Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, Fl

Such a great get away!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Such a great place to stay! Seems like it's own private town. Starbucks right down the street and quaint little sandwich shop and a awesome seafood restaurant. The staff at safety harbor was very welcoming. The bar and the outside pool was perfect. Very relaxing! Would love to come and stay again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Stayed for a concert located in Tampa. It's secluded and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but....

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, food.
Cons: Update your showers! Stop charging for a microwave!
Location: Great location, lots of little local restaurants and Starbucks. Close to pier and walking paths. You can see Safety Harbor from the room
Being Tampa locals, we like to get away and stay at a hotel when we visit Clearwater, to be near the beaches and for the experience of a staycation. This was our first visit to the Safety Harbor Resort and Spa, and upon driving up the location was awesome, walking distance to the pier, to the shops and restaurants, and a nice running/biking path close as well. After checking in, my wife took a shower and that is where the biggest issue was, because our shower barely, and I mean, dribbled water, barely worked. The handle to the shower was super loose and at the same time difficult to turn, and the water pressure was zero... Half of the purpose of a hotel room, especially after beaching and boating, is the shower. We were very disappointed. We walked to check the pool and it was ok, but there was a pool light hanging outside of the pool, the cord still attached and in the water. It didn't give me comfort to take my little kids in the water. For the evening we ordered room service, pricey, but very good. My wife had brought a meal with her, and while the room had a refrigerator, you have to pay a $10/day fee to use a microwave... seriously... $10/day? a whole microwave is $40!!!! We were shocked honestly, how does the $15 resort fee/day not cover a lended microwave! After 2 more horrible showers we spoke to the front desk upon checking out about the issue. They only offered to give us our $15 resort fee back and nothing else. We will give them another shot, but skeptical!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Punta Gorda, FL

location, location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, comfortable beds, great room service
Cons: newer carpet and some painting would freshen it up a bit
Location: Shops, restaurants, parks all within walking distance, beautiful views
Have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past twenty years and it is always elegant yet casual, located on a beautiful property and situated in a quaint town with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Love the spa, pool and Tiki bar. All around a great place to stay with easy access to Tampa and St. Pete airports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by SHRS Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time for review your most recent stay at our historical resort and spa. We always appreciate when our guests take the time for let us know how we are doing. Please know your comments will be shared with our Management and Ownership team for review and action as needed. Thank you again and we hope to see your again soon. Safety Harbor Resort and Spa Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome staff!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Regina was the best! All of the other staff at the front desk was amazing too! Very helpful, courteous, easy to work with and very accommodating. Heather in the spa was very pleasant as well. She streamlined the process of me joining the spa and I have been thoroughly enjoying the membership and it's benefits. All around TOP NOTCH!! I highly recommend this fine establishment. Kudos to all and thank you for always making my stay so enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by SHRS Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for choosing the Safety Harbor Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Sincerely, Safety Harbor Resort and Spa Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Perfect Location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness, and great pool to enjoy!
Location: Lots of cool shopping, art studio's and great art gallery, great places to eat (loved Bar Fly Saltwater Grill) you never have to leave this town!
We love the town of Safety Harbor and the resort is the perfect place to stay!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swingers convention

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Came in town for a wedding with my wife and daughter ended up being a swingers convention at the hotel. Nude swinger in the indoor pool. Couples asking us to get in the hot tube.Thanks Expedia for letting us know that. Left after the first night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville Tn

Great place to relax and get pampered

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Stayed here several times before. Great spa and priced very reasonable. Food is also great, lots of nice local shops in walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Detailed Report- 1 week stay

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, my stay at Safety Harbor Resort was satisfactory. Customer service was good, I did have to go back to the front desk immediately after entering my room and realizing there was ZERO cell reception. The kind gentleman notified me that it is a premise-wide problem- that the old concrete structure was terrible for cell reception. Fortunately the internet was fast enough that it did not hinder calls, and work. With that being said, the hotel room did have a slight musty odor, the air was damp down the corridors and in the room and the air conditioning did not improve the humidity level. I really needed a microwave! Aside from that the room was very clean, great mattress, down comforter was heavy which was a nice surprise. I can appreciate a good down comforter. The pillows were also down unfortunately, which means no matter how many pillows I used my head still hit the mattress. I had a terrible view. Outside my very large window the only thing to be seen was the top of a palm tree. On the other side of it was a wonderful view of the pool and poolside bar area. Disappointing. The Spa is ridiculously overpriced, I wish I could say I could justify the expense for the experience but I could not. The gym, excellent, though very humid, provided a great place to break a sweat. In regards to condition, it is slightly dated but not so much that you cannot appreciate everything the property has to offer. The local area is great. Publix nearby, plenty of eats, no shopping though.