Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield Mo

Thanksgiving

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Warm and Charming
Location: On the city square. Hotel has Spa services Lots of quaint antique shops. We like to bicycle on the Katy Trail
We have a yearly tradition to go to Hotel Bothwell for Thanksgiving. They have a buffet lunch which is always terrific. In the evening the Hotel Bothwell puts on a firework display for the city of Sedalia. It's a highlight every year! Kim
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedalia,Mo

Nice older hotel, needs updated

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We had a king suite, very small room, with Jacuzzi.The bathroom had a lot of wasted space. Instead of all the vanity space it should of had double sinks. Couldn't get remote to work for tv. Parking really sucked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Historic Hotel in Good condition

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Comfortable room, staff very accommodating. Continental breakfast adequate. Muffins delicious. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
We found the hotel to be a very nicely restored hotel. The lobby was beautiful! The room was furnished very nicely. The beds were very much to our liking. We did find the bath charming but small. There was a dressing room with a large mirror that could have used a stool, which I will ask for next visit, and I'm sure it will be provided, as the staff is very accommodating. The food in the dinning room was excellent with lovely presentation. We will return, as we enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful Surprise!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Wonderful place to stay. The only downside is no close restaurants. Had to drive miles for breakfast and coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Paying for the History, not the room....

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location and the History of the Hotel
Cons: complete remodel
Location: down town close to fox theater and Fitters
This hotel is historic and that's about it, the rooms are 100 years in the past and not in a charming way. Caulk is what is holding the bathroom together, the hall and room smell musty, wallpaper pealing off the walls in the hallway overpriced for the quality. Would probably never stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

breakfast suggestions

Posted May 5, 2016
Nice hotel would like to see more for breakfast than muffins and coffee i.e. fruit cereal orange juice etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice old historic hotel with charm

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Very clean old historic hotel. Bathroom very small. Poor water pressure in the shower. If traveling with more then 2 people to a room,ask for a room with 2 bathrooms. Non existence breakfast. Small but comfy beds. Used the spa, excellent massage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lee's Summit, MO

Lost Reservation

Posted Aug 25, 2015
My wife and I and another couple booked through Expedia. Received emails from Expedia stating that our reservation was confirmed and there was no reason to reconfirm with the hotel. Showed up at the hotel. No record of either reservation and no rooms were available. Nice. The lady behind the counter was pleasant enough, but seemed completely overwhelmed. She called her manager (I don't know where she was) but the call went to voice mail. After nearly an hour on the phones with Expedia's off-shore customer service, somehow new reservations were made to rooms that, evidently, magically appeared. After another 30 minutes on the phone with Expedia's off shore customer service once we got home, I got a ten dollar refund for our troubles. As to the hotel itself, it was beautiful, but an Econo Lodge would have done just as well since we only used it for a bed. The restaurant and bar are closed Sunday's, so we had to find find somewhere else to get a drink and some dinner. The only suggestion that the lady behind the counter had was Applebee's. We found something else. Lobby was beautiful and the rooms were nice, except that the bathrooms were small and kinda creepy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA

Most wonderful bed!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
I love this hotel and will stay there when I travel here again. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. There were different pillows, a down comforter, another blanket and two sheets. It was hard for me to wake up to my 6 am alarm. The charm of the historic hotel is welcoming and intriguing. The area is filled with old buildings with interesting architecture. I recommend taking a stroll to look around. It is sad that all of these buildings are abandoned. Most are for sale! The bathroom has a nice deep tub, perfect for a bubble bath and a glass of wine.