Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Had a great stay. Coffee machine had some debris inside but the place was beautiful and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plain States

Overpriced Due to CWRU Convenience of Location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The few staff encountered were courteous and solicitous of requests.
Cons: They could add any exercise space whatsoever. An inventory of the same leftover pastries could inform a different selection to add the ones most eaten
Location: Location was great for CWRU and Gestalt Institute meetings. Museums and hospitals are in walking distances. GREAT RESTAURANTS nearby! 15 mins downtown
Arriving amid a windstorm, I asked for a wake-up call in case I'd miss my own alarm. NONE was forthcoming as the power had gone out during the night. Not one bit of apology or acknowledgement by the management was forthcoming. The pastry selection was inadequate for demand, the "baked egg" selection a bit disappointing and there weren't even bananas on a literal apples and oranges selection (with oatmeal adjacent to it, inviting as much)! The rooms are immaculately clean, the walls a bit thin and parking becomes challenging on the weekend as restaurant patrons compete with guests for the few that line the property. Oversupply of the Cleveland Plain Dealer without adequate national selections of say a NYT, WPost, or the few USAToday's on the table. Staff was friendly in the breakfast room and the place seems smitten with its Glidden legacy rather than keeping with contemporary hoteling. There's absolutely NO place to exercise in the facility (unless it's running to the meeting you're missing because of the absent wake-up call!) and the windows rattled all night because of wind turbulence. I suppose that's what you get while staying in a place listed in the National Registry of Historic Places!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Historical stay, good location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Lovely, historical mansion with really great staff. They also let us use the parking lot even after we checked out so we could visit the museum.
Cons: The shower on the 3rd floor had low water pressure, and the hot and cold was not clearly marked. They need color-coded fixtures for glass-wearers.
A place to stay while visiting your Case Western or CIA student as long as you get an off-season price. Walking distance to colleges, the art museum, the botanical garden. Includes hard-to-get parking, good breakfast, and superb service. The old house is a gorgeous old mansion with lovely architectural detail, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. The Wi-Fi is free and strong, with multiple nooks by fireplaces or windows where one can settle down. There's a well-stocked bar and a room-service kitchen with a simple menu. The bar we tried, the kitchen we did not. Overall, a very good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cleveland!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to several museums and the Botanical Garden. They allowed us to keep our car parked in their lot while we toured the museums.
Location: Just a short distance to the Little Italy neighborhood, with many restaurants and shops.
We stayed at the Glidden House because we wanted to visit the nearby Cleveland Museum of Art
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Art historian's dream hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Beautiful art and decor. Nice breakfast buffet. Paper newspapers! and not just USA Today, which doesn't really count as news.
Not only is Glidden House a beautifully restored historic home, it has an excellent contemporary art collection of works by local and international artists. Not only is this original art in the public areas, it's in the guest rooms! Truly enhanced my visit. Perfect art lover's location too, across the street from the Cleveland Museum of Art, a world-class institution.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear art historian, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Boutique hotel set in University environment

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to shopping, restaurants and college
Cons: Would like to have ability to order room service (other than dinner menu fro restaurant). i.e coffee, desserts, etc.
Location: Close to university buildings, shopping and tourist locations.
I have used this hotel on several occasions while my two daughters were attending Case Western Reserve University. The hotel is perfectly located within the campus, and is in close proximity to restaurants, shopping, museums and the Cleveland Symphony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Muffie, Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
We really enjoyed staying at Glidden while celebrating an early Christmas with our kids and their families. Quiet, beautiful building, great breakfast in a beautiful sunroom. Only minor complaint--it doesn't seem that the staff is acknowledging the "earth friendly" linen policy. We really do want to help cut down on water usage, but no matter what we did, towels were changed daily--we don't need that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Cleveland Clinic

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern but exterior has character
Location: Museums, galleries and Cleveland Clinic
I got a good price with Expedia but would be okay paying more in the future. Very close to galleries and museums also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient and charming stay to make work experien

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cons: Might be a plumbing issue...noise periodically from toilet, like water reset which woke me during the night.
Location: Location is perfect for my needs...around the corner from work location with daily comfort in walking distance.
Early check in allowed me extra comfort to navigate my work schedule smoothly. Staff was inviting and environment is a delight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wv

Not your typical chain hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Love the beauty and character of this hotel. The staff is always great and it's close to Cleveland Clinic. Parking, Wifi and breakfast is included. Have stayed here several times and will continue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear sL, Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!