice machine looked scary and I didn't want to use it. The pool looks like it was in great condition. The shower was super clean and I felt comfortable enough to let my 10 month old crawl around on the floor. I would recommend anyone using this place too bring their own sheets and blankets like I did. The price was good and for $20 more I had a kitchen in my room. And the room was nice and big with a dining table. They also had a coin-operated washer and dryer next to the ice machine. I'd stay there again because of the price but not have high expectations for the facility.
2 out of 5
by rich

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely a 2 star hotel....area and hotel was sketchy at best... wouldn't go back
4 out of 5
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Hartford, CTp

Why pay beach rates?

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This little nugget of gold is about 12 miles away from ALL beaches and literally minutes away from evening attractions. The pool is nice and clean as was the room. No frills but perfect for money conscious travel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hazleton, PA

Short Drive to the Beach

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Comfortable bed
Location: On the main road to the beach. Easy access to shopping and dining.
Nice facility. Dated but clean. Extremely comfortable beds and towels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Would not recommend Gulf Way inn pricy and outdated poor lighting ,and needs many repairs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old and run down

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The room had a musty smell and the door did not close and lock properly. the condition of the hotel in general was old and run down. I only stayed one night and checked out early. staff was difficult and tried to charge me extra night.
4 out of 5
by Dennis

Grand Prix trip

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Location is awesome. Price is good. Room was clean but in need of an update. One mattress was lopsided, probably never rotated. Mold on ceiling in bathroom. TV/Cable outdated. If you just need a room it's fine. You do get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Partially renovated motel

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Easy to find; good parking; accommodating staff; quiet area for being on the town's main street; good price for the area and for a limited stay.
Cons: Better quality towels; repair of bathroom ceiling; extra amenities like hair dryer and tissue dispenser.
Location: Great spot from which to spend time in Clearwater and surrounding area. Mall is just a few blocks away along with lots of restaurants in the area.
This motel was easy to find and had good parking. Check-in was easy and the clerk gave me the option of an upper or lower level room. It appears the motel is in the process of being renovated. Our room had good beds and looked as though the ceiling was new along with the sink. We also had an apartment size fridge/freezer which was ideal. However, the bathroom door had been repaired from what appeared to be a hole punched into it. The ceiling in the bathroom must have had leakage or something to discolor it. Yet the shower looked new and worked well. The towels were adequate for our 1 night visit but were small and limited. There was an iron and board but no hairdryer which we could have used. When we arrived and turned on the A/C, it sounded as though it was going to vibrate out of the wall. We called the front desk and the person came right up and fixed it which we appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate but No Frills

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Our room had a nice refrigerator and it was quiet. The wifi was effectively useless. The shower was adequate and the beds were comfortable. The level of upkeep was not so good. Breakfast was coffee and sweet rolls.