Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

outdated but ok for the price

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: rates
Cons: rooms had a musty smell and breakfast items could be expanded to little more variety..
Location: location is little farther from beach than some of other hotels
overall stay was alright. staff was pleasant. went out first day and when returned could not unlock door, went to office to find they had moved us due to a leak in bathroom. new room had two double beds instead of king size we started with, but on positive side new room was on ground floor instead of second and that was good because my husband has neuropathy and stairs were killing him so it evened out
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Clearwater Hojo, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your needs while staying here. I'm glad to hear that the new room was an agreeable move. Have a Great Day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merritt island, FL

Older Hotel, Needs some upgrades.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
So the staff was nice enough, but the rooms are just old, they have tried adding newer features, but that negates the fact that the rooms are just old and need a total overhaul. My toilet clogged, and no one answered my call to come fix it either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Clearwater Hojo, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I'm glad the staff was nice. I'm sorry if anything was lacking regarding your stay. We appreciate the feedback. Have a Great Day
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Port Richey

Horrible room!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything! This place needs a serious change of management.
This place is filthy and scary. First I arrived to the front counter employee smoking at the entrance and then I got a room on the first floor next to a group of guys that appeared to be working on their car in the parking lot. It looked like they lived there. I open up the door to my room and it is filthy. Dirty tub and walls. Back of door looked someone had a fight there. Carpets were stained and the walls were this horrific orange color. It was so thinly painted that you could see the old color underneath. The guys next door were up all hours of the night having conversations and making noise outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Clearwater Hojo, Hotel Management
Dear Holly, I am so sorry that you had this experience while you were here. I wish we had known, we would have tried to find an alternate room or another hotel where you would find comfort. I apologize that you had such a horrible experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, FL

Convenient Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Great location. Quiet. Clean.
Excellent stay! Clean, pleasant. Enjoyed the pool & morning breakfast. Quiet location . . . very restful. Great location. I'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Clearwater Hojo, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the pool and your room. We can't wait to see you again. Have a Great Day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Harbor, FL

A Godsend in our time of need!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Available and affordable in the aftermath of Irma. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Clearwater Hojo, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so happy we were able to assist you and your family in the Hurricane aftermath. We hope you can enjoy a stay with us under less extreme circumstances in the future. Have a Great Day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Monica and Bobby were wonderful but Nicole needs help!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by clearwater Hojo, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for staying with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how everything went. Have a Great Day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weird Smells

Posted Sep 14, 2017
I was desperate for a room while evacuating from Hurricane Irma. It was a an okay room for evacuating but that's about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Close toy granddaughter!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We've stayed at this motel before, it's really close to my granddaughter. It's pretty dated but it's clean and convenient. Easy access to everything in Clearwater and Tampa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by HoJo, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you for staying with us and filling out a guest survey. I'm glad to see that you continue to stay with us and that the hotel is located conveniently nearby family in the area. We can't wait to see you again. Have a Great Day.
3 out of 5
by Ronnie

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by SMarie, Hotel Management
Dear Ronnie, Thank you for staying with us and filling out a survey. It is important to us to receive feedback. Have a Great Day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel needs updating big-time. Staff is nice but the property needs cleaning, rooms need updating, bedding was bad bad. Hard to believe it's a Wyndam property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by SMarie, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for filling out a guest survey. We are updating all of the rooms as the Wyndham items are delivered in. The orange and blue colors are the newest theme for the decor. We hope everyone will be pleased with all the new amenities coming in. Have a Great Day.