Ratings based on 1,349 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: close to restaurants and shoppng
Cons: more than one handicap parking spot. update bathroom facility need end table on both side of bed
Location: eat, shop, bookstore
poor lighting when coming in the room the air/heater didn't work properly the rugs needed a good cleaning like washing them, made our socks black...... no newspapers available
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst customer service ever.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
This was the worst customer service was terrible form every aspect. They act as if they are doing you a favor by allowing you to stay at hotel. Would never book or stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not a good place to stay at

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Closeness to my course
Cons: Everything
Location: Location was accessible to where I needed to go
I went with my daughter to a course and we decided to stay at Howard Johnson for the location, but next trip I rather commute or stay a little bit farther but won't be staying at this place ever again. Smelled horrible. We only stayed one night, more than that would have been a torture.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Have you ever smell mentholated cockroaches?

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Well, I'll describe it from the moment the taxi driver drop us off with a surprised face and a "Good Luck" instead of Good Bye. Let me add it was 1:30am that we arrived to NJ. We thought it was just a regular cheap hotel, which is fine with us sometimes, saving some money, stay out of the fanciness of expensive hotels. BUT, we were greeted by a lady wearing a leopard jumpsuit which we also thought it was because of Halloween. Unfortunately, tat wasn't the case. However, since we respect cultural differences and different lifestyles, we didn't mind and checked anyway. It wasn't until the first door that the smell hit us. It was a humid odor we couldn't figure out exactly what it was. We passed the first door, and then a second, we got to our room. Curtain was wide open which we wouldn't have mind if it was a wall or empty slot; but actually there was a truck and trash cans. The carpet, oh gosh, the carpet it smelled as we could smell cockroaches taking a bath in menthol. Thankfully, we didn't see none so probably they were just outside of the room. Everything looked like those rooms that appear in shows were a psycho spend the night. So, I called 3 other hotels, and finally another had rooms for the following night. We had to stay that first night and the following morning we left. Unfortunately, it was booked through Expedia and we could get a refund. But, we just couldn't stay there another day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Clean with recent touch up. Near shopping and food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Howard Johnson in need

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: major renovation needs to happen tiles are falling in rooms outdated rugs and rooms not enough outlets for todays use not enough to plug in laptop
A Very good location with theater and plenty of shopping along with night spots and close to the city but the hotel needs a major update
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Horribly Over-Priced Dirty Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The living conditions at this hotel were dispicable ! The hotel charged us $630.00 for a two night stay, then when we requested to check out after day one and cancel day two, we were told we couldnt be refunded for day two ! DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL ! You will regret it !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Room dirty

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I showed up and my bed had pee stains and when I asked to change rooms they argued with me
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City

Close to rt 3

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Cons: Staff courtesy
Location: Great shopping and restaurants nearby.
The hotel staff was a bit rude when contacting me about either checking out or paying for more nights. They were not courteous after I had been staying there for an entire week.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, MD

Not the best!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
There were roaches in the bathroom, the tub had dark marks on it from past dirt, we were scared they may be bed bugs, luckily there were none! The carpet had hard spots, the house keeping cleaned the room and made the bed but it wasn't made properly they just threw the covers and sheets back to the head board, they didn't actually make the bed up! The lamps didn't give enough light in the room and the lamp shades were yellow with holes in them. I would not stay there again! Also, the door to the entrance of the building was broke so it was unlock the entire time, but you are suppose to use your key to enter the building. Not safe at all!