Ratings based on 1,471 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel in theater district

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: location, comfortable bed, spacious room
Cons: more attention to detail
Location: theaters, a few restaurants, walkable to other attractions, fab grocery store 1/2 block away
The Wydham Playhouse Square is a good hotel for location to the surrounding theater district. From the outside the hotel is a lovely building on the corner of a block. There is a convenient drop off lane in front of the hotel. The lobby area is wide and welcoming. The extended king L-shaped room was very clean and large, plenty of towels, very comfortable bed tho the fitted sheet was way too small and would slip off and the toilet handle needed jiggling to shut off. The Expedia description said their was a sofa bed in the room. There was none as the hotel has replaced them with regular couches. For such a large room it was sparsely furnished. A comfortable couch, 2 upholstered chairs (one of which was supposed to serve as a desk as it had a small table attached to the arm) a dresser with a tv on it, a wardrobe with a tv in it and a king bed. A small microwave and small refrigerator were on the floor. The instructions on the phone did not work. I had to go back to the lobby for the wifi password. Tho free wifi was a definite appreciated plus. AC worked well and wasn't overly noisy. Elevators arrived promptly. The hotel seems to be going thru some renovations as there was light construction noise above from 730am and going throughout the day. The hotel staff while friendly, tho lackluster. Overall the hotel was very quiet, clean and in a good location for the theater district. I would stay here again if i was attending a performance at one of the theaters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OH

Needs a renovation, really bad!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location was good, staff was pleasant until they couldn't clean our room or switch us.
Cons: Needs a renovation.
Needs a renovation, very badly. The bathroom was dirty. It had Mold in the shower. Hairs EVERYWHERE! The tub, shower, toilet..NOT ours! Hotel booked couldn't change rooms. Bed lumpy, sheets pilled. Towels didn't even smell clean. Won't stay here again. Very dissatisfied!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Great stay at Playhouse Square

Posted Jul 6, 2017
My family enjoyed our stay here over the 4th of July. Staff was nice, valet was fast to bring the car around. Room service was great! Pool renovation wasn't finished, kids were a bit disappointed, but it was great nonetheless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

U2 and great lakes brewery

Posted Jul 3, 2017
They had a shuttle for 5 mile radius, but stopped at 9:30 the recommended a family restaurant next door which had a good breakfast and stayed open all day and also got a milkshake there one afternoon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cool circular room.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice hotel. All the staff was super friendly and the valets always had there hand out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Paid alot for so little

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lower price or credit for inconvenience for things that didn't work and construction workers working at sensible hours and not 7am!
Location: Ballpark and restaurants
Cost of parking not included, front desk employee walked away from checking us in and never came back, wifi didn't work, pool under construction, (what sounded like) hammering nails in the walls next door at 7:15am (although we were on the 8th floor and the pool is on the lower level; according to the front desk, multiple complaints) and breakfast not included. Considering how much we paid, I would expect more. The only good thing is the location to ballpark and restaurants. I wouldn't recommend and will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place for a short trip

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, easy to travel to all locations
Cons: Elevators were a little slow
Location: Easy walk to bars and restaurants.
Was in town for a wedding, and the location and hotel were perfect for the trip. Room was clean with good space, but elevator was a little slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice and clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waukesha Wis.

nice place in a nice neighborhood

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: pool, sauna and hot tub were very nice
Cons: better parking tho it is downtown
Location: many theaters in the area and many good restaurants tho a bit pricey
very nice hotel but parking was a pain, I wanted to park my own car but the ramp was across the street, and it cost $12 when the sign said $10 overnight. and the valet was $28
5 out of 5
by alyse

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great the bell hop had off the chain Customor service