Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very old, run down and dated

Posted Aug 8, 2017
You could smell the foist in the room as you entered. The carpets were in need of a good Hoover throughout. The furniture and decor was very dated. The floor was very rickety and noisey. In our room you could tell it hadn't been cleaned properly as There was wrappers down the side of the furniture. There was dust everywere. The toilet didn't flush half the time and when you turned the tap on it made the loudest of high pitched squeels. The hotel is in need of a lot of TLC. The only thing going for the hotel is the location and it's view. The lady serving at the bar was very nice and friendly. The food was nice apart from the burger as it was a burger it shouldn't have been pink inside as burgers are generally minced, therefore the burger was left. This was just a pit stop for us as we were heading to Cornwall. One night was enough for us unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

a character hotel in a spectacular position

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: position, and character
Cons: the plumbing, especially hot water, needs work
Location: close to Bristol and easy drives to Wells, Bath, Cheddar, Glastonbury. Nice cafes/restaurants in the town.
This Hotel is generally very good, but needs work-indeed there seems to be work in progress. The bed was great and general facilities were good. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom-with bath- was spacious, but the hot water was a little erratic and the drainage was slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay with my 4 month old.

Posted May 21, 2017
This hotel has fantastic views, surprisingly large rooms and loads of character. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I was often going in and out the lift with the buggy and it seemed as though someone was always helping me out. Really friendly staff that were quick to help out with the travel cot,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location next to the water.

Posted May 21, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Great location and friendly staff.
Cons: Quality of the food in the pub.
Location: Day trips to Stonehenge, the historic town of Bath and into Wales are easily reachable from this location.
The hotel is located in a great setting along the water in a quaint town. The rooms were large enough to meet my needs and the staff was friendly. The food in the main restaurant was excellent, but the pub food was marginal at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent hotel for budget price overlooking the sea in a quiet part of Clevedon. Ideal for a night en route from Cornwall to the North of England. Choose a sea view room - enormous, whilst the ones on the other side looked very small. And ask for top floor - they do a lot of functions/weddings which can cause some noise till midnight. Helpful, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice. Hotel with an View of the water

Posted May 10, 2017
An older hotel for the most part well cared for. Shows it's age in a few spots, bathroom could use some paint repairs. Overall comfy and good amenities,large TV, lots of Tea, Coffee to tide you over at night or in the am without having to go to restaurant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Good position pity about room

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: View of sea from window New carpet in reception
Cons: The room allocated needs a total make over and deep clean!
Location: Fab location close to Weston & Bristol
I have stayed at this Hotel on a few occasions and it has been re furbished. The room allocated to me, presumably because I only paid £67-50 was awful. The carpet was filthy and the room stank of dampness.The wall on entry was very dirty. There were pubic hairs in the sink and Bath and the tiles adjacant to the bath were not clean. The bath tap did not give cold or cool water so I had to dilute my hot bath with water from the tap in the room kettle! As I was not asked how my stay was or even acknowledged when I handed in keys at reception I just went. How bad was that!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Character

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is an old building with great character and a lovely view of the Bristol Channel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Stunning view, good location, but faded gem

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The view over the Severn Estuary at the back of the hotel is stunning (and from your room if you are lucky enough to be at the back),
Cons: the room was a bit pokey, the TV was misplaced so you would have to sit on the desk to watch it and the hotel looked generally in need of a face lift
Location: good location. Castle nearby where you might have friends getting married
The view over the Severn Estuary at the back of the hotel is stunning (and from your room if you are lucky enough to be at the back), but the room was a bit pokey, the TV was misplaced so you would have to sit on the desk to watch it and the hotel looked generally in need of a face lift. The b&w photo on the wall in the lobby with a horse drawn carriage outside the hotel basically said it all. Staff were ok. Room was clean and obviously benefited from a recent slightly 'botched' refit. The double socket in the wardrobe was part covered by a new piece of walling meaning one socket was inaccessible and the other being used as an extension into the wardrobe wall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but not great

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The outside of the building looks very nice and in a beautiful location. However the hotel is very old and the inside definitely shows that. Footsteps can be heard passing in the hallway from inside the room. And the general look of the hotel feels old. This isn't a luxury hotel, but is still good for the price.