Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Art historian's dream hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Beautiful art and decor. Nice breakfast buffet. Paper newspapers! and not just USA Today, which doesn't really count as news.
Not only is Glidden House a beautifully restored historic home, it has an excellent contemporary art collection of works by local and international artists. Not only is this original art in the public areas, it's in the guest rooms! Truly enhanced my visit. Perfect art lover's location too, across the street from the Cleveland Museum of Art, a world-class institution.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear art historian, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Boutique hotel set in University environment

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to shopping, restaurants and college
Cons: Would like to have ability to order room service (other than dinner menu fro restaurant). i.e coffee, desserts, etc.
Location: Close to university buildings, shopping and tourist locations.
I have used this hotel on several occasions while my two daughters were attending Case Western Reserve University. The hotel is perfectly located within the campus, and is in close proximity to restaurants, shopping, museums and the Cleveland Symphony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Muffie, Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
We really enjoyed staying at Glidden while celebrating an early Christmas with our kids and their families. Quiet, beautiful building, great breakfast in a beautiful sunroom. Only minor complaint--it doesn't seem that the staff is acknowledging the "earth friendly" linen policy. We really do want to help cut down on water usage, but no matter what we did, towels were changed daily--we don't need that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Cleveland Clinic

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern but exterior has character
Location: Museums, galleries and Cleveland Clinic
I got a good price with Expedia but would be okay paying more in the future. Very close to galleries and museums also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient and charming stay to make work experien

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cons: Might be a plumbing issue...noise periodically from toilet, like water reset which woke me during the night.
Location: Location is perfect for my needs...around the corner from work location with daily comfort in walking distance.
Early check in allowed me extra comfort to navigate my work schedule smoothly. Staff was inviting and environment is a delight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wv

Not your typical chain hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Love the beauty and character of this hotel. The staff is always great and it's close to Cleveland Clinic. Parking, Wifi and breakfast is included. Have stayed here several times and will continue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear sL, Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The people! Free parking!
Cons: The elevator is SO SLOW and the vending machines are not conveniently located (drinks are on 3, snacks are on 2).
Location: Great location!
Glidden House is the best place I have stayed in Cleveland. Great location, on the CWRU campus, close to museums, the botancal garden, and lots of food and drink. The staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming. The desk, dining room (complimentary breakfast!), the bar, cleaning and maintenance, everyone is cheerful, responsive and happy to help. I highly recommend Glidden House!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cleveland!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast Ohio

Charming sophisticated spot

Posted Dec 3, 2016
We love staying at this special place. The Cleveland museum of Art, Severance Hall, Little Italy, and fine dining are all walking distance away. We always leave with a golden afterglow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you always enjoy your stay at the Glidden House. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Easy walk to the hospitals. Cozy hotel with warm staff to match.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Laura Brdar, Hotel Management
Dear Grace, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our staff to be pleasant and warm. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Excellent overall. Close to campus and a beautiful hotel both outside and inside the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Laura Brdar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments.