Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff were helpful and responsive to any questions or needs I had.
Location: Nice town in a pretty area of Appalachia. Good restaurant named Harrison's very close to the hotel.
I had a business meeting and conference call at the hotel. The manager and staff went out of their way to make the arrangements as comfortable as possible, even allowing me to use the manager's office instead of a less inviting conference room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New City, NY

Friendly staff, but many problems with this hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: This hotel needs to have maintenance improved
Location: Clinton is a lovely area with lots of parks and hiking areas. Plenty of restaurants surrounding this hotel.
First night, didn't know it until we pulled back covers, but mattress had been peed on. Not sure how someone made the bed and missed that. I also noted that when we walked into the room that it smelled strongly of scented cleaner. I thought that was odd, and now I am wondering if it was done on purpose. Hotel was full as well as surrounding hotels. The staff really tried but ultimately we were given a cot and I had to sleep on a chair. At midnight, I saw a woman standing in hallway. I spoke to her and found out that this was their 3rd room that night (first room, no a/c, second room--strong smoking smell). Next morning, packed up and going to check out but manager offered to comp us for last night. I still wanted to leave. Manager then offered to comp our entire stay and upgrade our room to a suite. So, I stayed. The suite was clean. The first night, didn't realize the heat and a/c didn't work. The next night, when it was too warm in the room, the A/c wouldn't work at all. The breakfast, as I had read in other reviews, was stingy. And every time I came and went and attempted to use my room key, it wouldn't work and I would have to go downstairs to have it re-keyed. For all the problems, I did have a free hotel for 3 nights so the staff really does try to make your stay ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. It is good to know that you were delighted with the service you received from our staff. On the other hand, we apologize for the multiples issues you've encountered during your stay regarding the key cards, the breakfast and the cleanliness of your room. Your review gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our services. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels in the future.
1 out of 5
by Tiffany

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible stay. Made reservations over a month in advance and they got our room wrong. We didn't have enough beds for our party and the staff argued with us about our stay and said reservations made through 3rd party services like hotels.com are not a priority. The room had water damage in multiple places and mold in the pictures on the wall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received, as well as its cleanliness and its condition during your stay. Also, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the service provided by our staff at that time. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to reach out to us so we may review your requested accommodations in detail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unhappy traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Not very organized- gave someone else our room after giving it to us. The room smelled bad and the pool was small. In the middle of the night, a manager opened our door while we were sleeping because he was not sure someone had the room! We were not even able to get cold breakfast items before 7am as we were leaving around 5am to get on the road. Normally we like this chain of hotels but I would not recommend this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff during your stay. Also, we are sorry that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of the room at that time and with the size of our pool. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. We are saddened that you were not able to observe it during your stay. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure situations like these won't happen again in the future. We hope to see you again in any of our Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotels.
1 out of 5
by Melissa

Beyond disappointed

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Had to switch rooms 3 times due to broken door, broken phone and no light bulbs in lamps in one room, another room the AC and heat was broke, and on the last room fridge was working sometimes but we learned to deal with that. Was only able to get in our room less than half the time we were there because of the key cards not ever working. Had to make multiple trips from the 3rd floor back down to the front desk just to be able to get in the room. Almost Everytime I did go to the front desk I stood there waiting on someone to come help, there was only one time when they had a sign saying they were helping a customer and would be right back. The staff was very rude. When we had the maid come tend to our room they never changed the sheets they just remade the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you had multiple issues with the rooms that you had during your stay. Also, we apologize for the service our staff has provided. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
1 out of 5
by Rochelle

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
I would never stay there again. When we checked in we got our room where the smoke detectors were going off and the desk clerk didn't know how to fix it so moved us to another room where then our key cards didn't work, finally on to a third room where someone was sleeping in the bed, after a hour and on our fourth room later we finally got situated
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize for the multiple issues you've encountered with regards to the accommodations of your room during your stay. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure situation like this won't happen again in the future. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels.
1 out of 5
by Ray and Betty

not what I expect from country inn.

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
It took 45 minutes to check us in. Desk workers evening and morning didn't seem to know what they were doing. Wallpaper in room was peeling and hanging. They were out of everything for breakast. Workers young son had more than his share of everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize for the multiple issues you've encountered in regards to the breakfast, the service you received from our front desk staff and the accommodations of your room at that time. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management for improvements. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels in the future.
2 out of 5
by Matthew

Do not stay here. Receptionist was nice though.

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Quoted and reserved a suite for (pay when we arrive). When we arrived we checked into our room in a haste to make it to a wedding. After we got to the room it had not been cleaned since the last occupants had left eg. dirty towels, bed unmade, etc. As we left for the wedding the front desk apologized and told us we could change rooms but we told them we didn't have time and they said they would get the room cleaned immediately. To our surprise when we arrived back to our room a few hours later, all of our belongings were gone. Back to the front desk we went and we were informed that they moved our things to a new room (that is fine but letting us know would have been nice). After check out the next morning and a little complaining they offered us a discount for the room which we appreciated and printed our receipt. On the way home as we looked over it we were surprised to see that the rate they charged us was over 30% higher than the quote we were initially given when we reserved it. With the discount given to us we still paid more than the quoted price. What a rip off. Do not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Write your comment.Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad that you appreciate our front desk. We apologize that you were not informed that your things will be transferred to a new room. Also, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the first room you had, as well as the extra charge you incurred for transferring to a better room. We understand the inconveniences this can cause. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure all guest rooms and staff services are up to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson standards. Should you need additional assistance regarding your concerns, kindly reach out any of our employees directly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roscoe, IL

Travel stop

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Traveling to SC and stoppped here overnight. I called earlier to confirm reservation and fo let them know our arrival time was 1:30am. The front desk woman confirmed and said ok. We ended up arriving closer to 2am. The man at the desk couldnt "find" our reservation. He says no problem I can put you in as a walk in. I am getting groggy at this point. I finally say I called earlier and confirmed and i have already paid. Finally I show him my expedia confimation and he says something about computer issues. He asks us if we want a room on the 1st floor or 2nd. I say 1st is fine. He gives us a room on the 2nd floor. We get to the room at 215 am. The couple next door to us are being very amorously loud. We have to call down to the desk twice to ask them to quiet down. The whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth. I think he was trying to get me to pay again and i was traveling with all girls.
4 out of 5
by Charles M

Great little venue.

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Best value you will find.