Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Evacuated to here from Florida

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Allowed us to check in early. Nice smelling, clean, . We did get bites from something somewhere but not sure where or what
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you decided to stay with us and pray that every thing is well with you and with your family during this disaster. When you in our area next time on better note please stop by and see us again and enjoy our Hospitality. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, Oh

Ok place for one night

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Room was cleanish. The bed was hard as a rock - so hard I woke up with my upper leg asleep from laying on my side. Shower was a little dingy and fixings were rusty. I was only there for one night though, so it was okay. The hallway has duct tape on the carpets, but signs say they are renovating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you for your feed back and as per you notice we are going through some remodeling and it is a slow process. Our hall way is complete and fresh paint is done, we also making other changes in the room. Please stop by again and give us more chance to provide you with Our Hospitality. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Outdated hotel needing a DEEP clean

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I'll start with the pros. The staff was super friendly and courteous. It was conveniently located off the highway. They have a free breakfast buffet, free wifi, and an indoor pool. Now for the cons. The room looked like it hadn't had a good cleaning in years. The white comforters had stains that both my husband and I thought were blood. The ice caddy had mold growing in between the outer and inner bowl. The tub completely backed up every time we used it. I took a 15 minute shower and the standing water came up 2-3 inches above my ankles. The pool had so much chemicals in it we were only in it for about 20 minutes before our eyes started burning. They also advertised as having a Jacuzzi, but we found out they filed it in with concrete. So just a small pool. They are remodeling, so I'm hoping a lot of these issues are taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Magager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your good and need attention remarks. We just recently took over this place and improving all the issues day by day. We have Jacuzzi Suites that may be mistaken with indoor Jacuzzi with pool. We hope with your next stay all those changes been done and you will enjoy our Hospitality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina


Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The rooms were fine.
Cons: More staff
Location: We found a good restaurant Harrisons Bar and Grill. All the other recommended restaurants were not in Clinton but in neighboring Rocky Top
The room was fine and very comfortable. Signs said they were under renovations but there were no signs of it. The carpeting throughout the hotel was badly worn and dirty in some instances. There weren't enough employees to handle this sold out hotel during the total eclipse. We checked in at 5:30 PM but had to wait a half hour until there was a cleaned room. There wasn't enough food out at breakfast and non one to man the reception area or answer phones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your stay with us and your feed back. We just took over this property few months ago and make all the improvements every day that's include carpet and fresh paint. With this historical event, like other our employees also wanted to enjoy that day which is totally understandable resulting in shortage but I just wanted to let you know we have very wounder full and respect full staff as you can read in all other Guests review. Hope to see you soon again when you in the area. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Rm 301 has water damage from a leak somewhere. Room smelled musty. Paint peeling off walls. Carpet was damp. Linen and towels had stains. No shampoo in the room. Hotel staff is very nice though!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff were helpful and responsive to any questions or needs I had.
Location: Nice town in a pretty area of Appalachia. Good restaurant named Harrison's very close to the hotel.
I had a business meeting and conference call at the hotel. The manager and staff went out of their way to make the arrangements as comfortable as possible, even allowing me to use the manager's office instead of a less inviting conference room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New City, NY

Friendly staff, but many problems with this hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: This hotel needs to have maintenance improved
Location: Clinton is a lovely area with lots of parks and hiking areas. Plenty of restaurants surrounding this hotel.
First night, didn't know it until we pulled back covers, but mattress had been peed on. Not sure how someone made the bed and missed that. I also noted that when we walked into the room that it smelled strongly of scented cleaner. I thought that was odd, and now I am wondering if it was done on purpose. Hotel was full as well as surrounding hotels. The staff really tried but ultimately we were given a cot and I had to sleep on a chair. At midnight, I saw a woman standing in hallway. I spoke to her and found out that this was their 3rd room that night (first room, no a/c, second room--strong smoking smell). Next morning, packed up and going to check out but manager offered to comp us for last night. I still wanted to leave. Manager then offered to comp our entire stay and upgrade our room to a suite. So, I stayed. The suite was clean. The first night, didn't realize the heat and a/c didn't work. The next night, when it was too warm in the room, the A/c wouldn't work at all. The breakfast, as I had read in other reviews, was stingy. And every time I came and went and attempted to use my room key, it wouldn't work and I would have to go downstairs to have it re-keyed. For all the problems, I did have a free hotel for 3 nights so the staff really does try to make your stay ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. It is good to know that you were delighted with the service you received from our staff. On the other hand, we apologize for the multiples issues you've encountered during your stay regarding the key cards, the breakfast and the cleanliness of your room. Your review gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our services. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels in the future.
1 out of 5
by Tiffany

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible stay. Made reservations over a month in advance and they got our room wrong. We didn't have enough beds for our party and the staff argued with us about our stay and said reservations made through 3rd party services like hotels.com are not a priority. The room had water damage in multiple places and mold in the pictures on the wall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received, as well as its cleanliness and its condition during your stay. Also, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the service provided by our staff at that time. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to reach out to us so we may review your requested accommodations in detail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unhappy traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Not very organized- gave someone else our room after giving it to us. The room smelled bad and the pool was small. In the middle of the night, a manager opened our door while we were sleeping because he was not sure someone had the room! We were not even able to get cold breakfast items before 7am as we were leaving around 5am to get on the road. Normally we like this chain of hotels but I would not recommend this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff during your stay. Also, we are sorry that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of the room at that time and with the size of our pool. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. We are saddened that you were not able to observe it during your stay. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure situations like these won't happen again in the future. We hope to see you again in any of our Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotels.
1 out of 5
by Melissa

Beyond disappointed

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Had to switch rooms 3 times due to broken door, broken phone and no light bulbs in lamps in one room, another room the AC and heat was broke, and on the last room fridge was working sometimes but we learned to deal with that. Was only able to get in our room less than half the time we were there because of the key cards not ever working. Had to make multiple trips from the 3rd floor back down to the front desk just to be able to get in the room. Almost Everytime I did go to the front desk I stood there waiting on someone to come help, there was only one time when they had a sign saying they were helping a customer and would be right back. The staff was very rude. When we had the maid come tend to our room they never changed the sheets they just remade the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you had multiple issues with the rooms that you had during your stay. Also, we apologize for the service our staff has provided. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.